Customer Reviews for

The Wolf Who Loved Me

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I think this is my favorite Lydia Dare book so far. Ever since h

I think this is my favorite Lydia Dare book so far. Ever since her vampire books, I've wondered about the Hadley brothers; and Weston Hadley (the youngest of the twins) did not disappoint. My heart went out to him throughout the book as he pined for Lady Madeline. And L...
I think this is my favorite Lydia Dare book so far. Ever since her vampire books, I've wondered about the Hadley brothers; and Weston Hadley (the youngest of the twins) did not disappoint. My heart went out to him throughout the book as he pined for Lady Madeline. And Lady Madeline I loved! She's someone who has never had an adventure and a little spoiled, but I wouldn't want to ride across England caked in mud either (so it's hard to blame her for any temper tantrums). The book starts off with their elopement after Madeline sees Weston shift into wolf shape and he needs her to keep his secret; but the marriage is just the beginning to this wonderful wolfish tale.

posted by JulietJP on April 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Really good

Good book. The passtion between Wes and Maddie was perfect. It hurt when Wes didn't have confidants in himseldf. I do wish that Lydia Dare had shown more of their time together after they got back together though, it would of helped mend the reads heart a little more. O...
Good book. The passtion between Wes and Maddie was perfect. It hurt when Wes didn't have confidants in himseldf. I do wish that Lydia Dare had shown more of their time together after they got back together though, it would of helped mend the reads heart a little more. Over all a good read

posted by lifeifhisroty on August 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I think this is my favorite Lydia Dare book so far. Ever since h

    I think this is my favorite Lydia Dare book so far. Ever since her vampire books, I've wondered about the Hadley brothers; and Weston Hadley (the youngest of the twins) did not disappoint. My heart went out to him throughout the book as he pined for Lady Madeline. And Lady Madeline I loved! She's someone who has never had an adventure and a little spoiled, but I wouldn't want to ride across England caked in mud either (so it's hard to blame her for any temper tantrums). The book starts off with their elopement after Madeline sees Weston shift into wolf shape and he needs her to keep his secret; but the marriage is just the beginning to this wonderful wolfish tale.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Really good

    Good book. The passtion between Wes and Maddie was perfect. It hurt when Wes didn't have confidants in himseldf. I do wish that Lydia Dare had shown more of their time together after they got back together though, it would of helped mend the reads heart a little more. Over all a good read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Avandal

    I loved this whole series and this one was just as good if not better than the rest cant wait for the next one

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    A Great Read!

    I really wasn't sure how I was going to like this romance novel because of the whole werewolf/historical romance theme. It's one that I hadn't read before this one but, surprisingly this one was exceptionally entertaining.


    From the first page I was hooked. I guess what surprised me most was that even thought the book is written by a fantastic duo the writing was seamless. Many times I've read a book where there is more than one author and you can see subtle changes in the writing when it switches writers. This time though I honestly couldn't tell that there was more than one author writing.


    This book was full of humour and adventure with a lot of romance though not as many sexy bits as I would have liked. However, that doesn't mean I didn't love the novel which I most certainly did. Maddy's life seems to turn upside down one fateful night when she witnesses the down and out rogue friend of her brother Weston Hadley transform into a wolf.


    After this startling revalation Maddy and Weston head of a a turbulent journey to Gretna Green in Scotland for a quickie marriage to solidify Maddy's silence on the true nature of Hadley. All the while being pursued by Maddy's father, and a rival of Westons.


    Needless to say neither are too pleased about their predicament but I really enjoyed the banter between the two of them. Often times the banter in historical romance novel can be quite...boring but in this case the Maddy and Weston were arguing like normal people without the fluff. Plus the two of them were willing to take jabs at each other and I found myself laughing quite a bit at both their antics.


    I really loved how real the characters were with each other. They had their ups and downs and thank goodness the relationship in the novel between them wasn't a case of the dreaded "Insta-Love" that's plaguing romance novels these days. As much as they fought Maddy and Weston had a chemistry that sort of reminded me of what Mr.Turning The Pages and I have. That's what made me love the book so much I think.


    All in all if you want a humorous historical romance with just a tinge of paranormal I strongly suggest reading this book. While it is part of a series I found that I had no trouble reading this book without having read the others though I do plan on going back and reading them as soon as I'm able. I was just approved for the next book in this series by the lovely people at NetGalley and I can't wait to see where the next book leads. I highly recommend this book to everyone whether you're familiar with the genre or not it's a fun read and in the midst of more serious novels one can't help but relish time to have fun while reading.


    * I received a free copy of this book from the published via NetGalley in exchange for my free and honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own and I was not compensated in any way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    would highly recommend for any paranormal romance fan

    I loved this book. not a typical cookie cutter paranormal romance where you know what's going to happen. You will fall in love with all the charaters in this series and in the series, that has the Westfields that leads into to this one. The writing team, that is "Lydia Dare", I givve you both 2 big thumbs up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Cute

    I think this one was a cyte read not as good as the others though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Ice

    its ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    King wolf

    Lickes you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Oh hum

    This book started out slow. It wasn't until the 7th chapter that anything interesting happened. Then after that it was off and on boring. I struggled to finish the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Wolves of the shining stars: bios

    Name: Sparkler. Gender: male. Rank: alpha male. Mate: none. Pups: none. Looks: he is a large black wolf with a brown tail and silver paws with green eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Read it!

