Customer Reviews for

Theft of Swords

Average Rating 4.5
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Response to Anoymous's Question....

Hey Anoymouus...not sure why you gave the book a one star review without reading it but...as to your questions.


Can someone tell me what order these books go in?
Theft of Swords (books 1 & 2)
Rise of Empire (books 3 & 4)
Heir of Novron (books 5 & 6)

This is ...
Hey Anoymouus...not sure why you gave the book a one star review without reading it but...as to your questions.


Can someone tell me what order these books go in?
Theft of Swords (books 1 & 2)
Rise of Empire (books 3 & 4)
Heir of Novron (books 5 & 6)

This is in the description as well.


Also, is there any bad stuff like cursing, impurity or immorality? Thank you in advance!

The book is free of foul language. It is about people who steal for a living so I guess you could say they are immoral. But I wouldn't classify them as such. It is remarkably "clean" (no swearing, sexual scenes or graphic violence) and although written for adults can be enjoyed by people of a younger age.

posted by Fiction_Fanatic_22031 on January 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Sword & Sorcery Fun

If you're looking for a fun light fantasy series, if you're a fan of the sword and sorcery pulp era, or if you grew up reading the serial books of Dragonlance or Forgotten Realms give this book a shot. Fun characters. Good banter. By no means perfect but perfectly enjoy...
If you're looking for a fun light fantasy series, if you're a fan of the sword and sorcery pulp era, or if you grew up reading the serial books of Dragonlance or Forgotten Realms give this book a shot. Fun characters. Good banter. By no means perfect but perfectly enjoyable.

posted by Vanguard-TM on January 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    Good read

    I picked this up so I would have something to read while I wait for the next books in several other series I have been reading to come out. This is very well written, has good flow, interesting story & likeable characters. I think I have just found a new series to read while I am waiting for the next books in other series to come out. I plan to continue reading this series as more books are released, I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of writing and story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Sword & Sorcery Fun

    If you're looking for a fun light fantasy series, if you're a fan of the sword and sorcery pulp era, or if you grew up reading the serial books of Dragonlance or Forgotten Realms give this book a shot. Fun characters. Good banter. By no means perfect but perfectly enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2014

    Fair

    I was a little disappointed in this book, to be honest. The cover seemed really cool and even the prologue had me excited for more. I had just read the Gentleman Bastard series by Scott Lynch and was looking forward to reading more ridiculous thieving escapades. This book though did not satisfy that desire. It was overly simplistic- it pretty much laid out the plot, characters, action, etc. for you in a very straightforward manner. There was no depth and no reading between the lines. While that may have satisfied me as a reader in middle school or high school, I want something with more complexity. I read only half of this book before deciding I would rather not waste my time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    This book was difficult to like at first. There was very little

    This book was difficult to like at first. There was very little background story on the main characters and the sequence of events did not flow together very well. It was in part two that things began making some sense. The main characters were finally given some depth and the story line became clear and more developed. The second part of the book was thankfully different from the first part of the book. The writing was much better. The story much better. The second part of the book is what makes you want to read the next book in the series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    good plot

    affable characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Started slow...but ended with a bang

    I began to read this a month ago because I needed a change of pace, but got sidetracked with writing. Finally I was able to pick this back up this week and I am glad I finished it.

    I liked how this book was structured. It was almost two books in one. The first story was the setup to introduce the characters and the world...and what would be the overall theme and story line, while the second part built on that story and also told some side tales. But all of them added to the tale. It was a bit jarring at first to realize that you were basically reading to full and complete stories in one book, that could be read alone if wanted, but it worked out since using this format, one could skip ahead a good bit in the story easily.

    I admit to liking the second half of the book better I felt that the writer really found this groove then and everything was smoother and the characters seemed more real and fleshed out. I also liked how he is slowly building the mystery of who exactly Royce and Hadrian are because I know there is more to them, even more than the revelations already told...giving little teases here and there, but not giving it all away. Some I guessed, of course. Now if only to figure out the heir....

    Overall....I enjoyed this a lot. The world building was great and I like the two main guys a lot. One other upside...so far...I like the ladies as well. I t is hard to find some well written ladies in fantasy. I celebrate when I do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Run of the mill fantasy

    I'm beginning to suspect that some of these anonymous reviews are plants. The writing is serviceable, but after nine chapters that's the bright spot. The plot, setting, and characters are a mess of tired fantasy cliches. The villains' plans are needlessly convoluted, but fortunately the characters see fit to keep the reader informed with pages of windy and awkward exposition at every plot point. And I cringe every time I read the collective name of the heroes. I can understand having a corporate identity, or a street name; but why would two street-hardened thugs invent a ridiculous and meaningless word that, from the spelling, is almost unpronounceable? (Dawg, true thugs be hard fo shizzle. Hmm.) I like how the other characters take special care to point out that the thieves "call themselves" Ryiria or whatever; it's as if they're saying, "Don't blame me for the name, I think it's ridiculous too."

    I'm going to finish it to see what my five bucks have purchased, but I can't help but feel that the author is making fun of me for reading it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1