Customer Reviews for

Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great read for all ages

Think of a combination of Nancy Drew and a little bit of Indiana Jones and you have Theo. I really did enjoy reading this book. It had a perfect blend of mystery, adventure, and paranormal characteristics that made the book enjoyable for all ages.

Not only was Theo ...
Think of a combination of Nancy Drew and a little bit of Indiana Jones and you have Theo. I really did enjoy reading this book. It had a perfect blend of mystery, adventure, and paranormal characteristics that made the book enjoyable for all ages.

Not only was Theo not a typical girl but she was curious, outspoken, and an adventure seeker who was not afraid of getting into danger. Her unique gift of finding the ancient curses and dispelling them is fun and different and I enjoyed her process of removing these curses from these items despite how oblivious her parents are. She does get a little lippy towards people older than her, but I like this part of her personality. It adds more to her stubborn character and adds more to her personality which makes the book all the more fun to read.

The plot was really good. As usual, there is an underlying main plot underneath a few mini story arcs. I like it, although it's nothing really new or different from other novels like this one but it provides the adventure to the story and when Theo does eventually get involved it adds more adventure and quickens the plot pace. My favorite bit was when Theo impresses a crowd with her removal of a particular curse. It gave me a triumphant feeling and I cheered her on as so many adults just seem to push her away just because she's just a child. However, Theo does have flaws, and sometimes her ability to remove the curse does backfire (and it has somewhat comedic consequences). The ending provides for much of the action, which gives the story a great climax and makes way for the second book.

What's also great about this story is the pace is steady and you're not slowed down at any time of the point. At each scene, you're there for a good time before moving onto the next one and there's no redundancy or over-repetitiveness. This book had a wonderful plot, an outstanding main character who's fun to read, and I think this is going to be a very exciting fun filled series! I most definitely recommend this book for people of all ages.

posted by Sensitivemuse on May 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best book ever!!! Must read.

This book is well written, interesting and eye-catching. My sister and I rarely agree on anything, but we both agree that this is one of the best books ever.

posted by 10136984 on January 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Just started and I can't put it down!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    One of my favs

    This book just pulled me in. My librarian recomended it to me and it was soooooo good. Must read!¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2007

    A reviewer

    this book rules! Ive read the Harry Potter series (going to read the 7th) and the Unfortunate events series (and a whole lot of other books) but this book totaly rules above all others!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2007

    DON'T MISS THIS BOOK!!

    I was really excited to get a review copy of Robin LaFevers April 2007 middle-grade mystery. And I couldn't wait to read it! In 1906 when most 11-year-old girls are polite, proper and respectful, Theodosia snoops out evil curses that haunt Egyptian antiques. She sleeps in a sarcophagus, reads hieroglyphics for fun and can sense dark magic. Her father is the Curator of the Museum of Legends and Antiquities in London and her mother is an archaeologist. But her parents are clueless about the evil curses attached to museum artifacts. Only Theo can see the dangerous magic oozing from ancient objects -- and she boldly rises to the job of getting rid of the curses. Still mistakes do happen -- like putting a curse on her beloved cat, Isis. But she keeps working to free the museum (and her cat) of evil curses by creating bewitching spells and cunning counter-curses. Sassy and bold, Theo is a delightfully original heroine. But inside she feels sad because her parents leave her alone a lot and don't seem to notice her. Still when a missing artifact endangers her family (and maybe the entire world!) Theo convinces her younger brother and a new friend (a pick-pocket) to help her. Aside from the whole idea of helping the world, she hopes that saving London may impress her parents so they'll finally notice her. This exciting mystery is filled with quirky characters, moments of humor and thrilling twists that take Theodosia all the way to Egypt. I really loved this book -- especially Theo. I hope there's a sequel in the works!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Love

    AWESOMESAUCE! I love this book because I love mytholigy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    :)

    Loved it since I was 10!! Adventurous, and I love the author's choice of words!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Awesome
    I luv ttheo!!!!!
    Why not a percy jackson x-over maybe theo sees through mist?COOL STORY
    I hear a book five is coming out sometime

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Bloofy Brilliant

    An absolute favorite of mine to be sure. While targetted towards a younger crowd, it is actually quite a sophisticated read. The research gone into the series gives brilliant, vivid reading. The characters have wonderful depth especially Theodosia herself. Brilliant writing style with great vocabulary. I highly recommend this whole series.

    The only other series of similarity to recommend is the Kane Chronicles, but truly it doesn't hold a candle to Miss Theodosia Throckmorton.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Simply wonderful

    A story about a young british girl with an unusual talent for seeing curses. When her mother brings home the Heart of Egypt, it is up to Theo to save Britain and the world from curses and plagues that could mean the end of the world. A fun and satisfying read that will keep you hooked from start to finish. Recommended for ages 8-12.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Amazing!!!

    Favorite of all time!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Awesome Book

    The best.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    ,

    ,

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Amazing for people who like egypt

    Even though im not really into egypt i am on page 101 and i still like it because it does take breaks into susspence action.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    Amazing book

    I loved this book!! 5 stars!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    unique!

    it was not as i expected. when books are set around egypt and egyptian artifacts, the topic is mostly about eternal life. i am glad that this is not the case here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    great read!!!

