Customer Reviews for

The Yard (Scotland Yard's Murder Squad Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 180 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(118)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Any notion of Victorian England as a place of sweetness and ligh

Any notion of Victorian England as a place of sweetness and light will be quickly disspelled by Alex Grecian's new book, whose grim descriptions of 19th-century London are more Dickens than Austin. Most of the city is filthy. Life is cheap among the masses of the poor. ...
Any notion of Victorian England as a place of sweetness and light will be quickly disspelled by Alex Grecian's new book, whose grim descriptions of 19th-century London are more Dickens than Austin. Most of the city is filthy. Life is cheap among the masses of the poor. Cutthroats mingle with pickpockets, prostitutes, and thieves. The dead are thrown into charnel houses. The indigent and mentally ill are warehoused under appalling conditions. And lower-class children have no rights or protection - they are used and abused, disappear daily, are tossed like trash when they've served their purpose.

An understaffed police force struggles under a staggering case load - they can barely get to the routine crimes, much less solve the murders that constantly occur. And they are in disgrace with the public after no success in finding Jack the Ripper. Forensics at this time are primitive, to put it kindly.

The author adroitly handles several plot lines: a new killer is targeting police officers; a child has been kidnapped and forced by his unstable new "father" to replace a lost son; full-bearded men have their throats slit and are found clean-shaven.

The officers who will undoubtedly be the lead characters in subsequent books in the series are often flawed, but always sympathetic. One is a newlywed who sometimes longs for the clear air of his home in Devon. Another is a scrapper who fought to leave the mines where he worked as a child. A forward-thinking medical examiner adds interest, especially when he begins experimenting with an early form of fingerprinting.

Surprisingly, in all this grubby reality are some unexpected flashes of humor. I actually found myself laughing out loud at the welcome comic relief. However, these moments are few and far between, and the reader is soon immersed once again in the scary, overcrowded London of the 1800s. I look forward to the next in this fine series.

posted by emmi331 on June 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Roleplayers

Bn, can you please do something with these kids that use the nook as a game room for these silly cat games? 2/3sof the posts on here dont even relate to the book and should be removed and the posters banned from posting. Thhese kids need to learn that the nook review se...
Bn, can you please do something with these kids that use the nook as a game room for these silly cat games? 2/3sof the posts on here dont even relate to the book and should be removed and the posters banned from posting. Thhese kids need to learn that the nook review section is fir leaving reviees about the book in question, not to play cat games, chat or play sex games.

posted by 8888649 on May 18, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 180 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Disappointing

    First reaction.. the author is trying to write in Charles Dickens style but that doesn't work. Read to the end but found it trite , boring, egregiously gruesome.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    I enjoyed. Waiting for the next one in the series.

    I enjoyed. Waiting for the next one in the series.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Mostly ok but

    This writer's female characters behave entirely inconsistently and inappropriately for the times. An astonishing number of upper class young women appear to be deeply attracted to working class men, when in reality they would never have looked at them at all. Particularly the ridiculous former coal miner, Hammersmith, who also behaves very inconsistently for his background. The author makes a big deal about him reading, which is a very unlikely skill for a coal miner in Victorian England. No explanation for this is given. Also, for some reason he differentiates Hammersmith'sspeech from that of the working class citizens he interacts with, making him sound "genteel," which is patently ridiculous. He would sound just as crude and unlettered as the people he pesters against orders.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Couldn't Put It Down!

    I took this nook book on a recent business trip, and it was responsible for keeping me up too late every night. It was exciting and suspenseful from page one, all the way through to the ending. I started it on the plane and finished it on the return trip. I could hardly put it down! If you are a fan of gritty 19th C historical fiction (as I am), then this is a book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Definitely recommended

    - one of those books you think you figured out but as each chapter goes on a new wrinkle in the story says it's not over yet and you don't want to put it down until it's finished

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    Excellent story...

    I couldn't put this book or the second in this series, The Black Country, down. Most entertaining! Is there a third being written?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    great read

    A little Holmes only different. I love the period but even if you don't you will find yourself engrossed in this book. Finished this one, his second and the short story this week. Been a long time since I've done that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    great Victorian mystery

    Great twists and turns and ups and downs. A hard book to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    Excellently written

    If you like history with a twist. This is a must read! Really held my interest and very suspenseful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Read it, own it, love it.

    Quick to read and engaging with several character stories overlapping into a grand finale. I read The Yard right after The Alienist and loved how similar the themes are (completely unrelated of course and Caleb Carr provides intense scenes and incredible imagery for NYC in the 1800's). If you enjoyed The Alienist, I highly recommend The Yard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Well done

    Excellent story. Good characters. Great sense of time and place. I'm looking forward to more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    A-

    Apart from the inaccuracies of some terms and actions (author needs to take his research more seriously)......I thoroughly enjoyed this book and I would not hesitate a moment to read another of Mr. Grecian's novels. I had the feeling that I first had when reading my first classic who-dunnit. It's definitely a page turner.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Hn.

    After re reading this book. It is actually pretty horrible. Everything just happened out of sequence. And if i could re arrange the characters i would. Just OMG i used to think it was good. Horri le horri le book.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Well done !

    I could'nt put it down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Wow!

    This book was amazing! I hope to get more from Alex! Cant wait for more.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Mysticflower

    "I'll stay here," she meowed. "I just don't really feel like I belong in the Clans. I like the name they gave me though."

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    I like chease

    Yes i can see this

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    To crispkit

    Come on i now a way out - lilykit

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    A baby

    A baby horse gallops by, frightened by something

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Dawn IM SO SORRY REAL HUNTER

    Ooh...u have a fake mean rper. Sorry!!! Ill take back what i said.

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 180 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 9