Customer Reviews for

The Ambition: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    A good, fast paced read!

    This book got me to put aside my computer, for a while. Loved the way Mr. Stroble portrayed Christains in a non- preachy, unsentimental way. Enjoyed how the different story lines intersected. Hope there is a sequel.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Great read!

    Love that Lee is a once Atheist now born again Christian...he is a great writer too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Disappoinrig

    Not a terrible read but certainly lacking. The spotty character developement, abrupt ending, and the lack of closure for some of the character's storylines didn't leave me thinking of a sequel - it just left me feeling disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Good and fast read

    The ambition was well worth burning the midnight oil for. Finally a book with the right message. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    RATING!4.5! SUSPENSE,THRILLER,POWER,DECEIT AND DANGER! THE AMBITION BY LEE STROBEL...

    THE AMBITION by Lee Strobel is an intriquing suspense fiction set in Chicago. It is written with depth and details. It has deceit,danger,death,the mob,payoffs, power,politics,bribes,contract killing,secrets,Senate candidate's and their secrets.This story if full of political intrigue,a megachurch,a big city newspaper,all the while taking you into the corrupt world of payoffs,corruption,and betrayal. It will have you on the edge of your seat.This is a thriller that is not to be missed as newspaper reporter Garry Strider probes into the world of justice,and corruption all while struggling to survive. The author weaves an exciting thriller with edgy characters and a powerful climax that will leave you breathless. A must read. This book was received from the Nancy Berland Public Relations,Inc.for the purpose of review.Details can be find at Zondervan and My Book Addiction Reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Lee Strobel- Debut Fiction release!

    A crooked judge, cynical newspaper reporter, and a big time pastor turning political candidate are just a few of the characters that you will find in Lee Strobel's debut fiction suspense novel "The Ambition". The characters are woven into a fascinating story where the mob plays into the judicial corruption of a case. With a pay off to a certain judge the system was able to be manipulated so that cases could be steered toward a certain judge who would get them off. Also woven in to the storyline, is Eric Snow; a well off mega-church pastor who is feeling the draw of the political arena and truly believes he can use his influence for good in a Senatorial position opening up due to the current senator's scandal and Eric Snow is one of the possible candidates to take over. The other possible candidate is Chief Judge Reese McKelvie also vying for that senatorial position. Yes, you quickly see the character's "ambitions" all over the place. Some motives are pure others corrupt and the story just takes off from there.

    The Garry Strider character which is a Chicago new reporter looking to dig up any possible dirt that he can on Pastor Eric Snow gives the perfect cynical character particularly with regards to anything to do with God. Not having much use for God himself, Strobel paints a great picture of the path of cynicism and disbelief in God to a door cracking open just a little bit as the character faces different challenges. For instance he witnesses with his own eyes a true healing and miracle and faces challenges with his girlfriend Gina who is a new Christian. I like it that Garry is taking his time in really figuring out what he believes. One can't help but feel that this character is close to the author's own life experience, if you've followed Lee Strobel's non-fiction work The Case for Christ. With that being said, this character in particular, rings very true to me.

    The last fourth of the book is very exciting and moves very quickly. I would have to say that the end feels a little rushed but I was able to overlook it because it was clear to me that a sequel is to be written, so we will find out more about how these characters fair. My thoughts are that as a first run novel the story kept my attention and I felt the characters were interesting. There were a lot of characters to keep track of, but with all the people groups that the author melded together- judicial, political, mega-church, journalistic and also "the mob", it was necessary. In the final analysis I always ask myself- do I like these characters and do I care about what happens to them in the future which helps me gage the effectiveness of the story. The answer is yes, I did and I look forward to Lee Strobel's fiction offerings in the future.

    Disclosure- A free Digital review copy of The Ambition by Lee Strobel was graciously provided for me by the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Characters+and+character+interaction+need+more+depth

    For+a+first+fiction+this+is+pretty+good.+++First%2C+the+proofreading+was+lacking.++Found+too+many+misspelled+words%2C+grammer++goofs+and+punctuation+uh+ohs.++The+premise+and+storyline+are+excellent+and+Lee+is+to+be+commended+for+injecting+Christian+values+and+worldview+appropriately.++I+would+have+liked+to+get+to+know+his+wife+and+her+place+in+his+life+better.++The+tension+regarding+his+decision++to+resign+as+pastor+should+have+been+more+deeply+explored+both+personally+and+with+those+impacted.++The+background+interaction+concerning+the+judge%2C+the+Bugattis+and+Tom+OSullivan+needed+more+too.++It+seemed+to+leave+the+reader+with+too+many+questions.++I+will+say+I+will+read+the+next+in+the+series%2C+since+the+ending+sets+you+up+for+the+next+storyline.+Does+he+srill+go+into+politics+or+does+he+become+a+pastor+dealing+with+corruption+in+the+public+arena%3F++Whatever+direction+taken%2C+please+continue+to+keep+it+clean%21++Storylines+are+NOT+enhanced+by+gratuitous+foul+language+or+graphic+sex+scenes.++Thank+you+for+keeping+it+clean.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Good story line but the ending was too abrupt.

    This is a good first outing into the realm of fiction for Mr. Strobel. I enjoyed the writing style and the story line was very believable, however I was left wondering where the characters lives would go and found the ending came to abruptly. It was as if Mr. Strobel was rushing to end the story. I'm not sure if this was due to editing or just how he finished the book. I believe he could have created a better ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Great 1st Novel

    No one can question Strobel's abilities to write non-fiction--everything he has written is challenging and stretching to the reader.

    The Ambition is a great 1st attempt at fiction. I hope it is the beginning of great, clean fiction!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2