Customer Reviews for

Theodosia and the Eyes of Horus (Theodosia Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Theodosia Rocks!

    Solving mysteries, handling and breaking ancient curses, dealing with murderers and psychos; these are a few scenarios you usually find in a Theodosia book. Theodosia is an enterprising and amazing heroine who usually manages to save the world without the help of adults. She leads a double life under the noses of her loving but extremely busy parents (Who should be paying more attention!!!!).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Amazing keep the books coming as fast as possible

    Incredibly original plot full of intrigue & fast paced. This is a must read series for all fans of mystery , underdogs & magic. The heroine is so believable and charming. You will be cheering for her all through the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Havent read this one but LOVE this sieres

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Better and Better!

    The third book of this series will not disappoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    it's okay

    I liked the first 2 books better, i have a hard time getting interested in this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Best book

    It is great and getting better:)
    Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    I LOVE THIS SERIES!

    Theodosia Throckmorton in another one of her wonderful adventures! R.L. LaFevers never fails to impress me! : )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    Wonderful

    Such a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Candace Cunard for Teens Read Too

    Eleven-year-old cursebreaker and amateur Egyptologist Theodosia Throckmorton returns again in this sequel to THEODOSIA AND THE STAFF OF OSIRIS, and she's as feisty, capable, and trouble-seeking as ever. Although she's fresh from saving Edwardian London from the secret society known as the Serpents of Chaos, Theo isn't the kind of girl to take a break. The book opens with her paying a visit to a stage show by a man called Awi Bubu, who professes to know real Egyptian magic. Theo has a little experience in that area, and is convinced that Awi Bubu must be a fake, but visiting his show not only proves her wrong, it plunges her into the midst of another adventure. Things only become more complicated when her younger brother, Henry, home on holiday, accidentally discovers an emerald tablet in the museum storeroom. When museum curator Stilton--member of the Arcane Order of the Black Sun, a group obsessed with the occult who seems to think Theo is possessed by the Egyptian goddess Isis--identifies the tablet as an incredibly valuable and long-lost magical artifact, Theo is caught between helping him and revealing her secret to the Chosen Keepers. The Keepers are another organization who seems a little more sane than the Order but sometimes refuses to take Theo seriously. Add the Serpents of Chaos back into the mix, and things get pretty crazy pretty quickly. I loved the first two books in this series, and the third is no exception. LaFevers has created a strong female character who's intelligent and resourceful, who makes mistakes (what eleven-year-old doesn't?) but mostly knows when to ask for help, and has a delightful cast of friends to rely upon. One of the things I particularly enjoyed about this book in the series was the attention it devoted to these friends and acquaintances, from pickpocket Will to magician Awi Bubu to Theo's grandmother. As usual, I'm looking forward to seeing the development of all of LaFevers' well-drawn characters in the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    More Magic Abounds for Theodosia

    Theodosia is on another adventure in this third novel in the series. Theodosia visits an Egyptian magician's magic show along with Will and his brothers and learns that the Great Awi Bubu may be more of a magician than he lets on. After Theodosia discovers the Emerald Tablet, an artifact which is rumored to hold the secret to turn ordinary metal into gold, Awi Bubu pays her a visit, along with the Arcane Society of the Black Sun and the Serpents of Chaos.

    More secret societies abound and once again, 11 year-old Theodosia is the only person with the power and the knowledge to defeat the bad guys and save the world from potential chaos.

    Theodosia and the Eyes of Horus is another action-packed story full of mystery and intrigue. Theodosia discovers the mythological Emerald Tablet and every worshiper of dark magic comes running her way. The Great Awi Bubu claims he is a member of a secret society that is in place to protect artifacts like the Emerald Tablet. The Serpents of Chaos want it to wreak havoc across the globe, the Arcane Order of the Black Sun wan it for their own personal means, and the Brotherhood of Chosen Keepers refuses to acknowledge that the Tablet holds any sort of power. That leaves Theodosia in quite a pickle. She has no adults to turn to and her suspicions of Clive Fagenbush are as strong as ever. Without any adults she can trust and depend on, Theodosia turns to her younger brother Henry and her friend Will. Will Theodosia be able to save the day or will she perish like so many artifacts lost over time?

    R.L. LaFevers gives us another strong adventure novel starring the one and only Theodosia Throckmorton. The opening to <>Theodosia and the Eyes of Horus</i> was a bit slower than the previous two novels, but the once the action picked up a bit, it went non-stop. The mythology behind the Emerald Tablet and the secret societies that are vying for it is original and interesting. I was captivated by the Great Awi Bubu and I only wish he was more central to the story. The integration of several secret societies can be a little tiresome, but the unusual and varied characters move the story along nicely.

    Theodosia often works alone and rarely seeks assistance, but this time she needs the help and finds it in the form of her friend Will. It was great to get more depth to both Will and Theo's brother Henry, as they both play a much larger role in this one. Will is ever loyal and even though Theodosia views Henry as an annoying younger brother, you can truly see how much she cares for him. Theodosia is a mere 11 years old, but it feels like she has grown a great deal with this installment and I look forward to seeing where her adventures take her in the future. Theodosia and the Eyes of Horus delves into Theo's rare and startling ability to detect black magic. She doesn't understand it, but she may soon get some answers. I have a feeling the next installment will tell the tale regarding exactly how Theo came to have the powers she possesses.

    Opening line: I hate being followed. ~ pg. 1

    Favorite lines: A wave of longing for those simpler days swept through me, leaving me nearly breathless. I missed that innocence, that special alone time with Mother. Instead, here I was pinching her perfume so I could prevent a fake mummy's very real ghost from haunting my younger brother. ~ pg. 226

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2