Customer Reviews for

Then Came You

Average Rating 3.5
( 1029 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(311)

4 Star

(260)

3 Star

(210)

2 Star

(95)

1 Star

(153)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Characters are both humorous and heartwarming

What can be said about this wonderful book? There aren't enough adjectives in the English language to laud Ms. Weiner's latest work. This is the ultimate love story with many different stories included. Here's just a few 'for instances' - you will have to make your own ...
What can be said about this wonderful book? There aren't enough adjectives in the English language to laud Ms. Weiner's latest work. This is the ultimate love story with many different stories included. Here's just a few 'for instances' - you will have to make your own decisions. First, we have Julia Strauss (Jules). When the story opens she is a senior at Princeton. A scholarship student who loves to take the bus to the Mall and have lunch all by herself. She knows that her classmates, as rich as most of them are, would never take the bus anywhere. She has many acquaintances in her classes but no friends, and she is unable to ask her parents for advice. Her dad is a drug addict who has left the family and moved in with someone else and her mom and brother are okay but, she doesn't see them very often. She decides to sell her eggs to a fertility clinic to raise money to help her father get off drugs and lead a normal life. Second, Annie Barrow. Annie is a married woman with two small children. Her husband, Frank, is working security at the airport and is taking classes to become an airplane mechanic. The Airline business is not in very good shape at the moment and Annie and Frank are struggling to make ends meet. She thinks that she will be able to make extra money by becoming a surrogate mother to an infertile couple who want a child. Third, India Bishop. India has had quite a life moving from place to place and finally ending up in New York City. She has changed her name and her face and figure and taken off at least five years of her age when she meets an older man, Marcus Croft, who is rich beyond all her expectations. He has three grown children who are not too happy about these plans but, are not able to do anything about it at the moment. She thinks that if they are able to have a child things will be AOK. But, she has not had any luck carrying a child to term so they decide to find a surrogate. Now, you must see where the author is going with this storyline. This story is so sad and funny at the same time when everyone's plans go south that you'll wonder if it will all turn out all right. Quill Says: This author is so fantastic. She makes these characters seem both humorous and heartwarming at the same time. Readers will love and hate almost everyone in the book. Readers will also think that they have met all of these people; they are so real. Run out and pick up this book, you won't be sorry.

posted by FeatheredQuillBookReviews on July 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Just okay

I am a huge fan of Jennifer Weiner. I especially loved Good in Bed, In Her Shoes and Best Friends Forever. I'm sad to admit that I didn't love this novel as much as I hoped I would. I didn't hate it, I just felt like I couldn't get close to the characters. Typically in ...
I am a huge fan of Jennifer Weiner. I especially loved Good in Bed, In Her Shoes and Best Friends Forever. I'm sad to admit that I didn't love this novel as much as I hoped I would. I didn't hate it, I just felt like I couldn't get close to the characters. Typically in all of her past books I was able to connect with the main character and route for them the whole way, but I didn't really care about any of these women. I liked the concept, and there was plenty of humor to go along with the drama, but overall the book just didn't quite click with me. This is a good beach read, and I would recommend it to any fans of the author. If you've never read a book by her, I would suggest checking out one of the other books I mentioned earlier in the post.

(Review copy courtesy of the publisher via Simon & Schuster GalleyGrab)

posted by OtotheD on June 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1030 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 52
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Characters are both humorous and heartwarming

    What can be said about this wonderful book? There aren't enough adjectives in the English language to laud Ms. Weiner's latest work. This is the ultimate love story with many different stories included. Here's just a few 'for instances' - you will have to make your own decisions. First, we have Julia Strauss (Jules). When the story opens she is a senior at Princeton. A scholarship student who loves to take the bus to the Mall and have lunch all by herself. She knows that her classmates, as rich as most of them are, would never take the bus anywhere. She has many acquaintances in her classes but no friends, and she is unable to ask her parents for advice. Her dad is a drug addict who has left the family and moved in with someone else and her mom and brother are okay but, she doesn't see them very often. She decides to sell her eggs to a fertility clinic to raise money to help her father get off drugs and lead a normal life. Second, Annie Barrow. Annie is a married woman with two small children. Her husband, Frank, is working security at the airport and is taking classes to become an airplane mechanic. The Airline business is not in very good shape at the moment and Annie and Frank are struggling to make ends meet. She thinks that she will be able to make extra money by becoming a surrogate mother to an infertile couple who want a child. Third, India Bishop. India has had quite a life moving from place to place and finally ending up in New York City. She has changed her name and her face and figure and taken off at least five years of her age when she meets an older man, Marcus Croft, who is rich beyond all her expectations. He has three grown children who are not too happy about these plans but, are not able to do anything about it at the moment. She thinks that if they are able to have a child things will be AOK. But, she has not had any luck carrying a child to term so they decide to find a surrogate. Now, you must see where the author is going with this storyline. This story is so sad and funny at the same time when everyone's plans go south that you'll wonder if it will all turn out all right. Quill Says: This author is so fantastic. She makes these characters seem both humorous and heartwarming at the same time. Readers will love and hate almost everyone in the book. Readers will also think that they have met all of these people; they are so real. Run out and pick up this book, you won't be sorry.

