Customer Reviews for

The Wrecking Crew: The Inside Story of Rock and Roll's Best-Kept Secret

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    Friends are Sick of Hearing About This Book

    Full of amazing tidbits- all of which my friends are sick of hearing about from me. Highly recommended.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    A great read!!

    Anyone who grew up in the '60's should read this book about what happened behind the scenes. It's an eye-opener!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Good book

    I enjoyed this book. Very interesting, learned a lot. A good read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Real Story Behind the Music

    This is a fun book that tells the stories (many stories) behind the most listened to music of the '60s and '70s--stories the record companies didn't want us to hear. The author really did a ton of research--years of interviews with members of the the Wrecking Crew are listed in the book's Source Notes and Bibliography. Great gift book! (That's how I got a copy.)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    The marketing copy nails it on the head. This gives the inside s

    The marketing copy nails it on the head. This gives the inside story of the session musicians behind some of the best rock n roll recorded in LA in the 60s and 70s. Very well written, very well researched, and very interesting, especially if you like rock. It's a great behind-the-scenes look.

    Just make sure you're near a PC when you read it so you can hit the Internet to listen to the songs!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    Great information about the music I grew up with.

    Great information about the music I grew up with.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Wonderful read. Well researched. Having worked in the music indu

    Wonderful read. Well researched. Having worked in the music industry late 60's through 70's at a major label, I certainly remember all the LP's we used The Wrecking Crew on. It was too expensive to have a house band as used to be in the 40's and 50's for bigger labels and movie studios. We only benefited by this amazing grouping of musical talent. There is a movie made by Denny Tedesco, son of one of the WC members, making it's rounds now that also documents this group of exceptional musicians.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Great history book

    Very surprised by the things I found here. Very goid book on the history of rock and roll.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    I loved this book. Growing up in the 60's, this music was the s

    I loved this book. Growing up in the 60's, this music was the soundtrack of my life. I would listen to my transistor radio every day and never knew anyone but the groups played on so many of the songs I loved and so many of the records I owned. This book is a must for any fan of 60's and70's music, singers, and groups. I can't wait till the documentary of the Wrecking Crew comes out in DVD!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    Almost unreadable, full of errors.  Passable if you are new to t

    Almost unreadable, full of errors.  Passable if you are new to the history of popular music, but 
    not for those serious about the subject.  Perhaps not the author's fault as there is so much mythology about
    the music business from the 1950's and 60's and this book supports a particular version.  This is not to slight
    the session players involved for their important contribution, it is simply a skewed history.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Fang

    Lawlsh. *she dissappears in a burst of flames.*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Amanda

    Adios Saphire! Ima go to bed as well before I colapse...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Sapheh

    K bye :p

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Harley

    Gtg. Good luck!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Dani

    Crap! I forgot I have art club! I won't be on until 3:40 today! Bye!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2