Customer Reviews for

Theft of Swords

Average Rating 4.5
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Response to Anoymous's Question....

Hey Anoymouus...not sure why you gave the book a one star review without reading it but...as to your questions.


Can someone tell me what order these books go in?
Theft of Swords (books 1 & 2)
Rise of Empire (books 3 & 4)
Heir of Novron (books 5 & 6)

This is ...
Hey Anoymouus...not sure why you gave the book a one star review without reading it but...as to your questions.


Can someone tell me what order these books go in?
Theft of Swords (books 1 & 2)
Rise of Empire (books 3 & 4)
Heir of Novron (books 5 & 6)

This is in the description as well.


Also, is there any bad stuff like cursing, impurity or immorality? Thank you in advance!

The book is free of foul language. It is about people who steal for a living so I guess you could say they are immoral. But I wouldn't classify them as such. It is remarkably "clean" (no swearing, sexual scenes or graphic violence) and although written for adults can be enjoyed by people of a younger age.

posted by Fiction_Fanatic_22031 on January 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Sword & Sorcery Fun

If you're looking for a fun light fantasy series, if you're a fan of the sword and sorcery pulp era, or if you grew up reading the serial books of Dragonlance or Forgotten Realms give this book a shot. Fun characters. Good banter. By no means perfect but perfectly enjoy...
If you're looking for a fun light fantasy series, if you're a fan of the sword and sorcery pulp era, or if you grew up reading the serial books of Dragonlance or Forgotten Realms give this book a shot. Fun characters. Good banter. By no means perfect but perfectly enjoyable.

posted by Vanguard-TM on January 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Response to Anoymous's Question....

    Hey Anoymouus...not sure why you gave the book a one star review without reading it but...as to your questions.


    Can someone tell me what order these books go in?
    Theft of Swords (books 1 & 2)
    Rise of Empire (books 3 & 4)
    Heir of Novron (books 5 & 6)

    This is in the description as well.


    Also, is there any bad stuff like cursing, impurity or immorality? Thank you in advance!

    The book is free of foul language. It is about people who steal for a living so I guess you could say they are immoral. But I wouldn't classify them as such. It is remarkably "clean" (no swearing, sexual scenes or graphic violence) and although written for adults can be enjoyed by people of a younger age.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    JeanBookNerd Review

    At first glance, Theft of Swords (The Riyria Revelations Series) seem like your familiar fantasy series attached with everything that you have come to expect from that genre. The one thing that makes this stand out from the rest is how the author, Michael J. Sullivan, takes those familiarities and twists them into a refreshing approach, yet keeping that fantasy feel. The characters within the pages were radiantly crafted with care and the chemistry between them was strong and vivid.

    The story is about two thieves, Royce and Hadrian, and their planned heist to take an important item within the walls of the king’s castle. Just as they laid their hands on their prize, a trap is triggered when the lifeless body of the king is at their feet and they are accused for his demise. The story goes on a wild ride with the reader in the front seat the whole way.

    Between the first page and the last, the reader will be entertained and taken into a journey of mystery, adventure, and murder. At the end, it seems like everything is back to normal and everyone is at
    ease. Since this is the first book in the series, it is inevitable that our duo thieves will find themselves again in another predicament. Sullivan has done an outstanding effort in making a popular genre very likable for all. If you like fantasy and tired of the same thing you have come to expect, this book will offer new approaches to the genre. Just remember that Theft of Swords is book one of a trilogy and contains two “stand-alone” stories with endings.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I am picky with books and I still loved this one!

