Customer Reviews for

Then Came You

Average Rating 3.5
( 1030 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(311)

4 Star

(260)

3 Star

(211)

2 Star

(95)

1 Star

(153)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Characters are both humorous and heartwarming

What can be said about this wonderful book? There aren't enough adjectives in the English language to laud Ms. Weiner's latest work. This is the ultimate love story with many different stories included. Here's just a few 'for instances' - you will have to make your own ...
What can be said about this wonderful book? There aren't enough adjectives in the English language to laud Ms. Weiner's latest work. This is the ultimate love story with many different stories included. Here's just a few 'for instances' - you will have to make your own decisions. First, we have Julia Strauss (Jules). When the story opens she is a senior at Princeton. A scholarship student who loves to take the bus to the Mall and have lunch all by herself. She knows that her classmates, as rich as most of them are, would never take the bus anywhere. She has many acquaintances in her classes but no friends, and she is unable to ask her parents for advice. Her dad is a drug addict who has left the family and moved in with someone else and her mom and brother are okay but, she doesn't see them very often. She decides to sell her eggs to a fertility clinic to raise money to help her father get off drugs and lead a normal life. Second, Annie Barrow. Annie is a married woman with two small children. Her husband, Frank, is working security at the airport and is taking classes to become an airplane mechanic. The Airline business is not in very good shape at the moment and Annie and Frank are struggling to make ends meet. She thinks that she will be able to make extra money by becoming a surrogate mother to an infertile couple who want a child. Third, India Bishop. India has had quite a life moving from place to place and finally ending up in New York City. She has changed her name and her face and figure and taken off at least five years of her age when she meets an older man, Marcus Croft, who is rich beyond all her expectations. He has three grown children who are not too happy about these plans but, are not able to do anything about it at the moment. She thinks that if they are able to have a child things will be AOK. But, she has not had any luck carrying a child to term so they decide to find a surrogate. Now, you must see where the author is going with this storyline. This story is so sad and funny at the same time when everyone's plans go south that you'll wonder if it will all turn out all right. Quill Says: This author is so fantastic. She makes these characters seem both humorous and heartwarming at the same time. Readers will love and hate almost everyone in the book. Readers will also think that they have met all of these people; they are so real. Run out and pick up this book, you won't be sorry.

posted by FeatheredQuillBookReviews on July 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Just okay

I am a huge fan of Jennifer Weiner. I especially loved Good in Bed, In Her Shoes and Best Friends Forever. I'm sad to admit that I didn't love this novel as much as I hoped I would. I didn't hate it, I just felt like I couldn't get close to the characters. Typically in ...
I am a huge fan of Jennifer Weiner. I especially loved Good in Bed, In Her Shoes and Best Friends Forever. I'm sad to admit that I didn't love this novel as much as I hoped I would. I didn't hate it, I just felt like I couldn't get close to the characters. Typically in all of her past books I was able to connect with the main character and route for them the whole way, but I didn't really care about any of these women. I liked the concept, and there was plenty of humor to go along with the drama, but overall the book just didn't quite click with me. This is a good beach read, and I would recommend it to any fans of the author. If you've never read a book by her, I would suggest checking out one of the other books I mentioned earlier in the post.

(Review copy courtesy of the publisher via Simon & Schuster GalleyGrab)

posted by OtotheD on June 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 211 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    Just okay

    I am a huge fan of Jennifer Weiner. I especially loved Good in Bed, In Her Shoes and Best Friends Forever. I'm sad to admit that I didn't love this novel as much as I hoped I would. I didn't hate it, I just felt like I couldn't get close to the characters. Typically in all of her past books I was able to connect with the main character and route for them the whole way, but I didn't really care about any of these women. I liked the concept, and there was plenty of humor to go along with the drama, but overall the book just didn't quite click with me. This is a good beach read, and I would recommend it to any fans of the author. If you've never read a book by her, I would suggest checking out one of the other books I mentioned earlier in the post.

