Customer Reviews for

Then We Came to the End

Average Rating 3.5
( 140 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

9 to 5

This book won all kinds of awards, and deservedly so. You'll want to give it to everyone you know who works in an office. Daring to write in the second person (we), Ferris paints a nuanced portrait of a large cast of characters working in an ad agency at the moment the ...
This book won all kinds of awards, and deservedly so. You'll want to give it to everyone you know who works in an office. Daring to write in the second person (we), Ferris paints a nuanced portrait of a large cast of characters working in an ad agency at the moment the layoffs begin. The novel begins like this: "We were fractious and overpaid. Our mornings lacked promise. At least those of us who smoked had something to look forward to at ten-fifteen. Most of us liked most everyone, a few of us hated specific individuals. ... " Either he's got you from the get-go, or this isn't the novel for you. Over the course of the book, we meet a range of characters with very real problems (one has breast cancer; one has a big inferiority complex; one has lost her daughter; etc.) and the mood deepens; but nearly all of the action of the book is filtered through the unwavering voice of the "we," that bizarre nameless mob made real by pitch-perfect details, and made bearable by Ferris's wonderful dry wit. I can't wait for his next book.

posted by LonestarRx on October 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Don't even bother!

If you can get through the first fifty pages you have accomplished something no other person has

posted by jmacknev on December 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 10, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    9 to 5

    This book won all kinds of awards, and deservedly so. You'll want to give it to everyone you know who works in an office. Daring to write in the second person (we), Ferris paints a nuanced portrait of a large cast of characters working in an ad agency at the moment the layoffs begin. The novel begins like this: "We were fractious and overpaid. Our mornings lacked promise. At least those of us who smoked had something to look forward to at ten-fifteen. Most of us liked most everyone, a few of us hated specific individuals. ... " Either he's got you from the get-go, or this isn't the novel for you. Over the course of the book, we meet a range of characters with very real problems (one has breast cancer; one has a big inferiority complex; one has lost her daughter; etc.) and the mood deepens; but nearly all of the action of the book is filtered through the unwavering voice of the "we," that bizarre nameless mob made real by pitch-perfect details, and made bearable by Ferris's wonderful dry wit. I can't wait for his next book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Unique voice - today's everyman's/everywoman's work life.

    Ferris writes in such a way that he combines anonymity with an intimate view of each character. In a way, this truly reflects the feeling of an office environment. No one knows anyone, yet everyone knows everything. A fresh voice, but it is a little surface-level. Hopefully there is another, meatier novel soon to be born from Joshua Ferris's mind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    dreaded office life...

    didn't think this story would be sooo funny. love the writing style, the characters with their many layers, the one-liners, such a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    avid reader of all things great and small

    I believe this is one of the funnier workplace books I've read. It flows well, characters are brought in and out similar to our workdays. Funny, interesting, and surprisingly enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2008

    Clever book

    This book will be appreciated by anyone who has ever had mixed feelings about the people you work with...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2007

    Had me chuckling

    I started this book with a bit of apprehension as I'm normally a sci-fi chic BUTTTTT a friend of mine recomended it and since i was between books I thought, what the hell. I truly liked this book and would recommend it. Mainly because, while i've never worked at an ad agency there were a lot parts in this book that rang true and reminded me of my job. Some of the stories in this book had me chuckling on the train and looking semi crazy so it really was worth it. Although everyone may not be able to identify with all the stories I think you'll find a bit of your crazy cub-mate somewhere in here. You have your brown noser and semi loopy work mates stories in here. I'll admit that there are parts that were a bit drawn out and take away from the book but all in all its a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2