    I had never heard of this book or the author but I took a chance on them and I was/am very impressed. I do not even usually wright reviews but I really want to get the word out on this book plus, I think it would make an awesome movie! Buy this book and you will probably end up like me...rushing out to buy the second book (Rise of Emire) BEFORE you have even finished the first book so you can get your fix without having any gaps inbetween! Great job Mr. Sullivan!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    I picked up Theft of Swords nearly three weeks ago, looking

    I picked up Theft of Swords nearly three weeks ago, looking for a new book or series to read. I read the back, trying to get a feel for the book. It looked interesting but I was not going to get my hopes up. All I expected was a decent story. I was proven wrong. The story was not decent. It was brilliant. Sullivan begins the story with the two main characters on a mission. While many books take a while to draw you in, Theft of Swords abandons that, drawing you in on the first page. And it does not relinquish it's hold.
    In my reading, I have found that many authors have "filler" sentences and chapters. While these are okay, they often detract from the story. Throughout the Riyria Revelations, I cannot think of a single word, let alone sentence or chapter, that I would call "filler". There were many times that a character was introduced, one whom I THOUGHT was "filler" and would simply disappear. Time and time again, I was proven wrong. The character would be introduced again, be it a chapter or a book later, and would interact with the main characters, Royce and Hadrian, proving vital to the progression of the story.
    If I were to identify one thing I think Sullivan does that is truly exceptional, I would have to say CHARACTERIZATION. Throughout the series, Sullivan carefully describes the characters, giving them their own lives and meaning. After reading the series, there is not a single character that I do not identify with (and understand). To use a cliché, the characters "jump of the page", taking over your mind and thought. Ultimately, this is a goal all writers have: to make the reader understand their characters, enjoy them, and find entertainment with them. This does not always happen, however, and the impressive thing Sullivan accomplished is not only pulling it off with one or two characters but each and every one of them. Literally.
    I am an avid reader, always have been, and always will be. Bookshelves adorn the walls of my house, the one in my bedroom reserved for my favorite books. The top shelf (on the far left) is specifically reserved for my favorite book, or series. This is where my copy of the Riyria Revelations now reside. I also have each of them on my Nook (tablet), Apple iPad, and Apple iPhone so I can have them wherever I go (literally). I have heard it said many times that a great book is one that you feel you can read over and over again. I do not always agree with this statement. There have been books I have read that I would classify as great that I would not read again, at least for a very long time. Riyria: I will read over and over again. I know it. I cannot now. I am in college, currently struggling my way through a week of midterms before Spring Break, and I want to try out a long list of books I have stored in Notes on my iPhone. But come summer in a couple months, after I have gotten through four or five of the sixty books on my reading list, I have no doubt that I will return to the Riyria Revelations for another, in depth read. For me, Riyria was not just a great series. It is my favorite series and Sullivan, whom I had never heard of before has become my favorite author. I am looking forward to what the future brings in terms of his writing and hope, or pray, that he will return to it (and publish more) someday.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    One of the best book series I've read in years

    Michael J Sullivan takes you on a thrilling adventure with two witty and charismatic thieves who have a knack for getting into trouble. Good thing they are also talented at getting out of it as well!

    Having read all 6 books in the series I must say if you are a regular of the fantasy genre, this is well worth your time. Not heavy handed or overly detailed for the sake of detail alone like many in the genre these days, Riyria Revelations is simple, fun and humorous while also having a depth about it that at first you may not notice. The best thing about the books, aside from the adventure, is the characters. From the start you find yourself enjoying the two leads, Royce and Hadrian, and you will soon find yourself hooked by their magnetic personalities.

    I highly recommend reading this series and hope you enjoyed it as much as I have!

    Bryan

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    There is a new author that has found a spot on a special bookca


    There is a new author that has found a spot on a special bookcase in my office (or at least will as soon as I order a printed edition – one I hope comes signed); a series of four shelves that hold my all-time favorites. Such authors that have made this shelf are J.K. Rowling, Garth Nix, Cinda Chima Williams, Christopher Paolini, Rick Riordan, Stephen King, Ursula K. Leguin, Piers Anthony, Charlaine Harris, Jane Austen, Robert Jordan, Brandon Sanderson, R.T. Kaelin, Anthony Ryan and D.J. MacHale. His name is Michael J. Sullivan, and I absolutely fell in love with his Riyria series. Well, more to the truth, I fell in love with the two protagonists, Hadrian Blackwater and Royce Melborn. These two make me think of a young Garth and Hub from the movie Second Hand Lions – they both argue about everything, but when working together surmount impossible odds.

