Customer Reviews for

The Wolves of Midwinter (Wolf Gift Chronicles Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 93 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

So different

I never read vampires or werewolves or shapeshifter. etc. Do not even know what ever made me pick it up. I am now reading it for the second time. Immediately after the first time. Thats how ,not only was it a different rendition ,but it and the gothic home and all the...
I never read vampires or werewolves or shapeshifter. etc. Do not even know what ever made me pick it up. I am now reading it for the second time. Immediately after the first time. Thats how ,not only was it a different rendition ,but it and the gothic home and all the people who lived there were fasinating. Makes it so you wish to be part of it. Going back to get the wolf gift. Wish for more. Am a sr citizen and it encouraged me instead of scaring me. Although kinda do wish it was true and could rid nook readers of these 'children' who write these stupid messages to each other. The ones who pretend they are
some type of animal. They take up space. Dont understand why barnes and noble dosn't do something so we are not subjected to them. Have them go 'purr' to facebook. Only then they would be identified which they dont want. They, themselves, know how stupid they sound.

posted by 11366925 on November 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

If you love the Vampire Chronicles you probably won't like these

If you love the Vampire Chronicles you probably won't like these books. Very religious, very preachy, overwritten,(where was the editor)? Just not good enough for Anne Rice fans!

posted by lulu1950 on October 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    So different

    I never read vampires or werewolves or shapeshifter. etc. Do not even know what ever made me pick it up. I am now reading it for the second time. Immediately after the first time. Thats how ,not only was it a different rendition ,but it and the gothic home and all the people who lived there were fasinating. Makes it so you wish to be part of it. Going back to get the wolf gift. Wish for more. Am a sr citizen and it encouraged me instead of scaring me. Although kinda do wish it was true and could rid nook readers of these 'children' who write these stupid messages to each other. The ones who pretend they are
    some type of animal. They take up space. Dont understand why barnes and noble dosn't do something so we are not subjected to them. Have them go 'purr' to facebook. Only then they would be identified which they dont want. They, themselves, know how stupid they sound.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    If you love the Vampire Chronicles you probably won't like these

    If you love the Vampire Chronicles you probably won't like these books. Very religious, very preachy, overwritten,(where was the editor)? Just not good enough for Anne Rice fans!

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

     I enjoyed The Wolf Gift and one should read it first. This isn¿

     I enjoyed The Wolf Gift and one should read it first. This isn’t always the case with Rice’s books, some of which can be read entirely out of order without a tremendous loss of orientation to the reader. I recommend you read The Wolf Gift, both because it establishes relationships and a context that becomes important in The Wolves of Midwinter, but more importantly because there were promises made, it seems to me, in the first book that were not only fulfilled in the second, but Rice’s delivery surpassed her first book’s promises.
    The Morphenkinder continue to grow in complexity throughout the book, and while more is steadily revealed their mystery consistently deepens. Even familiar characters harbor secrets often surprising and unguessed-at but always somehow rewarding, while new characters surface with suspicious and perhaps malicious motives. Even the servants appointed to assist the “Distinguished Gentlemen” of Nideck Point are more than they appear, curious and strange, yet fascinating despite their seemingly innocuous role.  Anne Rice never disappoints. Her tails draw me in and wrap me in her world. The thought and insight into her characters is impeccable. This is a good read, a few twists and turns that keep it captivating. I greatly recommend this one.   

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    No Way This book

    No Way This book reads like a mundane exploration of how to decorate, with very little else going on, once you get passed all the foolish endless descriptions of the surrounding's very little is really going on.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Loved it, great story line.  Different from Rice's typical writi

    Loved it, great story line.  Different from Rice's typical writing style, but very enjoyable reading.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    So-so

    I liked The Wolf gift, but did not love it. So-so.
    It was so long between release dates I.had to.skim through The Wolf Gift again. She even added "The Story So Far" in the beginning of this book. Anne Rice just did not get it this time. I tried to love it, I really did. I like novels that make me think "what if". These Wolf Gift novels were so Unbelieveable it wasn't any fun. It 's hard to explain. Just not real good. DM

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Anne Rice is back with wolf-fever!

    I devoured both of the wolf books. The characters are so real & their life experiences incredible. I am really hoping for another book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    This 2nd installment is not as fleshed out, nor as engaging, as

    This 2nd installment is not as fleshed out, nor as engaging, as the first Wolf Chronicles novel. It does, however, offer up some of Rice's most descriptive - and atmospheric - writing in a long time. Her descriptions of winter festivals and rituals, and her sections about ancient, pre-Christian winter celebrations, stand out amidst writing that is, at other times,.disappointing. the novel feels at times as if it was rushed to publication in time for the holiday book selling season. As a fun, sometimes ethereal, holiday read, however, it succeeds, even if it doesn't excel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    I loved this book ! had to read it all at once, the characters a

    I loved this book ! had to read it all at once, the characters are fascinating and fully believable. After reading it i thought about it for a 
    couple of days, then i had to read it again,could not get   it out of my mind . Thank you for this gift of the wolf gift . I will definitely await
    (somewhat impatiently i fear) for the next books in the series 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Wolves of Midwinter: The Wolf Gift Chronicles (The Wolf Gift

    The Wolves of Midwinter: The Wolf Gift Chronicles (The Wolf Gift Chronicles #2) by Anne Rice

    The Wolves of Midwinter once again takes place in Northern California, in the mansion at Nideck Point. After his attack in the first novel, Reuben Golding is continuing to learn what it is to be Morphenkinder or Man Wolf with help from his housemates the distinguished gentleman. 

    Fellow Morphenkinder and previous owner of Nideck Point, Felix Nideck, is excitingly heading the plans for the Midwinter Yuletide rituals that coincide with Christmas. 

    Meanwhile, Reuban begins to see the ghost of Marchent Nideck, who was murdered by her brothers in the first book, The Wolf Gift. Felix and Reuben are anguished that Marchent has not moved on and enlist the help of the Forest Gentry.

    There are other sub-stories that take place, but I don’t want to reveal any spoilers. I will say that the beginning of the novel is more reflective, and the end of the story is more action packed. 

    The whole time I read this book, I felt it would be better if it was closer to Christmas. It was still good, but it seemed odd reading a book that is discussing getting ready to celebrate the Yuletide in the middle of summer. Plus, just like Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Carol this book contains ghost and contemplation of one’s past. This is the type of book that will make you reflect upon your own life. Anne Rice does not disappoint with her eloquent writing style. The Wolves of Midwinter is a well written, thought-provoking novel.

    ARC provided by publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    All around a Great book

    A whole different kind of book from Anne! Myst read, beautifully written with wonderful characters.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Must Read for series continuity!

    Not as fast paced as her first "wolf" book. Introduces many characters and provides background for future books in series. Slow in many places and maybe a bit too fantastic. Time will tell as she develops the series. Reminds me of Lestat in many ways.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Anne Rice does it again!

    Epic. Loved it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Awesome book

    Anne rice does it again epic

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    Excellent sequel

    Anne Rice continues to be a great writer ... great sequel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    Highly recommend such a good read!

    I love this second book in this series, really interesting story line. Holds you from the start.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Very Good

    I really enjoyed these two books. They were both good...hope she adds more to the series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    To star

    Go to olden days res one

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Awsome

    Great book!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2014

    This is a totally new approach to the stories of werewolves/shap

    This is a totally new approach to the stories of werewolves/shapeshifters.  Refreshing, spelbinding story that paints a beautiful picture in your imagination.  Certain to entertain and to leave you wanting more even though this part of the story is over.   I certainly  loved  and recommend it for readers who want a refreshing view of this topic.     .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5