Customer Reviews for

The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    highly recommende to nursing mothers and moms to be!

    This book is a must for the pregnant woman, new mom or mother intorested in breastfeeding. Breastfeeding is a learned skill on behalf of motherand child. to gain insite on the subject is crutial to success. This bookprovides trusted proven information as well as contact information for help and support. Knowing what to expect when choosing to provide you child with natures very best will make the mothers chances of long term success greater. You are your child advicate. This book offers suggestions, tips and helpful credible information to the breastfeeding family. Its a medical world out there and the parents whom desire to approach feeding thier little one the natural way will only benifit from checking this book out. read it before giving birth if possible to be preped for what is to come. Avoid some difficulties by reading ahead even make aconnection with local la leche group for face to face support. u can do it! Jack Newman is another great ref. on the subject!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Fat woman

    Big breast feeding kids good book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Love the book, lots of really good, useful info backed up by a t

    Love the book, lots of really good, useful info backed up by a ton of scholarly research. A lot of criticism for this book centers on the philosophy of La Leche League and sure, it does, because they publish the book. But they also say in the foreword, and through all the chapters, that if something you read in the book doesn't feel right, then it isn't right for you. There's a lot of personal mothering stories which I appreciated and enjoyed for several different approaches to the same issues, like latching on, positions to nurse in, or ways of delivery. Overall, I really enjoyed the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Its a must read for all future moms!

    I buy this book for all my expecting friends! Its a must read for all future moms! Thank you LLL for this wonderful book! Your wisdom and advices made all the difference when I had a second baby! I was breastfeeding until my baby was 1yr and I enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Very informative

    This book gives you plenty of options and ideas about what you can do without saying "what you should do".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Phenomenal! A must have!

    I thought I knew all there was to know about breast feeding but this book is positively invaluable. anytime I had a question or second guessed myself there were answers and reassurance in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Awesome

    This was the only book I read before and after pregancy...I live and love it! I also frequently revisit it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Great Supportive Book

    As a first time Mom and thus breastfeeder I thought this book was a must have. I've had multiple issues from plugged ducts, using a nipple shield, sore nipples, latch issues, etc., and I found this book helped me every step of the way. It was a great starting point for troubleshooting and offers alternative resources to go to if you need more help. If you are wanting to breastfeed I would definitely pick up a copy of this book. It also has sections for breastfeeding beyond a year, which I think will be really helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    A must read for all future moms

    Its the best book I came across about breastfeeding! Thank you, thank you, thank you for sharing all the knowledge! It made all the difference second time I had a baby!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Great breastcfeeding book

    I boughtvthis book after a friend recommended it. I loved how easy it was to read and it was entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    Most practical book on breastfeeding available

    This book covers it all, from pregnancy to newborn to toddler or earlier weaning. While it does not shy away from breastfeeding research that may be unsettling to some, it accommodates every situation one can think of, from adoptive nursing to emergency deliveries to homebirth to survivors of sexual abuse. I found this book indispensable with the peaceful out-of-hospital birth of my first son, and am finding new use for it in anticipation of the more complex delivery of my second child, who has a fetal cardiac condition and will have special nursing needs.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    bible of breastfeeding

    Absolutely the best breastfeeding book. Beautifully written and does help put words to the art of breastfeeding and mothering. I love this book. Has ever answer to every questions I have asked myself while breastfeeding my baby.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    This book covers EVERYTHING

    This book helped me so much, I thought I knew almost all I could know about breast feeding, but this book proved me wrong. I read this book about one month into breastfeeding my son, which was going very well, but this book opened my eyes to a lot of things I was unaware of and answered a lot of questions I had. If you want an educational non-opinionated breastfeeding book, this is it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    8th edition: Same Title, Totally New... Awesome!

    Some may call La Leche League a cultic, guilt producing organization of dreamers, so be it. However, others are aware that the seven woman who courageously founded La Leche League tapped into "The Story of Breastfeeding".

    What is that? Co-founder Mary Ann Cahill beautifully opens the 8th edition with a hearty "Welcome" describing how "The Story of Breastfeeding" almost ceased to exist.

    Thankfully, in July 2010, we now have a book which compels the reader to consider strongly the breastfeeding story. And make it her own.

    It is filled with evidence based medicine (and references and websites), mother love and lore, it feels like a nice cup of tea warming shaky hands, ready to clear a muddled mind and make the milk flow.

    It is so respectfully written, I find it hard to imagine anyone being upset. After all, the truth about those breasts we women carry on our bodies, ought to be self evident. They were designed to be delightful. nourishing body parts. To whomever partakes.
    Yet they are supremely important for a newborn, as well to mommy.

    Our entire culture feeds off the breast to this very day. Who can imagine any advertiser in the USA not using it to entice us to want or desire something? So why not a newborn?

    Those seeking the Womanly Art of Breastfeeding, seek no further. This 8th edition is a gem, a sisterly hug from around the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    Reassurance and Practical Information

    Beware reviews from previous editions of this book. This is regarding the July 2010 edition. I consider myself pretty up-to-date on breastfeeding but there is SO much in this addition that I simply did not know. These well informed, experienced authors have the latest information on breastfeeding. Yet I find that much of what is "new" information is really just intuitive to women in many other cultures such as what the authors describe as "laid back nursing." There is much reassurance here that things such as "correct positioning" and "correct latch" are not hard and fast rules. There is a lot of room for mothers to find their own intuitive way to cope with the new baby. The authors give more strategies than ever before for overcoming breastfeeding difficulties. The text is fluent and enjoyable to read. Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3