    23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic

    I loved reading this book. It has a story that will keep you entertained for hours.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    Just okay

    I am a huge fan of Jennifer Weiner. I especially loved Good in Bed, In Her Shoes and Best Friends Forever. I'm sad to admit that I didn't love this novel as much as I hoped I would. I didn't hate it, I just felt like I couldn't get close to the characters. Typically in all of her past books I was able to connect with the main character and route for them the whole way, but I didn't really care about any of these women. I liked the concept, and there was plenty of humor to go along with the drama, but overall the book just didn't quite click with me. This is a good beach read, and I would recommend it to any fans of the author. If you've never read a book by her, I would suggest checking out one of the other books I mentioned earlier in the post.

    (Review copy courtesy of the publisher via Simon & Schuster GalleyGrab)

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed!

    I usually enjoy reading Jennifer Weiner. However this new book, written in conjunction with the author writing for a sitcom, was so disappointing. Too many characters, too many shifts in point of view, and too little connection with the characters. There were times where I had to look at the chapter heading and think-Which character is this? Not a good thing. I think the main problem is that the characters didn't have a distinct voice. They all sounded alike. I had little empathy for any of them and felt some of a cliche. In addition, there was a lot of back story shoved into the character's chapters--this slowed the pacing down and I found I was skipping paragraphs altogether. Sorry, Jennifer, this was a miss for me.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Kritters Ramblings

    Another great story by Jennifer Weiner. A story with women at the center and the issue of bearing child - whether the inability or the women who help those who can't, I felt that this book was a great tribute to how women can create communities with very little in common. With each chapter based on a different character - it was easy and enjoyable to get to know each one and then see their stories mix and mingle.

    A topic that is still working on becoming acceptable as conservation - infertility and everything that is involved in it. Suragocy, egg donation and the inability to have children is the center of each of these women's stories and I have always be intrigued by this subject that women have to deal with it on a daily basis. Some women worry that their significant other may leave them if they can't have children and some have worries when it comes to trying to help. I think this is a topic that we should continue to talk about because with each conversation the stigma will slowly diminish and women can feel more confidant in the decisions that they may have to make to create a family.

    Without spoiling too much, there was one part of the book that my conservative friends and followers may not be too keen on. If you are one of those - please keep reading, the whole of the story is way more impactful while bypassing one part.

    Another bestseller from Jennifer Weiner that will be enjoyed by women of all ages.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    Did not appreciate BN downloading sample to my Nook

    this showed up on my Nook without my consent. is my Nook secure from hackers?

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Loved it

    I truly enjoyed this book, really couldn't put it down! Well written and the characters are wonderful.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Please read this

    I have only read the smple so far but i have already decided that i am going to buy this book. Mainly because it is not suger-coated and tells life how it really is.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it

    i enjoyed reading this one. I won't spoil the plot, but will only say it will keep you interested all the time.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Great book!

    Great book. Loved it. Just couldnt put it down, so good. I loved India's character the best. She had a horrible childhood but she made up for it through her love for her daughter! Loved the way the author bought u into the lives of each character.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Depressing

    I'm conflicted by this book. While it is a well-written page turner, it tries too hard to push the limits of every awkward family scenario imaginable. And the storylines were so heavy and sad as Weiner wove these women's lives together. In the end, for me, it felt forced and overly contrived.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Then came you

    This book is great ! :D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Highly recomened read for females ages 13+

    Captavates a girl based audience

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Then came you

    Then came you is a stupendus book with fascinating kids and their stories. This book seized my attention and I felt like I could never stop! So if you are looking for a book that may just make you never stop,this is the book for you

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Reviewer

    Amazing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Interesting and creatively written.

    Great novel based lightly on true story. Neat how author intertwines her characters. This story keeps you wondering and captivated.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Raven

    Good book

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Igdjdgfhxrhykgkfgrjdg

    Cghdcfsfcgrcsjrhscsctytfwrdhegrfwgejfcdgsjehrbsvdhrvrg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    SUCKS

    Hey I love a lot of things one direction justin bieber death cloud were we are spegetti nachos nandos mcdonald but this book I hate I even forgot why I got it I was only like nine at the time so I don't know what made me want it stupid having to put a star 0 stars is what it deserves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Ry

    ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1030 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 52