Customer Reviews for

Then We Came to the End

Average Rating 3.5
( 140 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

9 to 5

This book won all kinds of awards, and deservedly so. You'll want to give it to everyone you know who works in an office. Daring to write in the second person (we), Ferris paints a nuanced portrait of a large cast of characters working in an ad agency at the moment the ...
This book won all kinds of awards, and deservedly so. You'll want to give it to everyone you know who works in an office. Daring to write in the second person (we), Ferris paints a nuanced portrait of a large cast of characters working in an ad agency at the moment the layoffs begin. The novel begins like this: "We were fractious and overpaid. Our mornings lacked promise. At least those of us who smoked had something to look forward to at ten-fifteen. Most of us liked most everyone, a few of us hated specific individuals. ... " Either he's got you from the get-go, or this isn't the novel for you. Over the course of the book, we meet a range of characters with very real problems (one has breast cancer; one has a big inferiority complex; one has lost her daughter; etc.) and the mood deepens; but nearly all of the action of the book is filtered through the unwavering voice of the "we," that bizarre nameless mob made real by pitch-perfect details, and made bearable by Ferris's wonderful dry wit. I can't wait for his next book.

posted by LonestarRx on October 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Don't even bother!

If you can get through the first fifty pages you have accomplished something no other person has

posted by jmacknev on December 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Don't even bother!

    If you can get through the first fifty pages you have accomplished something no other person has

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    9 to 5

    This book won all kinds of awards, and deservedly so. You'll want to give it to everyone you know who works in an office. Daring to write in the second person (we), Ferris paints a nuanced portrait of a large cast of characters working in an ad agency at the moment the layoffs begin. The novel begins like this: "We were fractious and overpaid. Our mornings lacked promise. At least those of us who smoked had something to look forward to at ten-fifteen. Most of us liked most everyone, a few of us hated specific individuals. ... " Either he's got you from the get-go, or this isn't the novel for you. Over the course of the book, we meet a range of characters with very real problems (one has breast cancer; one has a big inferiority complex; one has lost her daughter; etc.) and the mood deepens; but nearly all of the action of the book is filtered through the unwavering voice of the "we," that bizarre nameless mob made real by pitch-perfect details, and made bearable by Ferris's wonderful dry wit. I can't wait for his next book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    So real and So funny

    I think this is one of the best books around. It was funny and so realistic. Fans of "The Office" will love the characters and the off beat things that take place in this office. The writing was great. It was great even when I re-read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Unique voice - today's everyman's/everywoman's work life.

    Ferris writes in such a way that he combines anonymity with an intimate view of each character. In a way, this truly reflects the feeling of an office environment. No one knows anyone, yet everyone knows everything. A fresh voice, but it is a little surface-level. Hopefully there is another, meatier novel soon to be born from Joshua Ferris's mind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2007

    Entertaing period

    I approached this book assuming I would be on the floor laughing over comical office pranks. I was mistaken. Basically you read about naive business men/women in an office discussing their most uneventful drama and how such miniscule events are so important to their daily lives. Not to mention the fact that the story is written relatively poorly and with sporadic ordering. In then end I read it to finish it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Don't waste your time.

    I was very disappointed after reading the reviews.
    I felt like I had wasted time reading this nonsense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Good and Funny

    For those who have worked through a downsizing this is a great read. If you haven' t, it will let you know how it feels. Quirky and somehow funny despite the sadness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Enjoyable book

    The narration makes you become part of this group of coworkers. Funny, sad, nostalgic...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    not good

    just simply not a good book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    Recommended - A Masterful Mess

    The cover of this book as a series of sticky notes is perfect! I feel like Ferris just wrote out a bunch of scenarios on sticky notes, threw them in the air, and then had the book follow that random order. YET, in the middle of the random, conversational collection of stories about an advertising firm slowly going down the drain, there are some great truths about what it is like to work, especially in a depressed economy, and what life is like before and after you are forcefully pushed out of a job. The characters are fantastically written, the situations are poignant - you will laugh and cry. A difficult read in places, and the timeline is scattered at best, but this is a great book if you need some thought-provoking commiseration about your work place!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Quirky but missing something

    I bought this book on a whim. I am a huge fan of The Office and it seemed this book would contain the same type of humor. I was disappointed because I was never really able to get into the book. I wanted to finish it because I kept waiting for the storyline to go somewhere. Instead, it just kept spinning out of control. The writing was really the only good part about the book. Joshua Ferris has a very whitty and quirky way with words that did make me laugh aloud a few times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    This book is great!

