Customer Reviews for

The Worst-Case Scenario Survival Handbook: How to Escape from Quicksand, Wrestle an Alligator, Break Down a Door, Land a Plane...

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

CRAZY

this is the best book ever. There is no other better book in the world.

posted by Anonymous on March 26, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not helpful

I didnt enjoy or become more inlightened from this book in anyway.

posted by Anonymous on February 15, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2002

    CRAZY

    this is the best book ever. There is no other better book in the world.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2003

    great little book to have on hand

    oh, such a nice little book to read when bored.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    B best gift

    For my brother, he loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2003

    very good to have with you

    i love this book it is fun to read and very helpful I take it every were .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2002

    Awesome

    This book was very interesting. Reading the book was a breeze. I also found the book to be quite comical becasue of certain situations described. I definately recommend this book for the person on the go. Never leave home without

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    I.want.this.book!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    My 9-year-old son loves it

    He says it's "awesome".

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2001

    Wish I had read this 10 years ago!

    What a great book! If I had this book years ago, I'd certainly be better off now than I am. I just read another book about survivors (U.S. Customs, Badge of Dishonor), that I'm certain that the authors in that book sure could have used the secrets in this book as much as I needed them. You know what they say, 'Hind sight is 20/20.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2001

    The Worst-Case Scenario

    When first looking at the cover, I thought it might have been a joke or a satire book. I was wrong. It has some useful and not so useful (i.e. how to maneuver on top of a moving train and get inside) information. It was a fun read, and could really get some conversations started if placed on a coffee table.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2001

    DO NOT ATTEMPT THIS AT HOME!

    This selection is not only hilarious, but I've actually used some of the instructions. (Picking my lock when locked out of my house.) Although the instructions are real, they are written in a very tongue-in-cheek way. My friend bought it for me as a gift and all our guests love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2001

    Very Amusing

    The one thing that I did NOT like about this book is that it was so short. So, when in the sequel coming out?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2000

    Fun and Interesting

    I was on a retreat with a few college friends and somebody had brought this book along. We had fun for at least 2 hours reading, singing, and acting out these scenarios. Our favorite was a spoof of the song 'I'm Gonna Be (500 Miles)' by the Proclaimers renamed 'Tracheotomy'. Another favorite was a heavy-metal version of 'How to win a Swordfight'. This book provides college students and professors fun for hours - just look at our example.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2000

    Great Gift

    A charming, practical book that makes a great gift. It tells you how to get out scenarios you're unlikely to face,in a plainspoken, humorous style. I gave it as a birthday gift and as a gift to a friend who is heading abroad. Don't expect great advice; Most of it you could have thought of yourself (if a cougar attacks you--fight back!), but it's still fun to read. Two thumbs up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2000

    Excellent resource book!

    I own the book, and I learned how to search for and defuse bombs, how to escape quicksand,wrestle an alligator, and now it is my second Bible. As critics say, 'two thumbs up!'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2000

    Highly entertaining

    This title can't be taken seriously and I doubt it was written with such intentions. It is great for a great laugh during cocktail parties.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2000

    An outstanding book

    This was a great book, with an amazing array of topics which may, but hopefully not, help me in my future life. It is fun to look at, and great on a coffee table. I live in an urban setting, and I still enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2000

    Everything I Never Wanted to Need to Know

    How can a book be so serious and so funny at the same time? On the one hand, we know we'll never need this info. On another, deeper level, we're compelled to read it cover to cover, for the same reason we keep a first aid kit in the car. You just never know, right? And won't you kick yourself while you're kicking that shark if you *didn't* learn these tricks to survival? Put this book high on your list of things you never thought you'd need.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2000

    awsome

    this was a great thing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2000

    Be a superhero!

    The only thing holding me back from being a superhero was not knowing exactly how to jump out of a moving car (without doing it.) What a fine gift for your paranoid friend or to the superhero hidden in your heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2000

    best book

    the book is the best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2