Customer Reviews for

Then and Now: 1964-2004

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    totally necessary!

    this music shows just how timeless the who are. the music is as pertinent today as it was the day these albums were released. takes you back to your mispent youth for some of us

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Who's Still got their Fastball !!!!

    "...and we don't make no collections..." sing the greatest R'N'R band in the world, still giving fans their money's worth. (Sorry Mick...) Every track essential. The true golden nuggets are the new current bonus tracks. I pray the band would release an entire CD of new tracks like "Real Good Looking Boy" & "Red Wine". Great themes in the band's latest life stage, like all of us. Decades ago was "My Generation", now we're coming to terms with God's grace by looking into your son/daughter's eyes as a child answers my prayer for Pete & Roger to turn & find God's love & Grace. Realizing he holds us all in his loving & mighty arms!! "Red Wine" is another INCREDIBLE track, discussing aging & life stages. Pete, do another "Lifehouse" project for today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    "Then and Now" IS NOW!

    Finally an awesome package of hits from the Who! After a few greatest hits albums, I decided to pick up “Then and Now” and I cant get over how great it is. Sure its got some of my favorites such as “My Generation”, “Pinball Wizard” and “Behind Blue Eyes” (I hate the limp bizkit version). But the cd itself comes in some of the coolest packaging ive ever seen, with a whole mess of pictures and posters from the past 40 years of their career. Its good to see the pics of all the original members hangin out, being such a big fan I dearly miss Keith Moon and John Entwistle, but their replacements (touring drummer Zak Starkey and bassist Greg Lake) do a fine job on the NEW tracks featured on “Then and Now”, that’s right 2 new songs are on the album, “Real Good Looking Boy” (tribute to Elvis) which is a very catchy tune, one of my fave’s on the album and the other new song is “Old Red Wine”, a tribute to their fallen band mate, John Entwistle. If you don’t have the time to hit up your local record store for the album, you can buy the album on itunes or napster both of which very convineient and easy to use. This has been the best $13 I have spent all year!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great repesentation

    The Who¡¦s latest release, ¡§Then and Now¡¨ does a great job representing the entire Who¡¦s hit portfolio in one single, 77 minute compact disc. One might be tempted to say that this is the best single disc compilation ever put out by The Who, if it were merely a collection of their classic hits, but this disc carries with it much more. Among the guitar smashing hits such as My Generation and I Can¡¦t Explain, lay the two newly recorded tracks Real Good Looking Boy and Old Red Wine. Townshend¡¦s Real Good Looking Boy, a tribute to Elvis Presley, is a witty, satirical comparison of himself to the King. In contrast, Old Red Wine, is a reverent track; a moving composition in memory of the late John Entwistle. Both songs deliver the Who Fans with classic Townshend/Daltrey chemistry showing Roger¡¦s constant ability to vocally express Townshend penned thoughts. In the absence of Keith Moon and John Entwistle, Pete and Roger opted to use their touring drummer Zak Starkey and ELP¡¦s bassist Greg Lake for the new tracks. Needless to say, the pair proved seamless addition to the remainder of The Who, guaranteeing approval from even the most avid Who fan. As for the packaging, A++, no qualms about it. The CD case and booklet are a collage of old posters and pictures carefully assorted around a seven page biography on the life of The Who, 64¡¦ ¡V ¡¥04. Basically, for those looking to add another great album to their Who collection or purchase their very first, ¡§Then and Now¡¨ proves to be nothing short of a good buy. But on the other hand, if you have enough Who albums for everyone on your block and can¡¦t bring yourself to buy another, just visit your local Napster or iTunes to pick up the new tracks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not too bad...

    Yeah, we've got all of the songs, but I did enjoy the mix on "Summertime Blues." It was like the old album--bass and drums on one side with guitar on the other. The two new songs are nice, low-key, positive-messagy and ADULT. Rock and roll for grownups. Similiar to WHO BY NUMBERS but without the midlife crises!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Why??

    Look, I love the Who. They are one of the greatest bands of all time, and have contributed some of rock's greatest songs to the canon. But their legacy has been eroded by the constant need to issue compilations at an almost yearly rate. This collection is beyond redundant--either the "My Generation-The Very Best of the Who" or the two disc "Ultimate Collection" will give you everything you need in a Who hits collection. So what on Earth can this disc give you? Oh, that's right...two new songs by "The Two"--Townshend and Daltrey. Both of which, by the way, will be available on the "Who"'s new album next year. So don't bother with this. It gets only one star, not because most of the music ain't great, but because this compilations is completely unnecessary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Then and Now: 1964-2004

    Im a fairly new music fan here, Im very young and my favorite bands are the way trendy ones. But last week my mom bought me the The Who – “Then and Now” and I cant get over how great this is. I was never into this older rock stuff, but this is really good music. I saw the who have other greatest hits albums and im thinking about picking all of them up, I mean who can get sick of the Who? “The Kids are alright” and “Pinball Wizard” are my favorite tracks. I went over to itunes and downloaded “Teenage Wasteland” and im a bit upset it wasn’t included on this cd, but you cant win them all. I went ahead and downloaded a video of the who playing a live show and I cant get over how bad a** Keith Moon was at drums. My jaw just dropped and I was in awe over it. Im really considering buying a drum set after watching him play. I even heard they based the muppet “Animal” on Keith. How cool is that? Even as a new who fan I have to recommend this to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Perfect for the collector in me

    I am a big collector and, unlike those who complain about another compilation album, am pleased with Then and Now. The album is completely remastered and sounds great. As a collector, I love the packaging. The pictures are great. I would have bought it even if it didn’t have the two new songs. The new songs are a bonus, not to mention really good. It is good to hear new stuff from such talented artists. The CD is a great collection of songs and has been in my CD player for two weeks. It sounds amazing on my surround sound system. It will then join my 33 other Who records in my collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Then and Now: 1964-2004

    I can’t say enough good things about the new Who CD “Then and Now.” My dad gave me his old Who records a few years back and I play them on the record player every now and again. But I never was motivated enough to spend the money on a CD. When I heard that this new album had new tracks on it, I decided it was finally time to get a Who on CD. Boy, am I glad I made that choice. This album has all the old songs I really liked. It has Happy Jack, Behind Blue Eyes, Who Are You?, and My Generation. The new song Real Good Looking Boy is awesome. Now I have a Who CD to play in my car, and haven’t taken it out of my CD player for days. I am definitely satisfied with my purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1