Customer Reviews for

Theodore Rex

Average Rating 4.5
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2003

    A Great Look at An Underrated President

    Theodore Roosevelt has fast become my hero. A champion for the common man, protector of our true heartland and wilderness, President Theodore Roosevelt's life story is told eloquently by the author. He makes me feel like I knew the former President and want to know more about him. Theodore Roosevelt is one of the truly 'real men' in our Country. The books is fascinating and very tough to put down. Page after page of TR's life jumps alive in the imagination and makes me wonder what life in those days was really like. As for both the author and the subject, I say 'BULLY!'

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2003

    The man in the arena

    Morris' second book of the trilogy on Theodore Roosevelt (TR) is a most enjoyable read. This book covers TR's White House years and gives great insight into one of Americas greatest presidents and most influential men of the twentieth century. Morris gives you an in depth but not dry look at what TR accomplished in his two terms. He created the Dept. of Interior and protected more land for posterity than any other president. He created the Food and Drug Administration after reading a book written by Sinclair Lewis about the unsanitary conditions in the meat packing industry. He mediated the peace treaty between the Russians and the Japanese after the Russo-Japanese war for which he was the first president to be awarded the Nobel peace prize. He built our Navy from fourth to second place in the world and prepared us for super power status. He was instrumental in our building of the Panama Canal, which made us a two-ocean power. These are just some of the highlights of his busy administration. He wrote over 30 books in his life was fluent in six languages and was an astute politician and statesman. There is much to be learned from reading about this great American, the man who was always in the arena.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2003

    Forceful President with a Long Shadow

    In his sequel to The Rise of Theodore Roosevelt, Edmund Morris masterfully helps his (American) readers better understand how and why they still bask in the legacy of President Roosevelt both here and abroad. Roosevelt, who leveraged President Monroe¿s doctrine, turned the United States of America into a superpower on the global scene. The other great powers of that time duly took note of Roosevelt¿s expeditions in the Americas and Asia and his key role in bringing the Russo-Japanese war to an end. On the domestic front, Roosevelt has left an enduring legacy as his contributions to the development of national parks, anti-trust legislation ¿ and the Teddy Bear have revealed. Roosevelt progressively liberated himself from the influence of the Republican Party by pursuing an increasingly progressive legislative agenda to the discontent of some fellow Republicans. To the chagrin of some readers, Morris does not spend too much time discussing Theodore¿s beloved Edith, their children and the rest of his family.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2001

    A President Who Enjoyed Center Stage

    If you did not like Mr. Morris¿s biography of President Reagan, give Mr. Morris another chance. Theodore Rex is the best book I have read on President Theodore Roosevelt¿s almost 8 years in office, after having started as our youngest president to that point in time. I found the recent David McCullough biography of John Adams as the closest comparable work. Both biographers rely a lot on the subject¿s own words and those of the people he interacted with. I found three qualities of Theodore Rex to be superior to the Adams biography. First, Mr. Morris has chosen to magnify issues that are of more interest to us today which are often virtually ignored in conventional histories. Some of these subjects involved Mr. Roosevelt¿s attitudes towards minority groups including African-Americans, Asian-Americans, and Jews. Other related subjects included what he chose to say and do about discrimination and lynchings, willingness to address a pogrom in Russia, and atrocities conduced by the Army in the Philippines. Second, Mr. Morris doesn¿t try to ¿pretty up¿ the ugly sides of his subject. In these first areas above, President Roosevelt did some good things . . . but he also did some pretty awful ones. His support for bad conduct dismissals of African-American troops after complaints in Brownsville, Texas, was particularly questionable, coming at a time when he had little at risk politically by doing the right thing and he was outspoken in other areas. Third, Mr. Morris has an eye for detail that makes the scenes come alive to extend beyond the mere words and events being presented. I particularly enjoyed the description of Roosevelt¿s first few days as president. The Adams biography is superior in that most of that material came in the form of letters from Abigail and John Adams and Thomas Jefferson, and the quality of what they had to say was usually a lot more interesting than what President Roosevelt and his cronies and family wrote or said. The perspective on Roosevelt is almost totally a near contemporary one. This material reads like something we might review now about President Reagan¿s presidency. For those who are not familiar with U.S. political, social, and economic history prior to and during this time, some of the sections will be hard to fathom. That is a major weakness of the book. The other major weakness is that the coverage of subjects is unbalanced in length. For example, there is a lengthy section on some gunboat diplomacy to help out two hostages in Morocco, one of whom is thought to be an American. Other than showing that Roosevelt liked to send in the Navy, this material didn¿t warrant the attention it receives here. If you are like me, you will enjoy the way that Mr. Morris displays how Roosevelt built a power base by espousing popular issues like trust-busting to wean himself away from political dependency on Senator Mark Hanna. President Roosevelt¿s ability to work the newspapers to his advantage was astonishingly adroit for an ¿accidental¿ president with limited prior experience in public office. On the personal side, the book is filled with examples of President Roosevelt¿s love of all forms of physical activity, including eating, and the way that he sought to preserve privacy for his personal life. Late in his presidency, he could not read very well with his left eye due to a boxing injury received in a match while president. Having become president due to the assassination of President McKinley, you will read with interest his own close calls with death and a potential assassin. The vignettes involving his very independent daughter, Alice, will amuse you in many cases. On the other hand, you may be annoyed (as I was) to learn that President Roosevelt¿s final decision about the Brownsville soldiers was withheld for a few days with the probable motive of helping his son-in-law, Alice¿s husband, be re-elected to Congress. The almost total silence on the drawb

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2003

    Bully!