    (Review copy courtesy of the publisher via Simon & Schuster GalleyGrab)

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    .......

    It was an okay book by the limit...other wise it could have been better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Romances

    I read some of this and just from the begginingit ws wonderful what a gret romace story hope i get the rest

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Okay

    It was alright, the transistioning if characters was a bit annoying, however.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2012

    Then Came You

    It was an ok book. It was a little on the sad side. It does have a happy ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2012

    3 1/2 stars. Liked the story structure.

    What I liked most about the book was the alternating viewpoints, each chapter was from a different character. From this, the readers saw the whole story. What many people don't spend too much time thinking about, the topic of surrogates, becomes a complex topic involving and affecting so many people. We see the problems, the choices, the consequences. Although I think the topic of discussion and structure of the book are interesting, I find myself not caring much about any of the characters. I didn't become attached or felt like I was there. Some things were predictable and others wrapped up too well. I think there are too many things going on between four separate lives that though the book does a good job of covering and trying to give depth to each life and tying everything together, I still find myself at the end detached and merely reading a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Depressing at times then thrilling at orhers. ?!

    Then came you senmed very depessing and th tone never lightened. Oh and dont even get me started on El ANNOYING Bettina. oh im Bettina im better than you India. Oh yeah Bettina maybe its none of your businness because people try to have privact then you go and hire detetives! Its none of your businnesa. Bettina always looks at others condesendingly and never takes one for the team. Jules was awesome. She thought about others first she would of threw herself in frint ofva bus for a stranger.
    Sweet and loving Annie only wants to help her loved ones but all they do is throw her down and stomp on her baxk for all shes done for them...

    --Pinacaladas

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    ?

    Idk wat to say23%$%&;-,:":%*&$':/-42$;-

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    I read it because it was Jennifer Weiner. I finished it because

    I read it because it was Jennifer Weiner. I finished it because it was Jennifer Weiner. I am writing a review because it was Jennifer Weiner and I will say I liked it because it was Jennifer Weiner. But I was disappointed because it was Jennifer Weiner. I like a central character, even two. But there were too many here in this one, and while the premise had potential, it wasn't enough for me to feel good after I closed the book. But of course I will continue to read anything by Jennifer Weiner...just because.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Bad

    Bad

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    TERRIBLE

    The book is terrible

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Do not read this u will waste ur timebfjfjnfjfhghgjghghgt fhfdjejejeeejehehehegegegegdgfhfhfhhfhhrhhjdfvfbhdhehhdehebfbfddhhrhhrhfhfhffhddfnrjejdzsd

    Cccccccccccc

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Wow i like it so far i am eleven years old

    I like the book so far i agrie that littler kids should not read it but older kids like me i do not know why peple do not like this book i am reading the review because i do not have the book i am reading a nother book called how not to be a wimpy kid you should try it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Just Okay

    This book was just okay. Initially I liked it and felt it was a book I could really get into, but the story lines sort of puttered out and fizzled. The ending felt abrupt and glossed over everything. It was totally improbable that everything would just fall into place so neatly at the end. I didn't love the book, but it wasn't bad either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Answer to "hepl!" And my own reveiw

    Nah if i were personally you i would likely wait till you thought about 'motherhood'. Or waited, as you being thirteen, maybe untill the higher teens. Meanwhile keep yourself distracted by a trilogy like my bookshelf worthy favorite 'Lord Of The Rings'! But all the same this book isnt so bad. Twas well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Then came u is a good book to read it .

    Then cam hf is haoiloux i lojvf irt.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Buffalo soldiers

    Buffalo soldier

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    "What was I reading again?"

    The actual reading is good, but it's too easy for me to get caught up in the words instead of tht story. After reading the sample, I said to myself, "Wait what was I reading about?" The way she presents the story is good and captivating and also somewhat comforting. But I personally don't want to keep reading something that I forgot the point of about 1/10th of the way through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Yo wats up

    Iveonky read like the sample and iys kinda wierd and it was awkward

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Janet elder

    Auther

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 211 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11