BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The World We Found

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    Jordan

    Waits.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    The caged girl

    She looks around in fear.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Be Careful

    Excellent, well paced and thoughtful,I was aware throughout how lucky woman are in this country to be able to make decisions for themselves and how careful one must be with their vote so that doesn't change.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Expanding horizons

    This book introduced me to political and social issues i never knew existed. It expanded my view of the world and took me to India for awhile. The plot was intriguing. I couldn't wait to turn each page.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Engaging

    I feel like the author has lived every word of what she writes. Her characters are real and even if you are not familiar with the customs or places you can imagine them to be true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    What our choices bring

    Well written and thought provoking. If you have ever wondered about the passions and causes you felt as a young adult and wondered what happened to them - this is the book to make you ponder the question even more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Good read

    Fairly good, but challenging at times to believe characters' responses to situations. Without close knowledge of the misogynistic Moslem culture, it would be difficult to understand why one of the main characters would tolerate her circumstances. Character development is so-so. Still, a fair read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is a beautiful story about friendship, written with such in

    This is a beautiful story about friendship, written with such insight and empathy. Although about four female friends, I found that the male characters, Iqbal and Adish, were just as interesting as the female characters.

    I think this is one of the best books I have read this year, and I learned so much about Indian society in the 1970s and today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    fair

    I did not like the writers style. It read more like chick lit than the novel I was expecting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Hope there is a sequel

    I enjoyed the book, it just ended too soon. I hope there will be a sequel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    The World We Found

    Excellent account of contemporary versus recent-past
    social trends in India. Characters are developed seamlessly and plot moves quickly, captivating and holding reader's interest; however, although aftermath of ending will be obvious to readers, ending was disappointingly abrupt. A sequel would be great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    Well worth reading

    The four women we meet are compelling and amazingly real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    ENTERTAINING

    I LOVED ALL THE CHARACTERS AND THEIR HUMOR. I FELT FOR EACH OF THEIR SITUATION. BUT I WAS DISAPPOINTED WITH THE ENDING

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    Lovely and thought-provoking...

    In the late 1970's Laleh, Kavita, Nishta, and Armaiti, were idealistic young students protesting the political conditions in India, passionate about their beliefs and seemingly willing to risk everything to see equality for India's religious and economic minorities. Thirty years later they are all living different lives then they imagined and they haven't stayed the close-knit group they once were. When Armaiti learns she is dying her last wish is to have all of her friends together again. But the reunion opens old wounds and brings to life carefully hidden secrets. Each of the women is forced to examine the life she is living and compare it to her past dreams and ambitions. How do you reconcile the present with the wild, ambitious plans you made in college?

    This is the first book by Thrity Umrigar that I have read, but it won't be the last. Each of the women in this book was interesting and likeable, though all were very different. The contrast of their differences alongside the obvious similarities that made them friends gave the story a very realistic depth and added layers to the plot. The World We Found was the best of both worlds, an easy read that made me think - about India, politics, and most of all how the idealism of university days fades into the reality of middle age forcing each person to hold strong to their ideals while bending them to fit ever changing lives and circumstances. In the end it was an eye-opening, yet lovely read about friendship, change, and growing up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    GREAT STORY

    I LOVED THIS BOOK, I ANYTHING WRITTEN BY THRITY UMRIGAR, I TOO GREW UP
    IN THE 70'S SO CAN RELATE TO THE TIMES. THIS IS A GREAT STORY OF LIFE TIME FRIENDSHIPS AND HOW OUR WORLD CHANGES OR HOW LIFE CHANGES US, BUT
    OUR FRIENDSHIPS REMAIN STRONG.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    I highly recommend all of Thrity Umrigar's books

    Thrity Umrigar is a wonderful author who brings alive not only India, but all of her characters. This book feels like it needs a sequel and I hope one is in the works. It is a book that you don't want to end. She writes perceptively of the lives of women in a changing society. In The World We Found she writes about the changes in people from their youth as social activists and later as they mature. I have read all of her books and feel that she is underappreciated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Enjoyed it very much!

    Ive read every book by her and this is my favorite by far. My only complaint is that I didnt care for the ending, but thats just me. Its definately a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2