    It didn’t take but perhaps a half of a chapter before I was absolutely hooked. The chemistry between Hadrian and Royce was illustrated so elaborately and simply, I couldn’t help but instantly draw a clear picture of them in my mind. I was plucked out of my mundane twenty-first century existence and dropped right into the center of a middle-age fantasy saga. Yet, Sullivan didn’t go to the King or Jordan extremes with dumping me into the center of several paragraphs of description. He kept it active, yet colored the scenes in beautifully, allowing my mind to smooth out the edges, which in my opinion is the mark of a true literary artist.

    The story starts with two thieves, doing what they do best – thievery. Well, actually the story starts off with two thieves on their way to do thievery when they are ambushed by a band of common thieves. The brilliance of dialogue and character development were poured out by the barrel full in this opening scene, as Hadrian and Royce not only argued with one another while being held-up by arrow and knife-point, but then proceeded to chastise their assailants in the proper procedures of highway robbery, to the point that not only did their accosters stop their attempt to rob them, but aided them on their way, more particularly when they found out the two people they were trying to rob were the infamous Riyria.


    Needless to say, the thieves were successful in their midnight raid, brought back their spoils and divided their profits to all in their little network. Here we get to meet some minor characters, some that play bigger parts later in the story.


    With a job well done, and their storehouse filled, and a decision made to live easy for the upcoming winter, an unexpected and urgent job plops into their laps. Going against their own set of thief rules (beware of things that sound too good to be true and don’t thoroughly examine the job), they accept a job to steal a sword in order to save a man from dying in a duel for simply ‘looking’ at another’s man wife. This dueler was a man of renowned reputation for being an excellent swordsman, and placed much value and superstition onto a particular sword. With the offer of a hundred gold coins before and after the theft, the boys found they couldn’t resist, even if they disagreed through the whole consideration. Once they’ve accepted the job, everything from this point forward goes haywire: they are set up and accused of killing the king, are imprisoned to face horrible torture and beheading as decreed by the crown prince, yet aided by the princess to kidnap the prince (to save his life), escape with him, and journey to a secret prison to release a five-hundred year old wizard. What is amazing about this whole journey is that Hadrian and Royce treat each of these exciting adventures as if it were just another day and another job. Throughout the whole adventure, their comic relief comes at just the right moments. The story on the whole is not too heavy, too dark and too on edge, but quite balanced with a little of it all. I didn’t want to stop reading. I wanted to lock myself away and close the door to the world around me, and become completely immersed in this fantasy world.

    The rest of the story includes a couple of great battles, a little magic, a lot of religious persecution, a contest, an evil serpent, a sword, a tower, a conspiracy and a people who not only need, but can’t survive without Hadrian and Royce’s involvement, aided by the elusive wizard Esrahaddon.

    I loved every minute of this story. I have my own speculations of what is to come, but I won’t share them here. In fact, I’m so excited about reading the next installment of I’m going to end this review. I highly recommend this book and this author. This makes the third writer I’ve met recently that has really impressed me, and their stories have moved me.


    Till next time,
    ~T.L. Gray

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    A good read, with more to come

    Somewhere this is categorized as 'epic fantasy'. I wouldn't necessarily put it along side Tolkien or C. S. Lewis, but it is a good teen through adult fantasy read. Set in a lightly constructed imaginary medieval world, it is a story of a couple of heroes caught on the edge of recovering a lost empire or possibly plunging into a feudal world of wars, oppression, and deception. Wait.....those are the same thing! The heroes make their living as high end thieves and have plenty of mystery about who they really are. It manages to have travel and adventure without becoming a slave to a geography the reader really doesn't care about.

    This is a repackaging of the first two books of a 2009(?) six book series. There are two more combined books to complete the original series, but this combination of the first two stands alone with only a few minor questions that don't qualify as cliff hangers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    Good read

    I picked this up so I would have something to read while I wait for the next books in several other series I have been reading to come out. This is very well written, has good flow, interesting story & likeable characters. I think I have just found a new series to read while I am waiting for the next books in other series to come out. I plan to continue reading this series as more books are released, I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of writing and story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Buy it!