    I began this book interested in, and left it fascinated by, Theodore Roosevelt. It was amazing to learn how many aspects of America's evolution from frontier society to the 20th century were shaped by TR's presidency. For those with an interest in American history, this books links the eras between the conquest of the West and World War I in a comprehensive and compelling fashion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    almost as good as the first volume

    great biographical trilogy, and will help you answer more questions on Jeopardy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Highly Recommend.

    Morris brings the reader into the story and you feel like you are living in the 1900's along with Roosevelt in his life. Also great sense of humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2013

    Wold you like to know how Teddy Roosevelt's mug ended up on the

    Wold you like to know how Teddy Roosevelt's mug ended up on the face of Mount Rushmore? Read this book and find out! A leader that was driven to do the right thing. A man that was bigger than life, but far from perfect. This book does a wonderful job in documenting his massive contributions as well as a few blunders (The Brownsville Incident). This books makes me want to sit down for a long dinner with T.R., and while I might not be able to get a word in edge wise, he would show me how truly inspired leadership rolls! Wouldn't it be great to see our country have a President that the majority of Americans loved?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2013

    Recommended

    I enjoyed this book very much and the knowledge I gained into the life of Theodore Roosevelt. Mr. Morris is a great researcher and the entire trilogy has been a great read about a very accomplished man. Fascinating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Great accounting of a progressive president

    A very well writen text. The book demonstrates that this was a very passionate president who held hard to his beliefs. The 2 part series is a needed read for anyone wanting to know about history, especially how history applies to what is happening today. The only problem I found with the book is that is does end rather abruptly. I would have liked it more if it had taken more time at the end to discuss his life after the presidency. I definitely recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Prepare to be Inspired!!!!

    If you make a commitment to read Edmund Morris' 900+ page trilogy of the life of Theodore Roosevelt, you've signed on for 2,700 pages on wild, large, bold, adventurous, grand, loud, magnetic, boisterous and unapologetic history. "Theodore Rex", "Colonel Roosevelt", and "The Rise of" constitute a fair, open, and honest view of the impossibly full and frenetic life of TR as told by Edmund Morris. Any serious student of TR, American history, 19th-20th Turn of the Century, presidency, diplomacy, or world events NEEDS to include these 3 volumes. But TR goes beyond all this into geology, botany, plant, flora, fauna, geneology, science, sociology, natural history, and 19th century technology. And so any study of those disciplines would warrant reading. Morris tells the tale, WELL (no easy task), and allows a personal look at the great man from Oyster Bay, NY.
    I haven't read the biography of a life as full as this before. I developed an attachment to the man as I laughed and cried through this set. A most TEEEEEEEERific read!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Non-fiction Reads like fiction!

    Though a history fan, I knew very little about Theodore Roosevelt. What a biography! It reads like fiction, but it is non-fiction. So well researched you feel you are reading about it as it happened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    missing links to notes

    I have read this book before in a hardcover edition I borrowed from a friend so I know it should have the links but it does not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    Great Historical Review

    Great description of Teddy and his perspective during his time in office.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2007

    bully

    The larger than life TR is one of the most popular presidents in history. Politically he is closer to his relative FDR than a republican. Great coverage of his presidency, public and private. The only negative was that I thought it could have used a bit more historical hindsight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2003

    bravo!

    if mr.morris had only taken the same approach with the reagan book! imagine if he had had access to tr.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2002

    Morris Rex!

    Absolutely fantastic follow up second volume on TR. Only question why didn't this one win the Pulitzer aswell? I very much doubt that anyone will write another biography of Roosevelt in this league. Can't wait for the concluding tome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2002

    You can't put the book down

    what a life! I always thought FDR was the greatest and most influential president of the 20th century. T. Rex gives his cousin plenty of company. There must have been something in the Roosevelt DNA, they both were leaders when the country needed them the most!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2002

    Dee-lighted!

    I could not possibly add to what Mr. Mitchell has said, I would say that this was a masterful work of one of the greatest Americans who has ever lived. I finished both of Morris's volumes on TR and found them to be insightful, easy to read, and very entertaining. I would imagine that the hardest problem Mr. Morris had in writing these books was what NOT to include. . .TR did everything. I was sad that I had finished the books! 'This house will seem so dull without my Theodore.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2002

    T.R. - Most Interesting Man Ever In The White House

    Simply a Great Read For Anyone Interested In Politics, History, or Interesting Personalities. A biography that's beautifully written like a novel that sucks you in. Hours of Enjoyment, truely 'DEE-LIGHTFUL'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5