    Awesome book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3.75 I truly enjoyed this book. I'd have given it a 4 but it sta

    3.75
    I truly enjoyed this book. I'd have given it a 4 but it started out a little slow in the beginning. It soon turned into a lively story as it unfolded. Lady Madeline was a wonderful character she seemed so very full of herself and it was a great joy to see she tumble from her pedestal. Weston was a unruly scoundrel and I loved him. Maddie and Wes made a wonderful pair. I laughed and cried through out and I highly recommend this book. This is my first book by Lydia Dare and it won't be my last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Marlunaray

    Go to Blood Wolf

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    She wolf

    She whimpers ducking behind a bush~She wolf he grined glad he scared off the intruder and left~Male wolf

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Nage

    Can i join?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Wolfdawnstar

    *she watches and tries to help*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Hi

    Hi

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Gorge

    Gorge pumped harder and faster. His breathing harsh. He faltered as he cummed. He saw stars from pleasure. He got down spent.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I felt like I've read this romance plot numerous times before!

    Rating: 3.5

    Madeline detests the house parties her father, the Duke of Hythe, and brothers thrown in her honor, since they all desperately hope she will make a suitable matrimonial match one day. But, to Maddie, no one is as charming and entertaining to talk to like the poor Mr. Hadley who lives on the next estate over. Unfortunately, he is not a man her powerful family would approve of, so Maddie can only enjoy their brief conversation and nothing more. Yet, upon watching Mr. Hadley, from her windowsill one night, easily drag a limp body into the local stables -- Maddie's curiosity is peaked, leading her to investigate the shady situation herself. But, after a fateful discovery, Maddie quickly finds herself on a scandalous escapade to Scotland to tie the knot with the man she least expected...in ratty clothing, wild hair, and lacking slippers no less!

    Weston has been a love-sick puppy (literally!) for Madeline since he first saw her. Since "growing up," he has become more of a rascal than an eligible marriage candidate, but that does not stop him when Maddie stumbles upon his more sacred secret and he must now force her hand in matrimony. But, this last-minute trip to Gretna Green does not go as exactly hoped and Wes must now face the harsh truth that he may not be capable of supporting a wife, especially a Duke's daughter accustomed to a certain elaborate lifestyle.

    I thoroughly enjoy this series since it has everything I love in the genre department--paranormal twist, historic events, and budding romance. Unfortunately, this story feel somewhat flat for me due to containing lots of substance with very little uniqueness to the overall tale. For me, it was rather predictable, uneventful, and somewhat dull. I so wanted to lose myself in Wes and Maddie's adventures, but neither could captivate me enough to make this story very praiseworthy.

    Personally, Maddie came off as either too high-maintenance with her surrounding or two submissive about what was happening to her--both annoyingly so! Wes was also lacking that confident strong male presence a book like this needs and was portrayed very young, naive, and somewhat foolhardy. There were certain parts where Wes and Maddie's relationship was sweet and animated, but not enough to make me feel their story was unique in any way! But, give this book a read if you are a fan of the series--you may enjoy it more than I did. I am still curious to see how the other Hadley brother's end up.

    Likes: The Hadley twins were adorable together and quite delightful when they came to each other's aid in such a playful way that only an annoying sibling can!

    Dislikes: This story felt like every other running off to Gretna-Green tale I have ever read. Nothing stood out as new or exciting to me and was actually kind of blah overall. I even found the side characters, Archer Hadley and Sophie Cole, struggle to be more entertaining than the main protagonists -- NOT GOOD!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    Great Paranormal Romance!

    This was my introduction to the writing of Lydia Dare, who is actually the dynamic writing team of two women who take turns writing parts of each book, and I thoroughly enjoyed it! I have been reading quite a bit of YA books and Christian self-help/parenting books lately and I was in desperate need of a good romance novel, this hit the spot perfectly. This book is technically part of a series, the Westfield Wolves, but it is loosely connected and you do not have to read the books prior to understand this story at all, but be warned, Wolf Who Loved Me is so awesome, you will want to go back and read the others in this series and maybe the vampire ones too.

    I love paranormal and historical fiction books and this romance novel fit all the criteria for a wonderful, quick, and lighthearted read for me. I was so into this book that I got up in the morning, started reading it, and pretty much neglected everything else all day, except getting out food to thaw for dinner, until I finished it. I could not put it down.

    The story is fast paced, has action, regency romance, oh and a super hot guy who turns into a wolf, could it get any better? I think not. There are good guys, a bad guy, and two hot girls, one who is quite proper and one who is, well, not. This just makes for an interesting plot, though it may seem to have been done before, it hasn't. This book takes this plot in a whole new direction, mostly because of the paranormal aspect.

    I don't really want to give away the plot of this book, except to say that after reading it, I can't wait for the books on the other two brothers to come out, I am so in love with this series.

    I was surprised to find out that Lydia Dare was not a person, that in actuality two women took turns writing and editing this book, I would never have known, the writing is completely seamless, no mistakes between what one person wrote and what the other wrote. I was completely impressed.

    One of the things I loved about this book was that it wasn't really dirty. I mean, it is a romance novel, so there is sex, but it is not graphic at all. I am not sure I have ever read a romance novel that was not graphic, and I enjoyed it just as much, if not more, than the ones I have read that did.

    I would highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys historical romances, regency romances, paranormal romances, or is just in need of a good old fashioned love story, well with a Lycan mixed in that is.

    I received this book as an ARC. I do not get paid to review books; I do so in order to assist you in recognizing books that you might enjoy.

    Please read more of my reviews on my blog: sarahereads(dot)wordpress(dot)com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3