Customer Reviews for

Then Came You (Animal Magnetism Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Jill Shalvis ROCKS! Then Came You and her Animal Magnetism serie

    Jill Shalvis ROCKS! Then Came You and her Animal Magnetism series are must-reads for any season.

    It’s always a happy day in my house when there is a new Jill Shalvis book to be read, but it’s a huge celebration when there is a new series to be enjoyed. Really. It. Is.

    Earlier this month I saw that Jill had a new title, Then Came You.

    I snapped it up! Yes, she’s one of my must-buy authors and after my mini-celebration, I settled back to begin reading. But then I realized that this was book five in her Animal Magnetism series and I hadn’t read the previous four titles. Oh my, now I was celebrating big-time.

    I know that Then Came You could be a stand-alone title, but why wouldn’t I want to read the four preceding stories and get the scoop on all the characters from Sunshine, Idaho. It’s Jill Shalvis. Small town romance. Humor to keep you laughing-out-loud for hours. Stories that center around animals, hunky vets, their family and friends. The question is not why would I read the four earlier titles, but why hadn’t I before! That situation was quickly remedied in one weekend.

    I flew through books one to four. Fell in love with a pet duck (Animal Magnetism). Emphasized with Jade, while rooting for Dell (Animal Attraction). Cried a bit with Holly and Adam (Rescue My Heart). And totally lost my heart to Tommy, Kate’s younger brother, in Rumor Has It.

    I felt like I had moved to Sunshine, Idaho, by the time I began reading book five, Then Came You. I think my golden retriever and four cats would like to visit Drs. Dell and Wyatt. Yes. I. Do. (And I wouldn’t mind seeing them myself!)

    Then Came You sets up that perfect oops moment when two people who never thought they’d see one another again wind up working together for a year.

    Yes, what happened in Reno didn’t stay in Reno. (Perhaps the vet conference should have been held in Las Vegas.) Veterinarian intern Emily arrives in Sunshine, Idaho, already out-of-sorts and literally counting the days till her year internship is finished. She had hoped for the more glamorous slot in LA, where she’d be tending star's teacup dogs, instead of getting down-in-the-dirt with livestock at a ranch.

    Her year only became harder when she realized Wyatt, her new boss, was her hook-up from Reno. They hadn’t exchanged last names. They didn’t intend seeing one another again. But it seems neither one could forget the other.

    I really enjoyed this story and thought Wyatt was almost perfect. Why? His two sisters had already trained him in most things woman related. Their interactions were wonderful as was Emily’s with her sister. As with Rumor Has It, the families were as central to this story as the main protagonists.

    Once again I found myself laughing-out-loud with situational humor that Shalvis writes so well. The pages also scorched my Kindle a bit as Emily and Wyatt’s relationship progressed. The Kleenex box came out at the end of the story, as it does quite often with Shalvis. She’s an author who knows how to give her readers an all-encompassing emotional ride, and have them line up eagerly for the next.

    I highly recommend the Jill Shalvis’ Animal Magnetism series and Then Came You. Jill Shalvis ROCKS!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Hott Synopsis: One night stands are supposed to stay one night

    Hott Synopsis:

    One night stands are supposed to stay one night – not become your boss.
    This could only happen to Emily. Emily graduated college even though her mom’s MS flared up right before she started. She managed to get her studies done while being her mother’s sole support and watching her dad & sister fritter away their lives. Now, her goals are based on what she can accomplish and how best to take care of them. Except for that one night…

    That one night that has come back to bite her – quite literally.

    Emily may have been required to take this job per her contract but she’s not planning to stay in the middle of nowhere! Wyatt may have been the most amazing night but she can – and will – keep her priorities straight! She needs to get back to LA to take care of her father who can’t seem to get a well paying job to save his life. She doesn’t have the luxury of deviating from her plan even for someone as mouthwatering as Wyatt.

    Hott Review of Then Came You:

    What I liked: I couldn’t put this book down! It was adorable. It was light & fun even with the mystery and heart-wrenching decisions. Jill Shalvis’ writing is downright fun!
    What I didn’t like: Lots of profanity and descriptive intimacy – it’s not overused or out of context it’s just there.

