Customer Reviews for

The Woman in White (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 312 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(88)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Really Amazing

A really good book that has interesting characters and strong plot line,it manages to
give you info slowly but surely and then POW! it all makes sense! Amazingly up to date and relevant even in this day and age,it's also great for re-reading.

posted by fearlessgirl on January 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful...Need to have Time to Kill to Read

This book had a great plot and was beautifully written. However, it seems to take a while for the story to pick up and when it does take off you feel as though you are going in circles. The best was the end since you moved quick, got to the point, and it is where all ...
This book had a great plot and was beautifully written. However, it seems to take a while for the story to pick up and when it does take off you feel as though you are going in circles. The best was the end since you moved quick, got to the point, and it is where all the interesting aspects of the plot come out. I would recommend this if you have time to kill but if not you might want to pick up another book.

posted by Tired_of_Being_Sorry on June 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Really Amazing

    A really good book that has interesting characters and strong plot line,it manages to <BR/>give you info slowly but surely and then POW! it all makes sense! Amazingly up to date and relevant even in this day and age,it's also great for re-reading.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2006

    Wonderful

    Don't be fooled by how boring this book starts out- this is so good!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Loved this classic!

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I love mysteries and Victorian fiction, so this book really kept my interest. Great characters and a truly satisfying ending.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    Thrilling Gothic Romance....WOW

    Fascinating story. Marian and Count Fosco may be the most brilliant character ever created. A true page turner.....MUST MUST READ. WOW

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2008

    An incredibly well written story

    This is an outstanding novel with deep plot and character development. It is quite dense with a lot going on and as I read it I felt as though I were there in Victorian England. I finished only to go right back to page 1 to read it all over again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    great book

    Once past the introduction of the initial character, this book became very intriguing. I loved the plot and characters- even the love story was good despite when it was written. As the introduction explains, the writing style was new to readers then, but is obviously where modern writers have gleaned the art of multiple-character storytelling.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2007

    Couldn't put it down!

    This is an amazing novel - written over 140 years ago, yet as exciting today as any thriller. The characters are well developed and intelligent. Enjoyable from start to finish.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2007

    Twists are relevent

    As others have stated before me, the opening 100 pages can be seen as quite dull, but once you get past it.....No mystery today can compare with the shocking and yet realistic events in this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2006

    Page turner through and through

    I first thought that this was going to be a dry book, but don't let the first few pages fool you, this book is full of twists and turns making it quite enjoyable. The characters were believable and that is saying something considering that all of them tell a part of the story! Also rich in historical references complete with endnotes in the text. All in all this was a great read and well worth the money, definately not sorry that I picked this one up, that's for sure!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    An outstanding book I have read this book and I have to say tha

    An outstanding book

    I have read this book and I have to say that Wilkie Collins wrote a SPECTACULAR book! For the people out there that love mysteries, this is a classical book that has a lot of twists and turns. I LOVE this book and I'd read it again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    lovely narrative form

    Lovely narrative form

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    DINOYOUS CABIN

    Here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    This book had me at the first pages. Even though first published

    This book had me at the first pages. Even though first published in 1859 it is still extremely current. i would echo the other reviewers here insofar as how imaginative the plot is, how well written, etc., etc. I loved it. It is a novel to put on your shelf and read again and again. I cannot recommend this highly enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Great Mystery

    Never knew where the story was going next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Simply superb. All in all, probably the best mystery I've ever r

    Simply superb. All in all, probably the best mystery I've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Hi

    Hi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Percy jackson camp

    Come join camp halfblood and hang out with other demigods just go to "rue" all results and tell us your name who your godly parent is and your description.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Kuro

    Kuro yawned. And looked around. So what positions are there?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Wonderful mystery!

    I would never have read this book or known what it was about if I hadn't read through the introduction to Dicken's David Copperfield. Wilkie Collins was a contemporary of Dickens and is the father of English mystery.
    The opening line of the book tells the story. It truly is about what a woman can endure after never ending, suspenseful, emotional strain an egotiscal maniac puts her through. Very well written and wonderful chacterization. The way it is written is also interesting in that the 1st person perspective changes during the novel to keep the story going in one line but also to give the reader fresh petspective. A classic for the ages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    Sorry I waited so long

    This is dubbed the first modern detective story, and it gripped me once I got past the overblown Victorian language of emotion expressed by men and women. I liked the structure, where each person who was involved is the one who picks up the story next--it's like following a well-told court case. An art instructor is paid to come to a house to instruct two young women. One is plain and intelligent; one is beautiful and fragile. He falls for the beautiful one, but it turns out she has arranged to marry another man. She would have tried to get out of it, except the baron, an older, charming fellow, manipulates her into holding true to her dead father's wish that she marry him.

    The problem is that once he marries the girl and her fortune, and the impoverished art instructor has sailed for Costa Rica, the baron reveals himself to be a cruel spendthrift who only wants the girl to sign her money over to him. He also has a secret. Why does he fear the Woman in White, who he had placed in an insane asylum. Why does she look so much like his new wife? Who is the Count who has come to stay with him, and why does he help him mistreat his wife and her sister? And who will help these two family-less young women?

    You'll have to read it for yourself to find out. I won't tell you. ;-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6