Customer Reviews for

The Wolves of Midwinter (Wolf Gift Chronicles Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

So different

I never read vampires or werewolves or shapeshifter. etc. Do not even know what ever made me pick it up. I am now reading it for the second time. Immediately after the first time. Thats how ,not only was it a different rendition ,but it and the gothic home and all the...
I never read vampires or werewolves or shapeshifter. etc. Do not even know what ever made me pick it up. I am now reading it for the second time. Immediately after the first time. Thats how ,not only was it a different rendition ,but it and the gothic home and all the people who lived there were fasinating. Makes it so you wish to be part of it. Going back to get the wolf gift. Wish for more. Am a sr citizen and it encouraged me instead of scaring me. Although kinda do wish it was true and could rid nook readers of these 'children' who write these stupid messages to each other. The ones who pretend they are
some type of animal. They take up space. Dont understand why barnes and noble dosn't do something so we are not subjected to them. Have them go 'purr' to facebook. Only then they would be identified which they dont want. They, themselves, know how stupid they sound.

posted by 11366925 on November 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

If you love the Vampire Chronicles you probably won't like these

If you love the Vampire Chronicles you probably won't like these books. Very religious, very preachy, overwritten,(where was the editor)? Just not good enough for Anne Rice fans!

posted by lulu1950 on October 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    So different

    I never read vampires or werewolves or shapeshifter. etc. Do not even know what ever made me pick it up. I am now reading it for the second time. Immediately after the first time. Thats how ,not only was it a different rendition ,but it and the gothic home and all the people who lived there were fasinating. Makes it so you wish to be part of it. Going back to get the wolf gift. Wish for more. Am a sr citizen and it encouraged me instead of scaring me. Although kinda do wish it was true and could rid nook readers of these 'children' who write these stupid messages to each other. The ones who pretend they are
    some type of animal. They take up space. Dont understand why barnes and noble dosn't do something so we are not subjected to them. Have them go 'purr' to facebook. Only then they would be identified which they dont want. They, themselves, know how stupid they sound.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

     I enjoyed The Wolf Gift and one should read it first. This isn¿

     I enjoyed The Wolf Gift and one should read it first. This isn’t always the case with Rice’s books, some of which can be read entirely out of order without a tremendous loss of orientation to the reader. I recommend you read The Wolf Gift, both because it establishes relationships and a context that becomes important in The Wolves of Midwinter, but more importantly because there were promises made, it seems to me, in the first book that were not only fulfilled in the second, but Rice’s delivery surpassed her first book’s promises.
    The Morphenkinder continue to grow in complexity throughout the book, and while more is steadily revealed their mystery consistently deepens. Even familiar characters harbor secrets often surprising and unguessed-at but always somehow rewarding, while new characters surface with suspicious and perhaps malicious motives. Even the servants appointed to assist the “Distinguished Gentlemen” of Nideck Point are more than they appear, curious and strange, yet fascinating despite their seemingly innocuous role.  Anne Rice never disappoints. Her tails draw me in and wrap me in her world. The thought and insight into her characters is impeccable. This is a good read, a few twists and turns that keep it captivating. I greatly recommend this one.   

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Anne Rice is back with wolf-fever!

    I devoured both of the wolf books. The characters are so real & their life experiences incredible. I am really hoping for another book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    I loved this book ! had to read it all at once, the characters a

    I loved this book ! had to read it all at once, the characters are fascinating and fully believable. After reading it i thought about it for a 
    couple of days, then i had to read it again,could not get   it out of my mind . Thank you for this gift of the wolf gift . I will definitely await
    (somewhat impatiently i fear) for the next books in the series 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Anne Rice does it again!

    Epic. Loved it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Awesome book

    Anne rice does it again epic

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    All around a Great book

    A whole different kind of book from Anne! Myst read, beautifully written with wonderful characters.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Awsome

    Great book!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    Highly recommend such a good read!

    I love this second book in this series, really interesting story line. Holds you from the start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Very Good

    I really enjoyed these two books. They were both good...hope she adds more to the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Need pack

    Star too moons gray w blue eyes no mate

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Dawn bio

    Name . Dawn (duh) gender . male looks . Sleek silver-red hair, piercing blue eyes, spearlike ears likes and hobbies . Hunting, rock jumping, racing/running, playing with the pack, e.t.c. rank . I have absolutley no idea crush . Oblivion mate . None so far tendnencies . Prod more silentley then other pack members, keeps away from the howling unless in pain, hunts with a trio of friends, and trys to impress Oblivion. Thats it. Thanks! {Sleeks back into the shadows}

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Sylum & Tayla

    Sylum, a large dark gray male, padded in with a smaller she-wolf. He glanced around with abnormally bright silver eyes before sitting down. "May Tayla and I join," he barked.
    <p>

    Tayla, a small gray female, stepped in alongside her father. Her ice blue gaze danced around as she sat, waiting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    FennecFox's updated updated

    Name- FennecFox. Age- 17 in dog years. Desc.- looks like a fennec fox but bigger and with larger ears. Blue eyes. History/kin- sad and devistating/ all dead but consiters Dream as her older sister, no matter what. Things to do- hunt, watch, attemt to climb trees, chase crickets and also mud rolling. Crush- yup. Rank- omega (lowest ranking and its the best) den- result 6. Theme song- a thousand years by christena perri.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Cherrys bio

    Looks cherry colored coat and blue eyes mate none pups none crush:black

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Reds bio simple

    Female. Dark blo<_>od red with icy green eyes and black ears. Has no mate crush or pups yet.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Silvers bio

    No mate or pups

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Nighthowls bio

    Name really ? Crush silver mate silver kits none let looks black coat blue eyes other ask

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Greywolf's better bio

    Name Greywolf Nickname G wolf or Grey Age 4 years Discription He is a very pale grey with eyes that change color depending on his mood; they are mostly grey-happy and calm. Crush Redfur Mate None (yet) Pups None (yet.) Personality Kind, loyal, fearsome, ruthless, loving, a good alpha. Abilities Very swift, fast, and flexible.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3