Customer Reviews for

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 378 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(158)

4 Star

(105)

3 Star

(69)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful!!

After reading The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum, I was completely pleasantly surprised. I have seen the movie more times than I can count and have performed the play more than once so I am extremely familiar with the story. I was very sure there was no way the...
After reading The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum, I was completely pleasantly surprised. I have seen the movie more times than I can count and have performed the play more than once so I am extremely familiar with the story. I was very sure there was no way the story of the Wizard of Oz could re-spark my interest but I was wrong. In The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, Baum's writing is very simple making it accessible to all age groups. After realizing this, I understood how the book became such a classic. The simplistic writing didn't take away from the story at all, though. I found that the plot of Dorothy traveling through Oz, trying to return to Kansas, was far more intricate than in the film adaptation. The story was much more fantasy based, as well. The whimsical details created a story so magical I couldn't help but be pulled in. The story also spoke to a message about personal potential, a theme I had not connected to before while watching the movie. Throughout the novel, there are many instances of the scarecrow, lion, and tin man acting contradictorily to what their supposed problem is. For example, the lion acts against his fear and protects the rest of the characters while in the woods. This courageous act proves that the lion and all of the characters do not need the help of Oz and was capable all along. This is reinforced when Oz gives them gifts that have no real effect at the end of the book. This lesson of personal potential is a great one for kids to learn and in general, is an uplifting message for all. All in all, The Wonderful Wizard of Oz is a classic for a reason; it tells a wonderful, captivating story that speaks to all ages and people.

posted by 8265388 on May 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Great Lifetime Book

The Wizard of Oz is a book I call a 'lifetime' book. I call it this because no matter what age you are you can take something from it. It is a great book for children of any age. We all know the story of this book based on the movie, but the book if quite a bit differen...
The Wizard of Oz is a book I call a 'lifetime' book. I call it this because no matter what age you are you can take something from it. It is a great book for children of any age. We all know the story of this book based on the movie, but the book if quite a bit different. I like it more because it is more fantasy based. A lot of people have said the book is violent, but it's really not. Nothing is graphic or more violent than anything in the movie. The Wizard of Oz doesn't need a long review. It has such a legacy for a reason! Pick this up and read it, whatever age you are. Also, it is a very fast read.

posted by DeDeFlowers on June 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 158 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    Wonderful!!

    After reading The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum, I was completely pleasantly surprised. I have seen the movie more times than I can count and have performed the play more than once so I am extremely familiar with the story. I was very sure there was no way the story of the Wizard of Oz could re-spark my interest but I was wrong. In The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, Baum's writing is very simple making it accessible to all age groups. After realizing this, I understood how the book became such a classic. The simplistic writing didn't take away from the story at all, though. I found that the plot of Dorothy traveling through Oz, trying to return to Kansas, was far more intricate than in the film adaptation. The story was much more fantasy based, as well. The whimsical details created a story so magical I couldn't help but be pulled in. The story also spoke to a message about personal potential, a theme I had not connected to before while watching the movie. Throughout the novel, there are many instances of the scarecrow, lion, and tin man acting contradictorily to what their supposed problem is. For example, the lion acts against his fear and protects the rest of the characters while in the woods. This courageous act proves that the lion and all of the characters do not need the help of Oz and was capable all along. This is reinforced when Oz gives them gifts that have no real effect at the end of the book. This lesson of personal potential is a great one for kids to learn and in general, is an uplifting message for all. All in all, The Wonderful Wizard of Oz is a classic for a reason; it tells a wonderful, captivating story that speaks to all ages and people.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    Amazing classic book!!

    The Wonderful Wizard of Oz is a classic tale. A very well written piece. This book lies the true deatails of Dorathy's adventures in these odd countries that the movie does not. A MUST READ!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    The WONDERFUL wizard of oz

    this book was way better than the movie!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I enjoyed it as an adult!

    Although I watched the movie as a child I didn't realize how different the book was! Now, as a 30 year old, I enjoyed the book so much that I now want to go re-watch the movie again! Even though the story differs the twists and turns and different storyline kept me going for two days. I even snuck my nook into work and read because I was so deeply into the story! Maybe it was reading a childhood favorite or maybe it was just to see what would be so different, I don't know, but I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. And come on, $1.99 ebook? It's a great price. My only gripe is that some words were missing the first letter, but overall it didn't bother me that much.

    Read it, you'll enjoy it all over again!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    Gracie m

    Best book ever!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    Thrilling Adventure!