    Book Review Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos, written by R.L. LaFevers, set in London in 1906, is the original of an exciting series that caught my eye on the very first page. The story starts with Theodosia, who helps her father at the Museum of Legends and Antiquities in London. She is the only one who can sense all the black magic on the artifacts that arrive at the museum. One day Theodosia's father gets a package that contains a medium sized statue of a black cat that is oozing with an evil curse. The minute her mother arrives at the museum from her archeological dig in Egypt there is a presence of curses rolling through the air from every object especially the Heart of Egypt, which is one of the most valuable artifacts found by Theo's mom in Thutmose III tomb. Within a few days the Heart is stolen. Theodosia and her friends retrieve the heart, but must return it to Egypt for there is a curse on the Heart that could bring upon ones country famine, plague, pestilence, and destruction. Theodosia stows away on a boat that her parents are taking to Egypt, upon arrival Theo heads strait to the Valley of Kings in Cairo. German fortune-hunters want the Heart for their own and have followed Theodosia to Egypt, and while Theo is in Thutmose III tomb the three men follow her and attack her. But can Theodosia restore the Heart to its rightful place and save all of Britain? Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos included many positives and negatives. One of the positives was when the book was set in Egypt during the second portion, because I have always loved the stories and legends and the art that come from Egypt. Another positive was I thought that Theo was very courageous; which she demonstrated when she had to bring the Heart back to Egypt without anyone knowing and having to stowaway in a lifeboat on the top-deck. A final positive was that in the end Theodosia triumphed, and this was a positive for me because I think it is very exciting when the main character succeeds in completing a task that the whole story depends on. One of the negatives that I had was that I didn't like the way Theodosia's father acted toward her at the beginning of the story, the way he ignored her and told her to stay out of the way. Another negative I had was I didn't like the description of Clive Fagenbush, that made you sense he was the one who stole the Heart of Egypt when he really wasn't. A third negative that I had was I didn't like at the end when one of the museum workers, Nigel Bollingsworth, betrayed Theodosia even though he was so kind and polite to her at the beginning. R.L. LaFevers has a unique writing style. Her writing is very descriptive when she is trying to portray a place in the novel, such as when she explained that the Egyptian Bazaar was full of people and shopkeepers talking in different languages, and all the shops were full of brightly colored rugs and clothing. In this book LaFever chose to use first person and have the main character, Theodosia, be the narrator. I liked that she chose first person because you learned more about the characters from Theo's point of view. LaFevers used many ancient Egyptian names that I haven't heard before such as, Thutmose III, who was a King, and Amenemhab, who was his minister of war, were very fascinating people to learn about during the story. This author has a very creative writing style. Out of many books that I have read, I would highly recommend Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos. O

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    It's like 'The Mummy' movies but kids are the stars!!

    Highly entertaining! Adventure, danger, intrigue, and just enough Egyptian mythology, all wrapped up in hilarious, dry English humor. Clean, and good for kids. I can't wait to read the 2nd one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Candace Cunard for TeensReadToo.com

    Theodosia Throckmorton, a precocious and self-assured eleven-year-old girl, can see the curses swirling around the Egyptian artifacts in London's Museum of Legends and Antiquities. Too bad the grown-ups won't listen to her. Her father, the head curator, and her mother, an archaeologist who makes frequent trips to Egypt to acquire new artifacts, don't understand why their daughter continues to give them protective amulets, or at least get them to wear gloves when handling cursed objects! <BR/><BR/>Good thing Theo's a smart girl; she takes it upon herself to find ways to un-curse the things her parents bring back to the museum, learning how to read hieroglyphics and perusing old papyrus documents about the legends and myths of ancient Egypt. She's not perfect--sometimes her solutions go awry, as when she accidentally transfers a curse to her pet cat, Isis--but her skills keep the museum in good order, leaving her parents none the wiser. <BR/><BR/>Things start to get bad when Theo's mother comes back from Egypt with a new artifact: the Heart of Egypt, a legendary object that carries with it a curse that could destroy all of Britain and plunge the world into chaos. When the Heart of Egypt is stolen from the museum before Theo can work out a way to dispel the curse, she's sent on a wild chase through London. With the help of her younger brother, Henry, and a young pickpocket, Sticky Will, Theo organizes a plan to find the Heart of Egypt and steal it back. <BR/><BR/>Theo is an innovative and interesting young girl, and her first-person narration is full of spunk and energy that shapes her character. The narrative voice was easily my favorite part of the storytelling; Theo's narration was compelling, really showing the world through her eyes. The supporting cast--heroes and villains alike--is rendered in great detail, so hat even those characters who might seem larger-than-life are just right for their setting. LaFevers paints a wonderful picture of 1906 London, with nods to the geopolitical tensions rocking Europe at that point, delivered through the perspective of a young girl who cares more for curses than for politics. <BR/><BR/>The plot moves along at a good pace, spending just enough time on each scene that the reader gets a sense of being there, all of which is only emphasized by the voice of the novel's protagonist. The conclusion is satisfying, but the story's larger questions are left unanswered, in preparation for a sequel I can't wait to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2008

    Great Read!

    As one of the 'Potter Crowd' I have had trouble finding books with a story that I have enjoyed as much as Harry's. I purchased this particular book on a whim and have been very pleasantly suprised! Theodosia and her amazing abilities to spot cursed objects leads you on a fantastic adventure and will leave you excited for more! I'm so glad I picked it up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2007

    A reviewer

    Ooooo, this book is beyond fun! (Watch out Indiana Jones, there's a new kid in town.) Because what's not to like about secret brotherhoods, haunted museum exhibits, and de-hexing ancient artifacts? Theodosia is the kind of gal everyone would want for a best friend -- esp. if you need to get yourself out of a nasty pickle. Read this book and then share it with anyone with a hankering for adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2