Customer Reviews for

Then Sings My Soul Book 3: The Story of Our Songs: Drawing Strength from the Great Hymns of Our Faith

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 24, 2013

    I grew up in the church, and hymns were something I always loved

    I grew up in the church, and hymns were something I always loved. In fact, hymns are something that are somewhat "out of style" in most churches today, and I miss them a lot. This was like visiting a friend I hadn't seen in a while. I loved the history in the book, and I also loved the fact that each hymn was printed in the book with the music. I love reading the stories behind all these hymns. Some of them are well-known to me, and some are not. But all of the hymns were written to worship God within the church and even in one's personal devotional life.

    The book was very well-organized so that you can easily find the hymns you know and love. This book is set up very well for daily devotions. In fact, I do not recommend that you sit down to read this cover to cover. I tried to do that, and I felt overwhelmed. Read this story by story, and I believe that you will truly be encouraged in your Christian walk. I was most intrigued by the real story of "It Is Well With My Soul." I had never heard the entire story behind my favorite hymn, and now I know it. It makes the song even more meaningful to me. I highly recommend this song to anyone who loves the hymns or wishes to discover them. There is certain to be something that will resonate with you.

    I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Wolfpelt

    Well done, Thornkit!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    Then Sings My Soul-Book 3 by Robert J. Morgan is a very encourag

    Then Sings My Soul-Book 3 by Robert J. Morgan is a very encouraging devotional of hymns and the amazing stories behind them.
    I own both Book 1 and Book 3 and have enjoyed both immensely.
    The first part breaks down the history of hymnody, from the ancient to German all the way to our contemporary.
    Part Two chronologically goes through beautiful hymns from A.D. 100 to present day.
    Inspirational stories from long ago, hymns that are not so familiar to ones we know by heart.
    Beautifully covered and even includes the musical notes for every hymn, Then Sings My Soul-Book 3 is a beautiful addition to your inspirational library.

    I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    "Then Sings My Soul" by Robert J. Morgan presents the

    "Then Sings My Soul" by Robert J. Morgan presents the classic hymns of the faith in a magnificent two-thousand year repertoire of music in Christian hymnody that reverberates awesomely through the ages of time. By learning the splendid legacy of our past, we create a beautiful legacy for our future.

    All creation sings God's praise in a magnificent crescendo of sights and sounds.The Lord created us with an extraordinary capability for music and song. We are designed and destined to sing His glorious praises. "God lives in the praises of His people." Our spirits respond to God's truth in a musical form. Hymns are "distillations of the richest truths of God," "bursts of devotional richness,""portable units of praise," and "miniature Bible studies" that lead us to worship and praise God. Hymns have "an indestructible freshness and power." A hymnbook is one of "the richest fountains of edification."

    Sifting through the overarching heritage of our hymnody, we come to the root core of praise. The history of our hymnody is a rich and varied study of inspiring legacies, selfless heroes and astounding stories. The history of the church is recorded in her soul-stirring hymns while the story of Christianity can be read in its inspiring songs. Just like the well-gleaned promises of the Bible, a unique hymn is available for each particular need of ours, covering every single circumstance we will ever face in life.

    God loves music. He recorded a lot of it in the Bible. God loves it when His children sing His praises. Hymns and songs proclaim God's truth. God blesses people in every age and clime with the amazing ability to compose songs and music to glorify His Name in all the earth. God the Holy Spirit sings through the voice of His church. "When we sing to the Lord, it is the Holy Spirit welling up and overflowing in our hearts!" God is praised and honored when we sing to Him! To God alone be all the glory!

    © Miriam Jacob

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from THOMAS NELSON PUBLISHERS through the book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    I haven't read the first two books by Robert J. Morgan, but I th

    I haven't read the first two books by Robert J. Morgan, but I thoroughly enjoyed this installment. The paperback book is an in-depth look at hymns (but not nearly boring as that sounds...).
    I grew up amazed at the hymns we sang in church--how the music sounded, the words, the tingly feeling you got as you listened to people old and young, good singers and not-so-good singers, joining together to sing the hymns. I've never really thought too much about them, though, or their history.
    This book fills in some of those gaps, with history about the hymn. It also a discussion about the importance of the hymns.
    This is not the sort of book you'd just sit and read front to back (or maybe you would), as there is no edge-of-your-seat action to keep you going. But, it is perfect for daily reading, or rainy day reading (like today).
    I would recommend this book. (I received this book at no charge from Booksneeze in exchange for an honest review.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    I was excited to get the book in the first place, because I love

    I was excited to get the book in the first place, because I love the music of the church. However, when I received the book and opened it up, I was met with something that I wasn’t expecting at all. This book is amazingly rich in the format of diverse music types, from traditional to contemporary, and the history of such. It is set up as sort of a “history tour” of music in the church, starting back in David’s time and bringing us through the ages to the present. I found some hymns in this book that I have loved in the contemporary setting, and had no idea they dated back so far. I found myself engulfed in the richness of the music of the church, and my love for it has been deepened significantly.

