Customer Reviews for

The Yard (Scotland Yard's Murder Squad Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 179 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(118)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Any notion of Victorian England as a place of sweetness and ligh

Any notion of Victorian England as a place of sweetness and light will be quickly disspelled by Alex Grecian's new book, whose grim descriptions of 19th-century London are more Dickens than Austin. Most of the city is filthy. Life is cheap among the masses of the poor. ...
Any notion of Victorian England as a place of sweetness and light will be quickly disspelled by Alex Grecian's new book, whose grim descriptions of 19th-century London are more Dickens than Austin. Most of the city is filthy. Life is cheap among the masses of the poor. Cutthroats mingle with pickpockets, prostitutes, and thieves. The dead are thrown into charnel houses. The indigent and mentally ill are warehoused under appalling conditions. And lower-class children have no rights or protection - they are used and abused, disappear daily, are tossed like trash when they've served their purpose.

An understaffed police force struggles under a staggering case load - they can barely get to the routine crimes, much less solve the murders that constantly occur. And they are in disgrace with the public after no success in finding Jack the Ripper. Forensics at this time are primitive, to put it kindly.

The author adroitly handles several plot lines: a new killer is targeting police officers; a child has been kidnapped and forced by his unstable new "father" to replace a lost son; full-bearded men have their throats slit and are found clean-shaven.

The officers who will undoubtedly be the lead characters in subsequent books in the series are often flawed, but always sympathetic. One is a newlywed who sometimes longs for the clear air of his home in Devon. Another is a scrapper who fought to leave the mines where he worked as a child. A forward-thinking medical examiner adds interest, especially when he begins experimenting with an early form of fingerprinting.

Surprisingly, in all this grubby reality are some unexpected flashes of humor. I actually found myself laughing out loud at the welcome comic relief. However, these moments are few and far between, and the reader is soon immersed once again in the scary, overcrowded London of the 1800s. I look forward to the next in this fine series.

posted by emmi331 on June 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Roleplayers

Bn, can you please do something with these kids that use the nook as a game room for these silly cat games? 2/3sof the posts on here dont even relate to the book and should be removed and the posters banned from posting. Thhese kids need to learn that the nook review se...
Bn, can you please do something with these kids that use the nook as a game room for these silly cat games? 2/3sof the posts on here dont even relate to the book and should be removed and the posters banned from posting. Thhese kids need to learn that the nook review section is fir leaving reviees about the book in question, not to play cat games, chat or play sex games.

posted by 8888649 on May 18, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 179 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    highly recommend

    Great mysytery, done in Victorian England. Love the characters. Kept me engrossed until the end. I am now on his second The black country

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Great mystery

    I love the characters and taste of another time and place!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    absolutely loved this book. must read for any mystery lover who

    absolutely loved this book. must read for any mystery lover who is into historical fiction and who loves a good murder

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    It was okay, but I doubt that I'll read any more from this autho

    It was okay, but I doubt that I'll read any more from this author. The anachronisms bothered me, and I figured out who the killer was fairly early on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Kiriu to hunter

    (Dire wolves are real wolves. Not mythical creatures!!!!)

    1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    The swat

    Takes shard to erin hunter result one

    1 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Ummmm

    Suckss

    1 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2014

    Great book! 

    Great book! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Exceptionally well written. I love this time period.

    Exceptionally well written. I love this time period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Characters are reasonably well drawn, making this the book only

    Characters are reasonably well drawn, making this the book only saving grace. Plot is full of coincidences which destroys the plausibility of the story. I will probably give the author another chance and read another book inseries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Highly recommended.

    Grabs your attention from the start - good character and story development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2014

    I was so happy to another fresh author who delves into the Londo

    I was so happy to another fresh author who delves into the London streets in the 1800s. I love that period and can imagine the perils that face the people at that time and can see how the local law enforcement deal with so much heartbreak and the way the people have to scrape out a living. I hope that the second and third books will be just as entertaining for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    . .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    Being a fan of Anne Perry, I thought I would expand my Victorian

    Being a fan of Anne Perry, I thought I would expand my Victorian mystery circle. I was disappointed in this as I found it a confusing and once the author tells us who did it, I lost interest as none of the other characters had caught my attention. I have read other mysteries where the killer is revealed early on and kept reading because I liked the others in the book or because I was curious as to how the killer was finally caught. Unfortunately, this this not happen with this book. Also, I didn't find the investigation credible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    Q

    Yes!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Second week of this is really too much

    How does one get kindle

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2014

    Scotland Yard seems like no big deal these days, but in 1889 Lon

    Scotland Yard seems like no big deal these days, but in 1889 London, after a reign of terror by Jack The Ripper, something needed to be done about the increased publics panic with murderers in this huge city.  The murder Squad was started with twelve men who were in charge of solving all the murders in London.  Unfortunately, the next big case involves the murder of one of these particular policeman.  His body was found stuffed in a trunk, with few clues evident to how he got there. 




    Inspector Day is relatively new to the force, but his powers of observation and detecting instincts cause him to be put in charge of this case.  He's befriended and helped by Dr Kingsley, who becomes the force's first forensic pathologist.  Most of Dr Kingsley's ideas are revolutionary--like dusting for people's fingerprints.  Though everyone isn't completely convinced of the uniqueness of these lines and swirls on people's fingers, his idea proves to be useful.  Children, the homeless, chimney sweeps, and workhouses also come into play in this wonderfully involved story of the early Murder Squad.




    The characters and story line are uniquely blended to create tension and suspense in this first of the Murder Squad Mysteries.  I really enjoyed the writing style of these mixed mysteries too, as information was given close to a solution before it created more questions.  Wonderfully done book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    To josie

    Hi go to orca res two to chat













    Kevin &#9829&#9825&#3235

    0 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Josie

    Walks in.

    0 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Luke

    *walks you thoigh the forest then you see this big private beach and with a big house ext to it and has tons of aches and has a nice hang out patio, then i brought you to the house and there were french doors that opened to the beach with a nice modern kichten with a nice living room with a game room and the i brought you down o the basement that a libary and it has a nice seating area down there and then i went back upstairs and thwn went to the second story and there was two bed rooms and with a zing bathooms. Out side was a pool and it was a nice morden house.* do u like it, i'm still working on it

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 179 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9