Customer Reviews for

Theodore Boone: Kid Lawyer

Average Rating 4
( 461 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(212)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(73)

2 Star

(58)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

So excited!!!

I have always enjoyed John Grisham's work and now I can't wait to read this new young readers story. There is something so amazing about kids doing adult like activities like being a lawyer and if anyone can pull a kid lawyer off it's Grisham.

posted by Roxcol on May 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

Too Serious For Kids

Our reading book thought this book was too serious for kids. (age 9/10) The vocabulary was very hard and it was difficult to understand the authors descriptions. The beginning of the book was boring and there was no ending. There were two interesting parts to this b...
Our reading book thought this book was too serious for kids. (age 9/10) The vocabulary was very hard and it was difficult to understand the authors descriptions. The beginning of the book was boring and there was no ending. There were two interesting parts to this book. If there was another book we wouldn't want to read it but we would want to know how the story ends.

posted by StampDecor on July 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 462 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    So excited!!!

    I have always enjoyed John Grisham's work and now I can't wait to read this new young readers story. There is something so amazing about kids doing adult like activities like being a lawyer and if anyone can pull a kid lawyer off it's Grisham.

    31 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow! Surprisingly Good!

    I'm not into lawyer mysteries but my friend loaned it to me and i loved it! Great book.

    30 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    Such a Good Book

    My Grandma took us out for lunch and than took us to Borders where I saw this book. I know the author, John Grisham, and this is the first book he has for children so I decided to buy it. I took it on vacation and read it in just four days. I loved it. I hope John Grisham comes out with more children books. Here is another description about the book:

    Theodore Boone is the only kid of two parents who are lawyers. He knows every policeman, lawyer, and judge than anyone else. He helps kids around his school with their problems. Theo(thats what people call him and his mother calls him Teddy sometimes) practically thinks he lawyer himself. There is a huge case going on in the city of Strattenburg. It is the first big murder case in forever. One of the kid he tutors knows something about the case. His cousin is a illegal immigrant and has witnessed the murder he has told Theo and now he is stuck in the middle of it. Will the cousin come out and show himself or not? Will a guilty man be taken to jail for murder or will he be let go?

    You have to read the book to find out. And please if it sounds boring believe me its not. If you love a good mystery you will love this book. It keeps grabbing you in and in.

    27 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Too Serious For Kids

    Our reading book thought this book was too serious for kids. (age 9/10) The vocabulary was very hard and it was difficult to understand the authors descriptions. The beginning of the book was boring and there was no ending. There were two interesting parts to this book. If there was another book we wouldn't want to read it but we would want to know how the story ends.

    24 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Just okay...

    This could have been a great book had the author fiished the story. I almost felt he got bored writing it and sent it to the publisher with out an ending. Then it seems that the publisher knowing what a great writter Grisham usually is chose not to question him and sent the book to print. Were they all thinking, well it has the Grisham name people will buy it with out reading reviews... I wish I had done so before spending the money on it. I usually love Grisham and read his books in less than a day. I had to force myself to get through this one and it took 4 days...that is unheard of for me especially considering the book is only146 pgs.

    11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Writen by jaden g

    This was an excellent book it was realy captivating i read it non stop i recomend the sisters grimm, a wrinkle in time, and the boxcar children.
    Sincerly,
    The big bad wolf
    A.K.A J.D.G

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Terrific mystery

    When Pete Duffley is accused of murdering his wife only one person can get the evidence to convict him. Theodore Boone, son of two lawyers, and a very good advisor himself. Finds the evidence to covict Mr. Duffley. This book hold many twists and turns that will keep you turning the pages, as fast as Theo collects the evidence.

    I am a avid mystery reader and movie watcher, and when it comes to a good book... the novel Grisham has constructed barely trails Sir Aurthur Connan Dolye.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Big lead - no ending

    I needed a book that was like the firm but not as adultish. What i got was this. The beginning throuh middle was one of the best subjects I've ever read. But then near the end i found myself rushed. It was almost like Mr. John got borred writing the book and decided to stop.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    This book is awesome

    I loved this book

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    Quick,easy read - perfect for teens and preteens.

    Received as a gift. More suited for teens, but I enjoyed it.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Really good

    It was really good except for the ending it was kinda slow overall great book i hopethere are more comin

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2010

    Grisham Sells out

    Do not buy this novel. I am a longtime reader of Grisham. I have never expected Proust or Flaubert. But this is ridiculous! The characters are okay and the plot (albeit tired) is somewhat interesting. The problem is that there is no resolution! This is just a moneymaker. Stephen King has done the same thing with "Blockade Billy". However, you get the payoff. There is a conclusion. Not so with Grisham. Just wait until the next chapter is released. I won't buy it and hope you don't waste your money

    5 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Deadly Dull

    I've enjoyed many of Grisham's adult books, and thought that, with Theodore Boone, he was going to do for the legal mystery what Anthony Horowitz (Alex Rider) and Charlie Higson (Young James Bond) have done recently for spy fiction: make it age appropriate for the younger reader, while losing none of the cleverly plotted mystery or the thrill of the chase. Not so much. There is literally no mystery and the characters are astonishingly flat and unappealing. If you know a child insomniac, this is the book to to give him/her. zzzzzzzzzz.......

    5 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    Move over Hardy Boys !

    this was a great read, great moral decisions ,good family life ,great social awareness.This is the kind of book I will gladly recommend to family and friends without any reseveration.Thanks JOHN !!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    This book is soooo awesome

    I love this book can't wait to finish the entire series

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Best kid crime novel ever

    This book is so good i couldn't stop reading read it in 1 day

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Extremely pleased - great for my grandson

    In searching for something appropriate for young teenage grandson, was very happy to discover John Grisham is now writing for that age group. Hope that he continues.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    BoxWood Press

    Theodore Boone is pretty good, but from other reviews, it sounded like you were puting this book in front of God. So, just remember, put God first, this book second.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Theodore Boone

    Well, John Grisham is known to make more adult books. But this book has proven that he can write tween books. I love this book so much and this is a real "under the covers" read! Recomened!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    GREAT BOOK

    AMAZING!!!!!John Grisham i an amazing author

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 462 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24