Customer Reviews for

Their Eyes Were Watching God

Average Rating 4
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

I enjoyed it.

This is one of the most memorable books I think I've read so far. I was only around the age of 13 when my sister lended me the book, and 2 years later I'm still able to look back at the characters and the way it touched me.Some parts of the book were very challenging es...
This is one of the most memorable books I think I've read so far. I was only around the age of 13 when my sister lended me the book, and 2 years later I'm still able to look back at the characters and the way it touched me.Some parts of the book were very challenging especially for my intellect at the time, but I would still reccomend this book to anyone who wants to learn about things in the past. I read it once and I'm looking forward to reading it again...

posted by Talysia on January 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This book is horriblle

this book is very very bad. almost anything you could possibly buy would be better than this book.

posted by Anonymous on November 12, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I enjoyed it.

    This is one of the most memorable books I think I've read so far. I was only around the age of 13 when my sister lended me the book, and 2 years later I'm still able to look back at the characters and the way it touched me.Some parts of the book were very challenging especially for my intellect at the time, but I would still reccomend this book to anyone who wants to learn about things in the past. I read it once and I'm looking forward to reading it again...

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2000

    Outstanding

    Ships at a distances has every man wishing aboard. What a fantastic way to use imagery! Words that have stuck out in my mind for about 5 years. This book has many themes that people of all races can relate to.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2003

    Embarassment to Women Everywhere

    This is the most god awful book I've ever read. The submissiveness of Janie is disgusting, it is impossible for her to stand on her own two feet. This book is pointless, and it's only plot is a woman who keeps finding other men to run to after her marriages crumble as an escape route from her current town

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2000

    This book is horriblle

    this book is very very bad. almost anything you could possibly buy would be better than this book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2003

    hurstons 'their eyes were watching god'

    I would just like to say this is one of the worst books i have every read;however i have to continue reading untill i'm completely finsihed because this book is for my english class. my advice is to stay away from this book. DEFINETY NOT A EASY READ!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2000

    Best novel I've read

    Their Eyes.....was the best novel that I've read throughout highschool. I like the way Zora symbotically describes love and men throughout the novel to the ways of nature.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    UGH! I remember reading this in High School! It was AWFUL! My En

    UGH! I remember reading this in High School! It was AWFUL! My English teacher even hated it! She just read it because it was part of the curriculum. Don't read this! Janie is just an idiot looking for a guy to "love".
    I don't want to spoil part of the end, but it was dumb and her fault. Just saying. It's true

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    abridged version

    Be sure to note that this is an abridged version of the text and not the complete work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2006

    True Love

    I really enjoyed reading this book. It taught me the value of love and the true mean of it. This book just shows that you can't buy or love or just learn to love someone that you are put with. You can only love someone when it is true love. Janie spends her whole life looking for love and then when she finally finds it she ends up still sad and alone at the end of the story. I think that this story can teach anyone the true meaning of love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2006

    My review on this great book.

    Their Eyes were watching God is the story of Janie Crawford¿s search for love. The author begins the novel with the end. In the first pages Janie returns to her hometown Eatonville after two years of absence. Janie tells her story to her friend Pheoby Watson. Janie tells Pheoby how she searched for love through three different men that she married. Her first husband was Logan Killicks, an old potato farmer, who Janie¿s grandmother believed offered security. Janie¿s second marriage, with Joe Starks, lasted twenty years and brought her wealth, but Joe¿s priority was money and power. He had no idea of Janie¿s simple wish to be respected and loved. Janie¿s third husband was Tea Cake, a migrant worker twelve years younger than her. As a youngster Janie dreamed of love and wondered whether love would come with marriage. Over twenty years and three marriages Janie experiences both love and personal growth. I loved Janie¿s dreamy ways in her story, and I was delighted to discover how Janie finally found what it was like¿to love and to be loved. My favorite part of Their Eyes Were Watching God is that Zora Neale Hurston wrote in language dialect. The dialect gets readers into the characters and makes the story seem more real. The reading is hard in the beginning but once I became accustomed to the style, it was easy to follow. I highly recommend this book for young women because it has a strong message of Independence and love. It¿s good to learn from these kinds of experiences.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2006

    An outstanding story

    Their Eyes Were Watching God was one of the best books that I've ever read. The book answered a lot of questions about life. We are faced with several conflicts in humanity with choices having to be made between Love, Good, Evil, Hope or reality, and Truth. It is a story about Janie, a young black woman, who tries to find herself through her grandmother's footsteps and eventually confronts herself to become the person she knows is of her own good. Taken along the memory lane in a small southern black town, 'Their Eyes were Watching God' is a beautiful portrayal of the conflicts confronting Janie, not only about herself but also about how her society perceives her. Through an amazing creativity in characters, plot development, excellent narrative, lessons and dialogues and an easy ride through time, Zora successful made the reader to understand and appreciate black culture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2006

    Not very good

    In my opinion, this is a boring book. The two main topics it addresses, race and love, are extremely cliche, and therefore boring. The only part somewhat entertaining was the part when Janie lived in the town with Jodie. Some funny parts here, but they quickly dissolved into meaningless mush once again. There is nothing new, interesting, or relevent to be found here. Avoid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2006

    The best novel I have ever read!

