Customer Reviews for

The Year My Sister Got Lucky

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of the best boks

This was one of the best books Ive read in a while. It is al labout two sisters who used to be so close. Now that they are moving they start to grow apart . Soon the younger sister Katie does not even know who her older sister Mikalya is any more. It is all about siste...
This was one of the best books Ive read in a while. It is al labout two sisters who used to be so close. Now that they are moving they start to grow apart . Soon the younger sister Katie does not even know who her older sister Mikalya is any more. It is all about sisters,friendships, live,love and dance. It was a great book

posted by 15647858 on March 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

waste

don't buy! think of the worst book you've ever read. okay, and then times that by a million and you get this book. forreals.

posted by 1653670 on September 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    One of the best boks

    This was one of the best books Ive read in a while. It is al labout two sisters who used to be so close. Now that they are moving they start to grow apart . Soon the younger sister Katie does not even know who her older sister Mikalya is any more. It is all about sisters,friendships, live,love and dance. It was a great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Awesome!

    I haven't read it yet, but my name is Katherine (A.K.A. Katie ((that's my nickname)) and my cousin's (not sister, but cousin) name is Michaela (Kayla ((that's her nickname)). I am excited to read this, as different lives do pull many people apart in reality. Kayla (as in my cousin) has lived in many different places. Springfield (Illinois), somewhere in Indiana, somewhere in North Carolina. She now lives in an estate in Davenport, Iowa. She and I were so close when we were little... I visited her in Indiana more than I lived in my own home! She came back from North Carolina during her last few days of fourth grade, my last few days of third (equaling about four years ago. I am going int seventh grade at Woodrow Wilson Middle School in Moline, Illinois now, and then I was still going to Theodore Roosevelt Elementary School in Moline. How do I know for sure if it's Theodore? Our mascot: the bear).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    READ ME BY GABRIELLE WALKER

    Hey guess waht everybody i read a nother great book i normally dont write reviews but this iis a good book and deserves to have me write a review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    The perfect read

    Sisters. Best friends. Confidantes. Future ballerina Michaela and little sister-slash-insomniac Katya "Katie" Wilder are like Eloise- city girls no matter what. Until they get uprooted from chic, sleek, NYC and move upstate to a tiny little town upstate. Katie is totally sure she'll hate every second of it, while Michaela sees it as a new start, a chance to begin again. Michaela makes new friends, and though she tries to hold on to her friendship with Katie at first, slowly Katie stops being a mjor part of her life. Throughout the book, Katie begins to accept life in her new town, and makes new friends, finds new passions, and learns who she really is. Michaela adjusts instantly and soon has new friends, a boyfriend, and a new life. By the end of the book, Michaela and Katie realize that no matter what, they are sisters and that is something that will never change. Each girl carves her own path, even if it was a little different from the one they dreamed of in New York City.
    I first grabbed this book as I was leaving the bookstore, and I wasn't sure if I would like it. From the inside flap, it sounded like a silly little book and I put off reading it. Then I actually read it. Within the first page, I was hooked. Being a ballerina, I could really relate, and I loved, loved, loved how Aimee incorporated dance. In four hours, I finished it. I literally could not put this book down. It's told from Katie's point of view, but I fell in love with Michaela's character, and liked that despite how perfect she was at the beginning, she grew a backbone and developed her own interests and new talents. Both girls change for the better by the end of the book and really find out what sisterhood, friendship, and trust means deep down inside.
    If you are looking for an amazing book, get this one. I promise that it is totally worth your money.
    FIVE OUT OF FIVE STARS!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Love!!

    Love!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great!

    I loved this book. Instead of giving you an overkill of a teen novel, this has a completely different plot! I enjoyed it very much and reccomend it to many people that like a love story with many other elements such as friendship and trust too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Rummel for TeensReadToo

    Gold Star Award Winner! Katie and her perfect sister, Michaela, have a brand new life in the country. In their previous life, they've lived in New York City and danced ballet under the watchful eye of a legendary ballerina. But things have changed, and now Katie is lost on her own while her sister transforms into the queen bee of the social scene. Soon Michaela's dating the hottest guy in school and her best friends don't include Katie. The two of them always shared secrets, but now Michaela barely talks to her about real life. Katie feels stung by her sister's betrayal. Can sisters really be best friends? Aimee Friedman dissects the sister relationship in her new book THE YEAR MY SISTER GOT LUCKY. The relationship between Katie and Michaela will captivate readers and the divergence from her usual characters will not be disappointing. Reviewed by: Jennifer Rummel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Cute Read!

    'The Year My Sister Got Lucky' is a cute and charming book. I read it in about a day because once I picked it up, I couldn't put it down. Aimee Freidman is a great author - this book is well-written and almost anyone can relate to the events that go on. I liked the way the characters were described in the book and it felt like I got to know them. I recommend it to all girls, especially sisters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dancer and a Sister? READ THIS!

    I am both a sister and a dancer, and I must say, when I read this, the first quote opened my eyes. The author's words are so true to any sister - I was amazed at how much of myself I discovered when reading this book. Just finished the last 170 pages tonight. Good story line, not very predictable. Interesting names of the characters and places. If you've ever been to NYC or dream of seeing the Big Apple someday, I advise you to pick this one up, too. Hope you enjoy reading The Year My Sister Got Lucky!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    THIS BOOK!

    This book was OMG amazing. After I finished this afternoon I couldn't stop thinking about it and was almost about to cry the story couldn't continue. It's one of those books that you want to get to the end to accomplish reading the book but then again you want the story to be infinite. It was amazing. I recommend this book for people who like books about realistic fiction and modern girls and relationships and their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Rummel for TeensReadToo.com

    Katie and her perfect sister, Michaela, have a brand new life in the country. <BR/><BR/>In their previous life, they've lived in New York City and danced ballet under the watchful eye of a legendary ballerina. But things have changed, and now Katie is lost on her own while her sister transforms into the queen bee of the social scene. Soon Michaela's dating the hottest guy in school and her best friends don't include Katie. <BR/><BR/>The two of them always shared secrets, but now Michaela barely talks to her about real life. Katie feels stung by her sister's betrayal. <BR/><BR/>Can sisters really be best friends? <BR/><BR/>Aimee Friedman dissects the sister relationship in her new book THE YEAR MY SISTER GOT LUCKY. The relationship between Katie and Michaela will captivate readers and the divergence from her usual characters will not be disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2008

    Awesome!

    i loved this book! I really like ballet and i like hearing what happens to the characters. The sisters are totally different and its fun to see how they mesh at times. i loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2008

    ShaniquaBanks13

    This book is really good and it's what some girls in real life go through in these days!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2008

    GRRRREAT

    I love this book i read it in one day i couldnt put it down it was a total page turner and then i read it again. this book is great on its own but i hope there will be a squela or something. I love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2008

    worth reading for sureee

    I definately enjoyed reading this book. It was a little hard for me to get into at first- I'm not really into the whole ballet thing, but once the move happened and everything, I couldn't put it down. It was interesting to read about the developing relationship between the sisters and their interactions with boys and the complete change they made going from city girls to the country. This is definately a good teen book! :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2008

    AMAZING!!!!

    I LUV THIS BOOK!!! being a ballet dancer, its even better! this is a MUST read!!=D I recommend this for ages 12-16 ='

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2007

    A reviewer

    this book was great i liked the way the author wrote it was awesome a total great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2