Customer Reviews for

The Yellow Birds

Average Rating 4
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

This is one powerful novel ! It is intense, soul-searching and s

This is one powerful novel ! It is intense, soul-searching and shocking . I finished it last night and it is still inside my head , consuming my thoughts . It is not an easy read . Stay with it ; you will be deeply moved . I had absolutely no idea what our troops faced ...
This is one powerful novel ! It is intense, soul-searching and shocking . I finished it last night and it is still inside my head , consuming my thoughts . It is not an easy read . Stay with it ; you will be deeply moved . I had absolutely no idea what our troops faced on a daily basis in Iraq ; this novel opened my eyes . I believe every politician who so easily advocates placing America's Sons and Daughters in harm's way should read this novel .

posted by JerseyJoe on September 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A foot soldier, who enlists in the army for ambiguous reasons, e

A foot soldier, who enlists in the army for ambiguous reasons, experiences the mind numbing disillusioning impact of the horrors of combat. Nothing new about that, but here the story is enhanced by prose laced with the dense metaphors and similies of poetry. That's not ...
A foot soldier, who enlists in the army for ambiguous reasons, experiences the mind numbing disillusioning impact of the horrors of combat. Nothing new about that, but here the story is enhanced by prose laced with the dense metaphors and similies of poetry. That's not surprising based on the author's actual combat experience in Iraq and poetry training. This is certainly a powerful and thoughtful anti-war novel that avoids veering off into the politics of our involvement. But the main character's internal dialogues on the meaningless of it all became repetitious and perhaps tedious. There are better nonfiction alternatives on the subject. War by Sebastian Junger and The Good Soldiers by David Finkel come to mind.

posted by bookbilly on December 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    V

    Vgtxv

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2014

    moving and thought provoking

    This is a moving story about two young men who enlist in the Army and serve in Iraq. This is the first book I've read on this subject that focuses on the enlisted soldiers and their experiences. It will change the way you think about those who served in the Afghanistan/Iraq wars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    The book The Yellow Birds is a book for the ages. On par with Th

    The book The Yellow Birds is a book for the ages. On par with The Red Badge of Courage and All Quiet on the Western Front, this is a story about a man fighting in the Iraq War who over time becomes disillusioned with the idea of war and the effects that it has on the soldiers fighting in it. Through the eyes of Pvt. Bartle, the reader can see and truly understand the mentality of a soldier that very few books have done before. This is truly a story that everybody should read. Although the novel does have its action, the real story is the mind of Pvt. Bartle. At home and in Iraq, the mind of a soldier is explored intimately in a way that modern readers can understand and sympathize with. If you have not picked up a copy yet, I would recommend that you do so now. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    I highly recommend this novel to anyone who has read ┬┐All Quiet

    I highly recommend this novel to anyone who has read “All Quiet on the Western Front”. “The Yellow Birds” is a very intense novel that shows what war really is. Kevin Powers did an exceptional job writing this novel and does an amazing job describing what war can do to a person’s mind. This novel gives the reader an inside look at the war in Iraq and takes you inside the mind of a soldier. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Sad

    A true look at all that is felt in the no mans land that is, was and forever will be the War in Iraq.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Ethan

    Hey

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    This should be required reading for all US residents.

    Brutally brilliant. Harrowing, yet beautiful telling of a tale of the costs of war. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Sad

    Way to sad

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    This book will haunt me. What the soldiers live with and adopt

    This book will haunt me. What the soldiers live with and adopt as "normal"--it brings the horrors and immorality of the wars in the Arab region dramatically to the forefront. How any soldier can return undamaged is hard to imagine. Describing Murph as a "dead man" as he begins to unravel before their eyes--that the soldiers recognize his instability and are unable and unwilling to help is only understandable in the terrible context of the war.



    This book is very hard to read, but I'm so glad I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Death

    ?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    To birchstar, URGENT

    I need to talk to you. Meet me at sparrow (search results: top maches) page 5, res 2 on June second, 1:00pm-2:00pm. If you cant do then, say by friday night and we will talk some other time (tell me at the place where I said we are going to talk) . BUT WE WILL TALK. I am NOT going to have you tackling me in the middle of my own camp and calling me an'IMPOSTER' because I didn't even know that a treeclan already existed or scarring my kits!!!!!~A VERY angry Treestar~

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Novaclaw

    You should move you camp to smudge were im at because i dont think gingerstar will be coming back soon. Also im very lonley over there so... but i think i have a shecat who may join me

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    Poorly Written

    Too many metaphors. It became distracting. It also dampened the true horrors of war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    John

    Okay.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Not well written at ALL

    I reviewed this book as a part of a book club. We have been reading war novels, so it was not the first of a type. However, I found it to be very clumsy -- written like a high school senior in his first creative writing class. The most memorable part of this book was the overuse of profanity. While many of the books that we have read have at least as much profanity, the others fit within the story/character profiles. In this book it was, like all other review criteria, just clumsy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    I'll remember this book.

    I'm glad I read this book. People don't really know what combat is like, but this story lets you know how the young soldiers are feeling. I have recommended it to many others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Holy sh**best book

    Fifty stars

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Hi

    I love birds they are so cute

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Anonymous

    Too flowery. I got very bored with the lenghthy descritions of everything. Clouds looking like unmade beds. Yawn. Can't finish.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    This is a poet's take on war. If you like poetry, you may like t

    This is a poet's take on war. If you like poetry, you may like this book that is packed with poetic images. The author has potential and may do much better in the future.
    As a tale of war and morality, it falls short in my opinion but the professional critics like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5