    More…

    Author: Jill Shalvis
    Source: NetGalley
    Grade: A+
    Steam: WOWSERS!
    Setting: Sunshine, Idaho
    Series: Animal Magnetism Series #5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Best

    I read this in paperback. One of the best love stories I have read. Wyatt was the most perfect hero in any book. How can you not love him? Emily, so insecure in herself. Could she make the right decision?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2014

    Another great book by Jill Shalvis! I love that I can pick up on

    Another great book by Jill Shalvis! I love that I can pick up one of her books and instantly fall in love with the story! She NEVER disappoints!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Jill Shalvis Then Came You is another winner in the Animal Magne

    Jill Shalvis Then Came You is another winner in the Animal Magnetism series.




    Veterinary intern Emily Stevens has to put in a year in small town Sunshine, Idaho.  It wasn’t her first choice by any means but you have to accept the hand you are dealt.  What she is having trouble accepting is her one night stand from Reno is now her new boss.  Emily is at a loss on what to do.




    Wyatt Stone is in charge of the new intern’s training he is shocked to find out its his one night stand from the Veterinary conference.  Wyatt has enough on his plate with living with his sisters, adding his attraction to Emily is a whole other can of worms.




    Emily and Wyatt try to be professional about it all but their chemistry is off the charts.  With Emily counting down the days till she leaves to go back to LA, they both know this attraction has an expiration date or does it?




    Then Came you is a all out heart felt, steamy story. It’s a gem to revisit past characters in this wonderful series.  Looking forward to any and all books by the talented Jill Shalvis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    Loved it!

    What fun! Vet meets Vet and sparks fly in Sunshine. A lovely story of a very busy Veterinarian Practice where love finds a foothold among the chaos. Two people who have some issues, but find a way
    to each other in spite of those issues. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    When Emily graduated from vet school she¿d dreamed of an interns

    When Emily graduated from vet school she’d dreamed of an internship in L.A, but unfortunately life has thrown her a curve ball. She’s ending up in Sunshine Idaho. Determined to make the best of it, Emily shows up at her job only to see the one guy she never thought she’d see again, her one night stand from a vet conference. To make matters worse, he’s her boss and there is still a smoking hot attraction between them. But staying in Sunshine isn’t in her plan, so it’s hands off. If only she could stick to that.

    When Wyatt sees Emily again, all he wants to do is touch her, hold her and get to know her. But she invokes a strictly business relationship with him. That is until she discovers she can’t keep her hands off of him. After a childhood of constant instability, Wyatt plans to put down deep roots in Sunshine. He’d love to include Emily in those plans, but she’s counting down the days until she can leave. So the only thing left to do is guard his heart and have a little fun while she’s there. But as Emily and Wyatt work together during the day and heat up the sheets at night, will either of them able to keep from falling in love?

    The newest novel in Jill Shalvis’ Animal Magnetism series, Then Came You, is sure to melt your heart and leave you craving more! The chemistry between Emily and Wyatt is simply delicious! I loved the way they tried and failed to keep their hands off each other. The love scenes are sure to leave you fanning yourself! I also liked Wyatt’s crazy sisters and the funny dynamic between them and Wyatt. Emily’s commitment to her family is endearing. I enjoyed the relationship between Emily and her sister Sara, their loyalty and openness to each other was pleasurable to read. As a sucker for stray animals, I also enjoyed how Emily and Sara kept taking in all the animals they found, including a turtle! The added suspense surrounding Emily’s neighbor gave the ending a bit of a twist that helped to add an additional layer to the storyline. Another highly entertaining novel from Jill Shalvis! I can’t wait to read more

    Rating: 5

    Heat Rating: Mild

    Reviewed by: AprilP

    Courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2014

    I wish I could review it

    I can't review Then Came You, because I purchased via Nook and have never been able to access the book. I was "helped" via Facebook once after being ignored or unable to connect with anyone via the B&N website. I have been a loyal customer for years, but over the last year and a half, both my local store and the online store have truly alienated me as a customer.

    So sorry to Jill Shalvis, I truly wish I could have read your latest release and reviewed it, but since B&N has not even bothered to reimburse me for my purchase I have been unable to purchase it in another form, or from another vender.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    Loved this book! Couldn't put it down!

    Loved this book! Couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    GREAT read!!!