    I wanted a book that was fantasy like lord of the rings but not all of the rape stuff that martin is known for. Great series! Just buy all three books now because you're going to anyways! I am truely impressed by Sullivan and feel like his biggest fan after this series alone. Wife also read series and loved it. These books should be movies! I do believe it will happen. You will not be disappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Sucks you in!!

    I love Hadrian and Royce. These books are awesome if you are looking for an adventure!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Sword & Sorcery Fun

    If you're looking for a fun light fantasy series, if you're a fan of the sword and sorcery pulp era, or if you grew up reading the serial books of Dragonlance or Forgotten Realms give this book a shot. Fun characters. Good banter. By no means perfect but perfectly enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    Excellent writing, Outstanding story

    What I like:
    - The book is very well written with excellent dialogue and pace.
    - A story with a lot of ¿weaving¿ of story-within-story to give more depth. This is rich reading that you can¿t race through.
    - This being a trilogy, and as stated by the author, was completed before the first book was published allowed him to tinker with book one to drop hints and clues that reveal themselves later in book two or book three. Very clever.
    - Though this is book one of a trilogy, it consists of two ¿stand-alone¿ stories that conclude, as do all three books in the trilogy have two stand-alone stories.
    - The story can be read by young adults and older adults equally without an ¿R¿ rating.

    Reading this series makes me think that it is written in a way that it could be made into an HBO [PG-13] mini-series.

    What I¿m not all that ¿jazzed¿ about:
    - The ¿what I like¿ outweighs that what does not grab me.
    - I would say the story about power-hungry church(s) versus non-churched and the drama and intrigue does not keep me glued as other fantasy has.
    - Unlike other fantasy I¿ve read, I seem unable to find the truly good or the truly evil. Instead of good versus evil you have what seems gray versus gray that leaves me not sure who I want to win or succeed.

    Bottom line: Just because it¿s not Lord of the Rings or Dragon Riders of Pern or The Song of Albion¿ The writing quality and stories are up with them [IF] this type of story subject is up your alley - Better than MOST other fantasy out there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    Great novel!

    Great novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2014

    Derivative Tripe. Not an original thought in the entire book.

    Derivative Tripe. Not an original thought in the entire book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2014

    Fair

    I was a little disappointed in this book, to be honest. The cover seemed really cool and even the prologue had me excited for more. I had just read the Gentleman Bastard series by Scott Lynch and was looking forward to reading more ridiculous thieving escapades. This book though did not satisfy that desire. It was overly simplistic- it pretty much laid out the plot, characters, action, etc. for you in a very straightforward manner. There was no depth and no reading between the lines. While that may have satisfied me as a reader in middle school or high school, I want something with more complexity. I read only half of this book before deciding I would rather not waste my time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    My favorite series (When not including Brandon Sanderson's books)

    I absolutely love Riyira. I laughed through much of The Crown Conspiracy at all the antics of Royce and Hadrian. I could hardly wait for the next books. Who would have expected a story about a chivalrous swordsman teaming up with a shadowy assassin would be so enjoyable? And it wasn't just humorous, but heartfelt as you watch the characters grow and develop. I recommend this book to everyone. And the series get even better the second time through. Sullivan left easter eggs everywhere. Names are mentioned very incidentally in early books that you would think is just world-building, only to become an actual character in a later book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    This book was difficult to like at first. There was very little

    This book was difficult to like at first. There was very little background story on the main characters and the sequence of events did not flow together very well. It was in part two that things began making some sense. The main characters were finally given some depth and the story line became clear and more developed. The second part of the book was thankfully different from the first part of the book. The writing was much better. The story much better. The second part of the book is what makes you want to read the next book in the series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    Lots of potential

    It's a good story with good characters and plot. Unfortunately the writing serves as a distraction. The dialogue is wooden and artificial, the characters' inner workings are over-explained, the plot is overly described, and any foreshadowing has the subtlty of a jet engine in your bedroom. A good editor cutting out half of the text would make this a terrific read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    good plot

    affable characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Awsome

    This book had me on the edge of my seat most of the time. Although it has a slow start it gets better and better each page you read. I highly recomend it to anybody who likes a good adventure book. Cant wait to read the second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7