    ¿Now love is like the sea, always moving and different on every shore.¿ (Taken from Their Eyes Were Watching God, this quote was said by Janie Crawford.) Zora Neale Hurston takes readers through life of Janie Crawford, the protagonist. Symbolically, during her troubling moments, Janie `watches God¿ while lying in the blue, cool water and staring into the deep, cloudy sky. She is a young, beautiful, and confused woman who searches her whole life for true love. Hurston follows Janie from ¿her nanny¿s plantation shack to Logan Killick¿s farm, to all-Black Eatonville, to the Everglades, and back to Eatonville¿. Along the way, Janie Crawford ¿learns what love is, experiences life¿s joys and sorrows, and comes home in peace to herself.¿ The author of this novel includes southern dialect in this story, which makes it hard to understand. Even though, I had to read over and over this dialect, it made the story interesting. It puts the reader in that time and helps the person understand the story better, which is why I liked the southern dialect. I mostly enjoyed Hurston¿s writing style. She made me want to think about what I was reading not just read something and not concentrate. This novel also taught me a great lesson about love. It taught me that I person could have all the material things they wanted, but not be truly happy because they do not have love. I would really recommend this book to everyone, especially women. It is by far the best novel I have ever read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2005

    'Loved It'

    I loved this book. I believe everywoman in the world has a little Janie in them. My favorite part of the book was the burning of the headrags. She had a newfound freedom. Finally realizing that she was free to do as she wanted. At first i didn't know what the mule had to do with the story until a College Professor helped me out. How it is symbolic. It is Janie. Working and never being free to do as the others. All in all it was a good book and i suggest everyone read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2005

    Their Eyes Were Watching God¿

    This is a story of a black woman, Janie, trying to find her place and purpose in the world. As Janie tells her friend her life story, full of both happy tales and sad ones, we are shown how she changes from a wistful child, to `one man¿s mule,¿ to a possession of yet another, and finally to a woman who knows where she stands. Zora Neale Hurston, the author of this book, writes using slang which draws us deeper and deeper into the setting of the book. Although at first it took a while (for me anyway) to figure out exactly what was being said (having to sound out each word as I read), I quickly fell in step with all of the `den¿s (then) and `dat¿s (that), thoroughly enjoying the southern jargon. Over all, I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I enjoyed both the historical aspect (life for blacks in the south after slavery) and the story line itself. Historically, the book takes place sometime after the end of the Civil War. Janie and Jody (her second husband) take off to create the first town of only blacks. It was interesting to see a glimpse of this era from this perspective. I would heartily recommend this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2005

    a dramatic, dragged out novel

    The novel ' There Eyes Were Watching God' is overall a good book. There are times during novel which are dragged out and can become boring. Although other critics believe the main character, Janie, was a strong, independent woman, I feel that she was undecisive and sometimes cruel. The novel covered all the emotions such as happy, sad, pain, and loss which was an advantage that helped the novel have more adventure. I feel the novel was blurry and not well written, and did not have a high climax. Although there are many weak points during the novel, it does have good morals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2005

    'Love vs. Happiness?'

    Hurtson has an interesting way of writing. In Their Eyes Were Watching God ,Hurston wanted the reader to understand Janie's life. She wanted the reader to take the life changing journey with Janie. The southern dialect in this book made the readers mind go to another level. Reading this book cause me to have a better outlook on love, life and happiness. Janie found herself in love alot but she never new happiness until she found it.Janie never traveled this journey alone, and her eyes never stop watching God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2005

    Off-Tha-Chain!!!! READ IT!!

    Okay,for the most part, I dont like reading, but this book TRULY takes you somewhere and not just through a women's journey for love and acceptance but everyday human experiences throughout life. I LOVE THIS BOOK!! READ IT!! I know you'll enjoy it too!! =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2005

    True Meaning of Love

    Great novel. I really enjoyed the very detailed life it accomplishes to show of black america and how they lived. Very good!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2005

    Great Afican-American novel

    This book was excellent! When you get past the thick soutern dialect, it's actually a beautiful book. Mrs. Hurston uses all the right words to tell her story. A wonderful love-story and an even better coming-of-age story.10 stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6