    This novel has some positive aspects. One of the positives is the interesting characters. I liked how Frank made interesting characters like the tin woodman to make the story very captivating. I also liked how the book wasn't predictable. The author always had a surprise, like the ending I also liked characters' relationship. I liked this because the four main characters were nothing alike except for the fact that they all wanted something from Oz. This journey brought them closer together. This book also had some flaws. Something that I didn't like was that the author didn't explain some of the events clearly and it took a while to understand what was happening. I also didn't like how he didn't put enough detail in some parts. For example, when Dorothy was going to the Witch of the South, the author had her face obstacles, but, the author didn't explain them enough. I also didn't like how when the book should have ended, it kept on going until it got plain boring. By the time that Dorothy reached the Witch of the South, all of the creatures seemed fine where they were and if Dorothy had left with Oz, it would have been a good ending. Those are some positives and negatives of the novel, The Wizard of Oz.
    There are many writing styles used in this book. One is that this book was written in third person. The author tells the story instead of one of the characters. This story is fantasy. It involves going to another world that is highly unrealistic and could never happen. But, it has a good fantasy charm to it. The writing style is a very clear fantasy. I could know what everything looked like and everything was explained perfectly. Those are some writing styles used in this novel.
    I highly recommend this novel. One reason is because it is a great adventure. Also, it's not just made for children or adults, anyone will like it. Also some parts are very humorous which will keep people reading. Some similar novels are, Alice's Adventures in Wonderland, Peter Pan, and Treasure Island. Three other books that I like are The Clique series, Twilight saga, and Walk Two Moons. Walk Two Moons is my personal favorite book of all time and it is a great mystery for everyone. The Clique is a great book for pre-teens because these girls face similar situations as pre-teens face. The Twilight saga is a great romantic adventure that takes into the world of vampires to a new level.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2014

    xavier

    weary

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Wiz

    Great!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Love it!!!!!!byhaley46384 on July23 2013

    I adore it but i didn't read it i have to buy it yet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    How too winn thousands of dollars

    Do u have a fat dick........... i wish i could suck urss

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Can't complain

    My daughter enjoys it and it was free, win win in my book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    Book Review RWitko, WOULD RECOMMEND IN AN INSTANT!

    After being a Wizard of Oz fanatic as a child, I decided that reading the book might recreate my love for the land of Oz. After reading the book; I realized that, although the movie was near perfection, the book was far more superior. During the reading, I tried to close my mind from visualizing the movie, and opening that good ole’ childhood imagination to once again experience the wonders of the Wizard of Oz in a whole new perspective. In my eyes, this book is such a classic because, no matter what age or how many times you may have read it, you will ALWAYS come out of the reading with different ideas and a crazy imagination. It personally gave me, as a reader, a chance to escape from reality and dig into an imaginative world that I’ve never witnessed before. Do not expect the book to be a parallel to the movie because there are many different interpretations on several parts; however both explained Oz in a way that captured my attention and kept me on my toes while reading. I would honestly recommend this book to ANYONE, it is truthfully a wonderful read and I hope that those who read this in the future enjoy the book as much as I did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    Tkrygdtgcfxgccjefjucnkftvcjnstvzthfeg hjf gchd kygygblfry

    Fufrbftjgiyuuuuuuuyyggy

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    great!

    AWSOME!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    test

    tset

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book!

    I am a 10 year old homeschooler and I loved it!! I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    L. Frank Baum's most famous work

    After I had finished this novel, I was completely intrigued and fascinated. The characters and the plots are satirically related to the events that occur with the farm protests of the Grover Cleveland era. The novel was very cute and witty, in ways Dorothy is intentional to her surroundings. All three of her friends, the scarecrow, tin woodman and lion's personalities signifies what a dreamer should have to reach for their destiny: a brain, heart and courage. L. Frank Baum is a brilliant intellectual who emphasized the morals in life in his children novels.It was sad how he suffered from heart failure, but I'm very grateful for his talent on informing Americans how our idealistic views of society can destroy or help the nation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Everyone needs this book on their bookshelf

    The simplicity of Baum's style really enhances the fact that he is writing a book of stories never heard before and they are lovely stories. Everyone adult and child alike should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!

    ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS NOVEL FOR ADULTS TEENS AND CHILDREN ALIKE! IS AND WILL ALWAYS REMAIN A CLASSIC OF WORLD LITERATURE!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 158 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8