Customer Reviews for

Then We Came to the End

Average Rating 3.5
( 140 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

9 to 5

This book won all kinds of awards, and deservedly so. You'll want to give it to everyone you know who works in an office. Daring to write in the second person (we), Ferris paints a nuanced portrait of a large cast of characters working in an ad agency at the moment the ...
This book won all kinds of awards, and deservedly so. You'll want to give it to everyone you know who works in an office. Daring to write in the second person (we), Ferris paints a nuanced portrait of a large cast of characters working in an ad agency at the moment the layoffs begin. The novel begins like this: "We were fractious and overpaid. Our mornings lacked promise. At least those of us who smoked had something to look forward to at ten-fifteen. Most of us liked most everyone, a few of us hated specific individuals. ... " Either he's got you from the get-go, or this isn't the novel for you. Over the course of the book, we meet a range of characters with very real problems (one has breast cancer; one has a big inferiority complex; one has lost her daughter; etc.) and the mood deepens; but nearly all of the action of the book is filtered through the unwavering voice of the "we," that bizarre nameless mob made real by pitch-perfect details, and made bearable by Ferris's wonderful dry wit. I can't wait for his next book.

posted by LonestarRx on October 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Don't even bother!

If you can get through the first fifty pages you have accomplished something no other person has

posted by jmacknev on December 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Then We Came To the End

    I found the writing style to be laborious and confusing. The book didn't grab my interest until around the middle when it talked about the boss' struggle with breast cancer. It's definitely not a funny book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2007

    Entertaing period

    I approached this book assuming I would be on the floor laughing over comical office pranks. I was mistaken. Basically you read about naive business men/women in an office discussing their most uneventful drama and how such miniscule events are so important to their daily lives. Not to mention the fact that the story is written relatively poorly and with sporadic ordering. In then end I read it to finish it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Quirky but missing something

    I bought this book on a whim. I am a huge fan of The Office and it seemed this book would contain the same type of humor. I was disappointed because I was never really able to get into the book. I wanted to finish it because I kept waiting for the storyline to go somewhere. Instead, it just kept spinning out of control. The writing was really the only good part about the book. Joshua Ferris has a very whitty and quirky way with words that did make me laugh aloud a few times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2009

    Disappointing

    The characters in this book (and presumably the author himself) are not nearly as clever as they think they are. A mostly pointless story scattered with rare moments of empathy and insight and even more rare moments of "yeah, okay, that was kinda funny". It's mostly about a group of advertisers begging for the reader to "look at how cute and quirky we can be".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    It was eh

    I was told that this book was funny. To be honest, it was only okay. Some parts (especially towards the end) were downright depressing. The first few pages were funny but that was it. Overall, the book was not a page turner for me. I had to force myself to finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2008

    Not Very Engaging

    I was really looking forward to reading this. The new writers section of BN, has always delivered. But I am going through the motions with this one. It is not very well written and there is really no character development. Narration is intertwined with dialogue. We are led to believe that we will find characters we can relate to in our own office settings. Not happening. Steer clear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2008

    Not The Office

    I borrowed this book because I heard how funny it was. It wasn't. It was like listening to some of my husband's work stories about the people that bother him, without any humor. I couldn't finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2008

    Not worth it

    I'm a bit perplexed by the accolades this one is getting. One of the ten best books? Engrossing? A masterwork of pitch and tone? If you enjoy 300 some pages of run-on sentences, bad writing and characters who have no depth this is the perfect book for you. The television show The Office is much more entertaining. I could barely get through the first 100 pages and that is being generous. A good editor could have saved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2