    Can hardly wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    After reading my first Jill Shalvis book, which happened to be o

    After reading my first Jill Shalvis book, which happened to be one from her Animal Magnetism Series, I was hooked.  I loved her writing, her humor, the way she makes her characters be so personable and real.  Needless to say, I was so excited to be able to read Then Came You, her latest release in the Animal Magnetism Series, and I absolutely loved it.  Each book is a companion novel and can be read as a standalone, something else I really love.  




    We met Wyatt Stone in the previous novels, and I must say that he has quickly become one of my favorite male leads thus far.  Emily has graduated veterinarian school and finds herself doing an internship in beautiful Sunshine Idaho.  The only problem is that Sunshine Idaho isn't were she wanted to be.  She wanted to be in sunny California.  She has a plan for her life all mapped out and this isn't on it, so she is counting down the days until her year is up and she can get back to LA.  Wyatt is a vet at the Belle Haven Veterinary Clinic and also happens to wind up being Emily's supervisor for the next year.  They have a rather awkward moment when Emily arrives as they both recognize the other from their hot, steamy, and oh so memorable one-night-stand while at a conference in Reno.  That moment morphs into quite a hot one, which gets more awkward before it is over with, and very humorous.  Before everything is said and done, both Wyatt and Emily will have to decide what they mean to each other, and what they are willing to do for love.




    I loved Emily's character and was able to connect with her immediately.  She is funny, driven, caring, and simply a wonderful person who has had a really hard go of it, but just keeps on keeping on.  Wyatt is hot, sexy, and just to die for.  He's been burned in a recent relationship, so he struggles with commitment.  He is also an Alpha male all the way around, which he demonstrates on more than one encounter.  I loved watching their relationship develop and I loved the combination of steamy romance mixed with humor that will leave you grinning from ear to ear.  The story itself was captivating and I thoroughly enjoyed every page from beginning to end.  It was absolutely delightful




    If you haven't read a Jill Shalvis book yet, then pick this one up.  You will fall in love with both the book and with her, and I can guarantee you will want more from this author.  She's fabulous.  If you are a contemporary romance fan, Then Came You will leave you completely sated in every area with a smile on your face and on your heart.  Check it out. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2014

    I loved this book.  The story was very good, and the characters

    I loved this book.  The story was very good, and the characters Wyatt and Emily will make you laugh out loud and snicker.  The town of Sunshine is the same great place.  Yes the male characters very good looking, and yes very buff, but that to me is the icing on the cake their personalities make them real.  I know the total package makes you look but its the person behind the package that makes you want to get to know them.  The characters have flaws and they make them even more endearing.  This is a great addition to the Animal Magnetism series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2014

    Shalvis has written a gritty earthy novel in this Animal Magnet


    Shalvis has written a gritty earthy novel in this Animal Magnetism series. The

    love scenes made me quiver with anticipation while I was reading it. The banter

    between Emily and Wyatt was light and entertaining. As always, the secondary

    characters made the story deeper and led me to wondering who the next couple from

    this series would be.

    I love Jill's writing. Wouldn't it be awesome if authors were able to create new

    novels as quickly as we as readers were able

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2014

    This book was so good I didn't want to put it down! I joked that

    This book was so good I didn't want to put it down! I joked that it held me hostage! I like the Belle Haven Clinic and the characters. It is a fun book that I didn't want to end. I love Jill Shalvis. She is so funny and real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2014

    Way to go Jill. I am never disappointed. With every "Animal

    Way to go Jill. I am never disappointed. With every "Animal Magnestism" series installment, it gets harder to choose a favorite. This story of Emily and Wyatt tops the charts. Sexy, funny and a lot of chemistry made me want this book to never end. VET humor is hard to resist and these two are great together. A lot of character development for more in the series. This is now my new favorite. A MUST READ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Another winner from a gifted writer

    Jill Shalvis is truly a gifted storyteller. Her books grab me from the first line to the last line, and make me laugh and cry. I loved this book! I read in one sitting and eagerly await her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    "Then Came You" is now my all time favorite Shalvis st

    "Then Came You" is now my all time favorite Shalvis story!!  I love to read Jill's books since they always make me laugh
     and always end with the perfect HEA.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Ryas

    ((Sorry went to walmart)) why

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    This was a great story and I loved the characters.  Jill Shalvis

    This was a great story and I loved the characters.  Jill Shalvis continues to be one of my favorite authors.  She always has just the right mix of romance, humor, imperfect characters with a great supporting cast of characters. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2