BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Theodore Boone: Kid Lawyer

Average Rating 4
( 464 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(214)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(73)

2 Star

(59)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

So excited!!!

I have always enjoyed John Grisham's work and now I can't wait to read this new young readers story. There is something so amazing about kids doing adult like activities like being a lawyer and if anyone can pull a kid lawyer off it's Grisham.

posted by Roxcol on May 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Too Serious For Kids

Our reading book thought this book was too serious for kids. (age 9/10) The vocabulary was very hard and it was difficult to understand the authors descriptions. The beginning of the book was boring and there was no ending. There were two interesting parts to this b...
Our reading book thought this book was too serious for kids. (age 9/10) The vocabulary was very hard and it was difficult to understand the authors descriptions. The beginning of the book was boring and there was no ending. There were two interesting parts to this book. If there was another book we wouldn't want to read it but we would want to know how the story ends.

posted by StampDecor on July 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow! Surprisingly Good!

    I'm not into lawyer mysteries but my friend loaned it to me and i loved it! Great book.

    32 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    Move over Hardy Boys !

    this was a great read, great moral decisions ,good family life ,great social awareness.This is the kind of book I will gladly recommend to family and friends without any reseveration.Thanks JOHN !!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Awesome book!

    I absolutely loved this book! Its a bit boring in the very beginning but after that, this book is exceptional! Loved it and I hope you will love it too!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Amazing!!!!

    I have not finished this book yet but I can tell it is going to have a great ending. This a suspenseful author. I love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Awesome book

    This is an awesome book, for all ages!
    Theo Boone is a fabulous charachter and I just cant get enough!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Easy read

    Entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Good MORGAN B.

    A good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Theodore Boone fan

    Great read, But the ending leaves you hanging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    This book is absolutely amazing. Gripped me to the very end. Thi

    This book is absolutely amazing. Gripped me to the very end. This deserves to be on ur book shelf

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Sounds great....but..

    I am totally interested in getting this series for mr fifth grader....but putting as much interest in reading the Bible.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Free saple

    Sampliwastonlfoupagelongsryese

    I mean the sample is a waste itonly doupagers
    Heh heh i meant the sample ia wasts

    Sorry my nook is brokenmm the sample is a wastte it only fouages
    The samplionlyse the sample is only forrr pagelonfg pages long

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Great youth suspense!

    A little slow at the start but does a great job explaining about legal issues so it is easy for middle grade school children to understand. The story builds fast and keeps attention well once the action begins. I would definitely recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    JB

    A great mystery book great for older kids and adults. Its an exelent suspencful book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Awesome

    I can't wait to read the next book.
    Needed a better ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Goog

    It is a good book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Fast read

    Great book, storyline had a great flow to it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    The best book i've read in a long time

    The book educates you in law and it shows you how to be a great friend! It is one of my favorite books yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Enjoyed It

    I really enjoyed this book! If you like lawyer mysteries I think you will really like this book as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Good

    Great book but it just stopped thank gid they wtote a sequelm

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Believable and kid oriented

    I am fond of John Grisham's adult books, and often read [and also write] young adult fiction. I thought this Theodore Boone was a good book; it kept my interest and I enjoyed the inclusion of illegal immigrants as subject matter. I found Theo to be bright and endearing as a main character, his friend April a bit underdeveloped but with potential. The parents are less engaging than Uncle Ike, whom Theo seems to get along well with. He also has other adult friends [the judge, a teacher] that add to the character unfold of Theo getting along better with adults than with peers. I think this book would appeal to the 9-12 group mostly. In reading other reviews, I am dismayed to have Theo compared to Harry Potter, or other books in the fantasy genre. Apples to apples, I think that Theo is a realistic only child. His confidence comes from law knowledge and deductive reasoning, which for a kid of 13 is well-cultivated. He knows how to communicate with adults, and even though his skills with peers are more advisary than friend-oriented, they are believable. [I grew up in much the same manner, getting along better with teachers/adults than with peers] I agree that the ending was a bit abrupt, but other than that, I liked this book for what it was- young adult fiction.
    I am looking forward to more books in this series, and have ordered #2 The Abduction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4