Customer Reviews for

Then Again

Average Rating 3.5
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A great read

Diane has written a loving tribute to her extraordinary mother. For all of us who have also been fortunate enough to be raised by outstanding women - this is a must read book. Her mother's pride and love for the Hall family is sweet and tender. I loved this book.

posted by 454981 on December 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A re-visit with our mothers, Diane, thanks for collecting/and putting into words

Diane, Diane, I can relate to this book; i've been laughing and crying. Its thanksgivingweekend and "The godFather" has been showing on A&E; I'm enjoying it even more with your character "Kay"; it's fun to know what you were thinking when u played that part. Thanks for ...
Diane, Diane, I can relate to this book; i've been laughing and crying. Its thanksgivingweekend and "The godFather" has been showing on A&E; I'm enjoying it even more with your character "Kay"; it's fun to know what you were thinking when u played that part. Thanks for sharing your wonderful family / and your way of deciding to live your life the way we all wanted to live. Our mothers (greatest generation) had their own views of what a daughter should be; and you did it your way and I wish to heck I had a friend like you to guide me to do it my own way. Only the best for you; and PS: I love your style of dress and i'm trying to copy. I know "Chico's will get more busines with your wonderful pics. :)

posted by abbyesi on November 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted November 25, 2011

    A re-visit with our mothers, Diane, thanks for collecting/and putting into words

    Diane, Diane, I can relate to this book; i've been laughing and crying. Its thanksgivingweekend and "The godFather" has been showing on A&E; I'm enjoying it even more with your character "Kay"; it's fun to know what you were thinking when u played that part. Thanks for sharing your wonderful family / and your way of deciding to live your life the way we all wanted to live. Our mothers (greatest generation) had their own views of what a daughter should be; and you did it your way and I wish to heck I had a friend like you to guide me to do it my own way. Only the best for you; and PS: I love your style of dress and i'm trying to copy. I know "Chico's will get more busines with your wonderful pics. :)

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    A great read

    Diane has written a loving tribute to her extraordinary mother. For all of us who have also been fortunate enough to be raised by outstanding women - this is a must read book. Her mother's pride and love for the Hall family is sweet and tender. I loved this book.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    Although I like Diane Keaton, the book was pretty much nothing..

    Although I like Diane Keaton, the book was pretty much nothing....I read it in about 30 minutes and was pretty bored by it.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Average read

    This book was not as good as I expected it to be from the opening pages. I would recommend buying this if you want to read about aging, loss, and grieving.

    What this book is severely lacking is perspective. Diane's memoir, though at times honest and revealing, is a collection of cluttered thoughts, without really any insight on her life and the people who lived in it. She reveals a lot about herself and her life without seeming to have gained any understanding from living it. There was the occassional insightful quote, but often it felt like I was reading a 12 year old's diary. In fact, far from getting any value or insight, at times, I, as a reader, felt like reaching out through the pages to advise her on how to deal with all her problems. The writing was average at best, and several parts were a strain to get through.

    The parts I really liked were the direct quotes from her mother's journals. I wish she had fulfilled her lifelong dream of becoming a writer. It's great that her daughter was able to bring her words to the public, but Diane and Dorothy's story had much more potential than was realized in this book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Not for everyone - but resonated with me!

    I was expecting a lot of comedy like her movies, but this is really a poignant look at hers and her mother's lives through journal type writing. Diane included many of the writings of her mother, and then told her own story through journals, too. The fact that her mother died on September 18th (same day my mother died) and that she chronicles her mother's Alzheimer journey (my dad's journey has begun) the book's honesty has helped me. I'm glad I read it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Couldn't put it down

    Wow... so glad I chose this book. Diane has been one of my favorites over the years. I love her honesty and openness. Thanks for sharing & putting words to so many of my own feelings about life, relationships, love & loss.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Diane, you're a genius; it has taken you many years to begin to

    Diane, you're a genius; it has taken you many years to begin to understand our purpose, and the meaning of our existence in this world. Thanks for sharing lessons learned in this wonderful book. I will they to implement them into my life. I'm sure I'll be re-reading certain passages to refresh my self on what really matters. You wrote this book as a tribute to your Mom, a thank you to your Dad , and a way of  speaking to you future to you children later, from the THEN. THANS FOR SAHARING WITH THE REST OF US.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Enjoyable!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Can not stop reading...

    There is something I love about this book and I think it is the word "real".

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Very insightful. I couldn't put this down. LOVED IT

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great read

    This was a great book

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Not What I Expected

    I love Diane Keaton so I was curious about her book. It's more a story about the relationship with her mother and the similarities between her life and her mother's, than a straight autobiography.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    The book is Diane Keaton at her best. She is honest, intelligen

    The book is Diane Keaton at her best. She is honest, intelligent and somewhat scattered. She writes about herself but it is not in a self involved way as many actors do. Ms. Keaton weaves her mother's words with her own words. Her self doubts and wonderment when she becomes aware of things that have happened in her life and how it impacted upon her are enlightening. Her family comes across as very interesting people, normal but at times not so normal. Like most American families with a mother, father and siblings. They are very American in their outlook. Work hard and get ahead but still keep your dignity and sense of humor. All women over the over of 55 years old should read this book. It is about our lives and our families. This would be a good book for a book club. Lots of things to discuss, family, old and new loves, marriage, children and just life in general. Thank you Diane, you wrote a good book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Intelligent, Warm and Authentic

    Right from the beginning it's clear Keaton has benefited from her mother, Dorothy. This book is written in parts, has great pictures to accompany her story which couldn't be written without her mother's presence. The picture of Keaton and her children is one of the best. In the proceeding chapters there are examples from letters and journal entries-Dorothy was an avid journal writer. Keaton comes across as whom you might think she is; self-deprecating and creative. From designing her own clothes early on; her own struggles with self-esteem and the stories about her co-stars, Al Pacino, Warren Beauty to name only a few this is as wonderful as I had hoped for. The cover shot sums up Keaton gorgeously.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I didn't like Diane Keaton as an actress before I read this book, but found she has a rich creative and family life that I really enjoyed reading about and recommend it. Her retelling of her mother's illness was especially poignant to anyone who has been through that with a loved one and instructive to those who have not.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    Pure Diane Keaton:  lovable, quirky, a little scattered and comp

    Pure Diane Keaton:  lovable, quirky, a little scattered and completely enchanting.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    The best book ive read

    Its amazeing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Read only if you are a Diane Keaton fan.

    Book is a combination of Diane's story and that of her Mom's. I makes for interesting reading, however, I am only halfway through it and it is slow going.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Think Again

    Great Book to read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    Diane or her Mother???

    Over 1/2 way thru was more about her mother than Diane..... disappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5