Customer Reviews for

Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos (Theodosia Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great read for all ages

Think of a combination of Nancy Drew and a little bit of Indiana Jones and you have Theo. I really did enjoy reading this book. It had a perfect blend of mystery, adventure, and paranormal characteristics that made the book enjoyable for all ages.

Not only was Theo ...
Think of a combination of Nancy Drew and a little bit of Indiana Jones and you have Theo. I really did enjoy reading this book. It had a perfect blend of mystery, adventure, and paranormal characteristics that made the book enjoyable for all ages.

Not only was Theo not a typical girl but she was curious, outspoken, and an adventure seeker who was not afraid of getting into danger. Her unique gift of finding the ancient curses and dispelling them is fun and different and I enjoyed her process of removing these curses from these items despite how oblivious her parents are. She does get a little lippy towards people older than her, but I like this part of her personality. It adds more to her stubborn character and adds more to her personality which makes the book all the more fun to read.

The plot was really good. As usual, there is an underlying main plot underneath a few mini story arcs. I like it, although it's nothing really new or different from other novels like this one but it provides the adventure to the story and when Theo does eventually get involved it adds more adventure and quickens the plot pace. My favorite bit was when Theo impresses a crowd with her removal of a particular curse. It gave me a triumphant feeling and I cheered her on as so many adults just seem to push her away just because she's just a child. However, Theo does have flaws, and sometimes her ability to remove the curse does backfire (and it has somewhat comedic consequences). The ending provides for much of the action, which gives the story a great climax and makes way for the second book.

What's also great about this story is the pace is steady and you're not slowed down at any time of the point. At each scene, you're there for a good time before moving onto the next one and there's no redundancy or over-repetitiveness. This book had a wonderful plot, an outstanding main character who's fun to read, and I think this is going to be a very exciting fun filled series! I most definitely recommend this book for people of all ages.

posted by Sensitivemuse on May 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best book ever!!! Must read.

This book is well written, interesting and eye-catching. My sister and I rarely agree on anything, but we both agree that this is one of the best books ever.

posted by 10136984 on January 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great read for all ages

    Think of a combination of Nancy Drew and a little bit of Indiana Jones and you have Theo. I really did enjoy reading this book. It had a perfect blend of mystery, adventure, and paranormal characteristics that made the book enjoyable for all ages.

    Not only was Theo not a typical girl but she was curious, outspoken, and an adventure seeker who was not afraid of getting into danger. Her unique gift of finding the ancient curses and dispelling them is fun and different and I enjoyed her process of removing these curses from these items despite how oblivious her parents are. She does get a little lippy towards people older than her, but I like this part of her personality. It adds more to her stubborn character and adds more to her personality which makes the book all the more fun to read.

    The plot was really good. As usual, there is an underlying main plot underneath a few mini story arcs. I like it, although it's nothing really new or different from other novels like this one but it provides the adventure to the story and when Theo does eventually get involved it adds more adventure and quickens the plot pace. My favorite bit was when Theo impresses a crowd with her removal of a particular curse. It gave me a triumphant feeling and I cheered her on as so many adults just seem to push her away just because she's just a child. However, Theo does have flaws, and sometimes her ability to remove the curse does backfire (and it has somewhat comedic consequences). The ending provides for much of the action, which gives the story a great climax and makes way for the second book.

    What's also great about this story is the pace is steady and you're not slowed down at any time of the point. At each scene, you're there for a good time before moving onto the next one and there's no redundancy or over-repetitiveness. This book had a wonderful plot, an outstanding main character who's fun to read, and I think this is going to be a very exciting fun filled series! I most definitely recommend this book for people of all ages.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    GReat Book!!

    Great for anyone who loves Ancient Egypt. I picked this book up from our local library expecting it not to be much but i was wrong!! I really liked this book it was a page turner.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Just started and I can't put it down!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    One of my favs

    This book just pulled me in. My librarian recomended it to me and it was soooooo good. Must read!¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    Highly reccomended must read

    Book abot a very adventerous girl Theodosia Throckmorton . Some parts in the book may be very scary for children under 7yrs. Parents will enjoy reading this book,although reccommended for ages 8-16.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2007

    Well done and highly readable

    This book introduces Theodosia Throckmorton. A young lady of brilliant mind and special abilities whose father works in a London antiquities museum. While she endeavors to remain unobtrusive to prevent being sent away to school and far from the interesting objects, pre-WWI London, German agents and others intrude into her world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2007

    A reviewer

    this book rules! Ive read the Harry Potter series (going to read the 7th) and the Unfortunate events series (and a whole lot of other books) but this book totaly rules above all others!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2007

    DON'T MISS THIS BOOK!!

    I was really excited to get a review copy of Robin LaFevers April 2007 middle-grade mystery. And I couldn't wait to read it! In 1906 when most 11-year-old girls are polite, proper and respectful, Theodosia snoops out evil curses that haunt Egyptian antiques. She sleeps in a sarcophagus, reads hieroglyphics for fun and can sense dark magic. Her father is the Curator of the Museum of Legends and Antiquities in London and her mother is an archaeologist. But her parents are clueless about the evil curses attached to museum artifacts. Only Theo can see the dangerous magic oozing from ancient objects -- and she boldly rises to the job of getting rid of the curses. Still mistakes do happen -- like putting a curse on her beloved cat, Isis. But she keeps working to free the museum (and her cat) of evil curses by creating bewitching spells and cunning counter-curses. Sassy and bold, Theo is a delightfully original heroine. But inside she feels sad because her parents leave her alone a lot and don't seem to notice her. Still when a missing artifact endangers her family (and maybe the entire world!) Theo convinces her younger brother and a new friend (a pick-pocket) to help her. Aside from the whole idea of helping the world, she hopes that saving London may impress her parents so they'll finally notice her. This exciting mystery is filled with quirky characters, moments of humor and thrilling twists that take Theodosia all the way to Egypt. I really loved this book -- especially Theo. I hope there's a sequel in the works!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Love

    AWESOMESAUCE! I love this book because I love mytholigy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    :)

    Loved it since I was 10!! Adventurous, and I love the author's choice of words!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Awesome
    I luv ttheo!!!!!
    Why not a percy jackson x-over maybe theo sees through mist?COOL STORY
    I hear a book five is coming out sometime

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Good

    I love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Bloofy Brilliant

    An absolute favorite of mine to be sure. While targetted towards a younger crowd, it is actually quite a sophisticated read. The research gone into the series gives brilliant, vivid reading. The characters have wonderful depth especially Theodosia herself. Brilliant writing style with great vocabulary. I highly recommend this whole series.

    The only other series of similarity to recommend is the Kane Chronicles, but truly it doesn't hold a candle to Miss Theodosia Throckmorton.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Simply wonderful

    A story about a young british girl with an unusual talent for seeing curses. When her mother brings home the Heart of Egypt, it is up to Theo to save Britain and the world from curses and plagues that could mean the end of the world. A fun and satisfying read that will keep you hooked from start to finish. Recommended for ages 8-12.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Amazing!!!

    Favorite of all time!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Awesome Book

    The best.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    ,

    ,

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Amazing for people who like egypt

    Even though im not really into egypt i am on page 101 and i still like it because it does take breaks into susspence action.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    Amazing book

    I loved this book!! 5 stars!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    utjvf f f

    fhgchvbbcc

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3