    The description of the book from the publisher is this:

    "The long-awaited third installment! In 2003, Robert Morgan released what would become a future classic for over a million readers, a unique book entitled Then Sings My Soul. This collection of the world’s greatest hymns and the stories behind them stirred an entire generation to better understand the heritage of our faith through song.

    "Now, in the long-awaited third volume of this series, Morgan expands his material to include the great history of worship, the first biblical hymns, biographical sketches of the most interesting composers, and almost 60 generations of hymn singing. The new book also includes a collection of the greatest hymns you’ve never heard, with lead-sheets included.

    "All of this is in addition to even more standard hymns and the stories of the composers behind them.

    "Morgan’s conclusion guides the reader into enjoying all of God’s music, blending the old and the new into a symphony of praise that keeps the worship alive for a new generation."

    My review of this book is that it completely satisfies the description of the book, and then some. I really can’t say enough about how much I love this book. It is my first experience with the "Then Sings My Soul" Series, and I will definitely be purchasing the other two.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great song book with deeper meaning and piano key

    I really enjoyed this book by Robert Morgan. I have a binder of songs I love but this book includes some songs I would never have thought to add to my binder. The songs are beautiful and the history behind them make them all the more meaningful. I loved that Morgan gave a background and history because it deepens the appreciation for hymns and the lyrics on the songs. I feel like I am able to worship God with more heart after reading these backgrounds. The other great thing is that the songs come with a piano note key and so my sister who can play piano said that she could play some of the music for me! How exciting! I can't wait to try the songs to the music.

    I received this book free of charge from the publisher in exchange for this review but I did really give my honest opinion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    Great Book

    I recently had the chance to review this book. I had read book 2 and enjoyed it. This is the last book and number 3 in the "Then sings my soul series". This one goes deeper then any of the others have gone. It has gone into hymns that I had never even heard and some that I did know. It gave a deep history of hymns throughout the years and starting behind hymns and hymn books. I found out so many things I did not even know about. I really enjoyed getting to read the history and how we became to singing out of hymn books today. You always sing these songs in church,but you never know the reason behind it and why it was wrote. Then it also gives a bunch of songs and their lyrics and the story behind each song. I really enjoyed this book and it is wonderful if you want to know the history of hymns.


    I received this book free from booksneeze for my honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    Wonderful Book!!!

    I loved this book and the wisdom within it’s pages. They book was a wonderful testimony to the power of the hymns we sing together. All through the centuries since the dawn of time, we have been singing. The book of Psalms is filled with hymns to the creator. The Bible’s pages are full of hymns and songs of praise to the Lord and his handiwork. On down throught church history the means of praising the Lord has not changed. We desire to lift our voices to him in tune with our hearts love for him. Musicians continually praise him with notes of love and praise. Spanning continants the praise of the Lord has many forms and tunes, but the message is the same:

    Praise the Lord!!!!

    Robert Morgan speaks to these thoughts and more in his newest book Then Sings My Soul 3. As he writes you are amazed at the power of the words set to music. As you read the stories behind our most beloved hymns you will be inspired. This book was wonderful. I couldn’t put it down. He inspires, teaches, praises, and equips you in a powerful way.

    I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Amazing

    One of my favorite parts of attending church is being able to lift my voice in union with my fellow worshipers as we praise God through hymns. Each time, though, it seems as if we sing the same hymns. I enjoy looking through the hymnal at the hymns that aren’t sung often. So, I was thrilled to receive a copy of THEN SINGS MY SOUL BOOK 3, THE STORY OF OUR SONGS: DRAWING STRENGTH FROM THE GREAT HYMNS OF OUR FAITH by Robert J. Morgan. I had never heard of most of these hymns before – a great treat to have them in front of me now.

    The book includes the history of hymnody, unusual hymns, six hymn stories, and a section on hymning in private and public. I loved reading a hymn, then learning the background behind it. The histories really brought them to life. Since I have little musical ability, my mother will play the provided sheet music on the piano while we both sing. Some of the hymns are “The Old Rugged Cross,” “He Giveth More Grace,” and “Joy Fills our Inmost Hearts Today.” My favorite is now “O Trinity of Blessed Light.” Not only are the music and words beautiful, but it was written around AD 100. To me, I find it wondrous that something so old has survived to today, to be beloved by a new generation.

    This book is definitely a keeper and has earned a place on my bookshelves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1