Customer Reviews for

The World Without Us

Average Rating 3.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

We Will Not Be Missed

If you happen to be the last surviving human, after we do ourselves in, Alan Wiseman's book can serve as an interesting travel guide. I found his research authoritative and compelling. He introduced me to many fascinating places on our planet that will return to their p...
If you happen to be the last surviving human, after we do ourselves in, Alan Wiseman's book can serve as an interesting travel guide. I found his research authoritative and compelling. He introduced me to many fascinating places on our planet that will return to their primal state as havens teaming with life in the Post Human world. How about taking up residence in Chernobyl one day. This book makes a strong case that the planet is not in peril, it's just waiting for us to go!

posted by KCNY on November 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The World Without Us... seems to be a better place.

The World Without Us is an excellent book that grasps the readers mind. It shows the earth today in a journey to return to its former self. The impact of humans on earth is great topic and this book was a real eye opener. I found it to be very detailed and it contained ...
The World Without Us is an excellent book that grasps the readers mind. It shows the earth today in a journey to return to its former self. The impact of humans on earth is great topic and this book was a real eye opener. I found it to be very detailed and it contained solid facts that were backed up by great research. I found it hard to understand at some point where Mr.Weisman deviates from the topic. The topics on there own are very good minus the fact that it feels very unorganized. There is no general thesis but it provides interesting points. once I got into the book the facts and images came swirling out. Overall it is a great book that I highly recommend to anyone interested in the world. I give this book 3.5 uninhabited earths out of 5.

posted by MelBam on June 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 12, 2009

    The World Without Us... seems to be a better place.

    The World Without Us is an excellent book that grasps the readers mind. It shows the earth today in a journey to return to its former self. The impact of humans on earth is great topic and this book was a real eye opener. I found it to be very detailed and it contained solid facts that were backed up by great research. I found it hard to understand at some point where Mr.Weisman deviates from the topic. The topics on there own are very good minus the fact that it feels very unorganized. There is no general thesis but it provides interesting points. once I got into the book the facts and images came swirling out. Overall it is a great book that I highly recommend to anyone interested in the world. I give this book 3.5 uninhabited earths out of 5.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    We Will Not Be Missed

    If you happen to be the last surviving human, after we do ourselves in, Alan Wiseman's book can serve as an interesting travel guide. I found his research authoritative and compelling. He introduced me to many fascinating places on our planet that will return to their primal state as havens teaming with life in the Post Human world. How about taking up residence in Chernobyl one day. This book makes a strong case that the planet is not in peril, it's just waiting for us to go!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Repetitive, boring political diatribe

    There's no real information here, nothing about the complex maintenance necessary to human-built civilization, and no verifiable detail about how the rest of the life on this planet would take over if all humans suddenly just disappeared. It's clearly a progressive's fear fantasy in which the author is trying to convince us to reduce our lives so that other (non-human) life has more resources.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    This book drags on and does not always stay on topic (eg: The st

    This book drags on and does not always stay on topic (eg: The story was talking about the world without the human race like it should, then started talking about the difference between 2 money species). I don't think I'll be able to finish reading this one.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Read the sample..

    AND I WANNA GET IT!!!!!!!!!!! But i dont have money to get it. And its sad, because its only 10.00

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Scary

    I don't know what is worse, learning how we have changed the planet, or how long it would take it to change back after we are gone. Believe what you will, but be certain, this world will be a very different place when we leave it compared to the way we found it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very informative and interesting

    This book fantasizes about a world without humans and takes a look at our lasting legacy while at the same time informing the reader of just how much we negatively effect the world with our day-to-day activities. Extremely engaging.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2009

    Great book

    I had to read a book concerning climate change and the effects of it on the earth for a class in school. This book clearly depicts our Earth and the effect that we have on it. I highly recommend it to anyone who is remotely interested in this topic. It is truly eye-opening.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2008

    LISTEN to this book

    I agree with the previous comments that this was a fascinating book. It appears to be based on sound research and science. It is also a great book for listening. The author's style of writing lends itself well to the audio format, and the reader is a good match for the material. I came to an even greater appreciation of our wondrous natural environments from listening to the book. I could just feel the beauty of the locales the author takes the listener to. I would have rated the book outstanding except that I thought some of the transitions between topics were a bit awkward. I don't believe the author sees humans as evil, just as fallible and right now on the wrong path. He uses the device of a 'world without us' to help set us on a saner course. Try the audio version--you'll enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2008

    A reviewer

    really interesting, well-written book on an original topic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3