    I loved reading this book. It is long, but I read it very quickly, because I was so engrossed in the story and characters. If you like office gossip and the quirkiness of office relationships, you will love this book. It was the best book I have read in a while. It was "light" enough to be an escape from my normal life. This book is totally deserving of the awards and accolades it has received. I highly recommend this book! I am looking forward to reading more novels by Joshua Ferris. Buy this - you won't be disappointed, I promise. A+++++

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    Laugh-Out-Loud Funny!

    Anyone who has worked in an office setting will appreciate the truthfulness in the absurd work-a-day world Ferris describes. For so many of us, work is everything and the people in the office are a huge part of our lives... until they're not. Office politics, office romances, where you sit at the conference room table -- it all seems so important and yet it doesn't take much to be able to take a step back and realize how ridiculous it is. But the real beauty of the book is that the characters aren't just caricatures, but real, three-dimensional people the reader comes to care about.

    I've never read a book quite like this one - but if you like the Dunder Mifflin folks in the TV show "The Office," I can guarantee you'll like "Then We Came to the End," too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2009

    Worse than Twilight!!!

    I used to think Twilight was the worst book in the world, until I started, yes "started", reading this. When I first saw this one at Costco, I thought it would have been a lot like The Office or close to it, but I was horribly wrong. This book was lame and not at all original or funny. I didn't finish it, I hardly got past page 50.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Then We Came To the End

    I found the writing style to be laborious and confusing. The book didn't grab my interest until around the middle when it talked about the boss' struggle with breast cancer. It's definitely not a funny book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    It could happen to us too

    Entertaining yet hits home given today's economic realities. Ferris is sharp, funny and witty and could be talking about anyone of our lives.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Everyone should read this book at least once!!!

    THIS BOOK is amazing. IT is about this advertising agency that is on the downhill slide, but it ressembles every workplace in the entire world! There are not enough adjectives to describe how good this book is. For those of your that are job searching or in danger of being laid off, this relates to your situation with humor. The characters in this book dish out a little humor and it is helpful with dealing with certain situations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    a really good read

    i don't usually read contemporary fiction but i was thoroughly surprised by this book and so glad that i picked it up. i'm a grad student who studies late 19th & 20th century british and anglophone/postcolonial literature, and as my brother has pointed out to me, i rarely read anything written by an american author. but this book was fantastic and refreshing and amazingly insightful into the office/cube environment as well as the fear that hangs over everyone when layoffs are occurring and you are wondering if you will be next, and you are also wondering why one person gets laid off and another one doesn't. this book is laugh out loud funny, but at the same time, it has the power to tug on your heart strings and evoke an emotion that you hadn't expected to feel. after finishing the book i sat and thought about it for a long time. it's one of those books that my best friend and i would talk about for at least an hour over coffee and discuss our reactions. it's that thought-provoking. so if you are looking for a book that is honest and will actually make you think make you feel, and make you laugh, pick up this book. but i must warn you that there is free usage of four letter words so if that turns you off don't pick this up. i have recommended this book to several of my friends and i don't think you'll be sorry if you give it a chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    dreaded office life...

    didn't think this story would be sooo funny. love the writing style, the characters with their many layers, the one-liners, such a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Not the book for me.

    This book is written in a choppy, fragmented style that treats the reader as if they were on a raft in turbulent waters. The resulting nausea leaves the reader lethargic, flipping to the back of the book to see how many pages are left. It is important to finish the book because money doesn't grow on trees.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7