Customer Reviews for

Therapy (Alex Delaware Series #18)

Average Rating 3.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

One of the best in the series.

A young man and woman are found dead, both shot at close range in the head, the woman, in addition to being shot, is impaled by a metal spike. Homicide detective Milo Sturgis responds to the call and brings his good friend, psychologist, Alex Delaware with him. The ...
A young man and woman are found dead, both shot at close range in the head, the woman, in addition to being shot, is impaled by a metal spike. Homicide detective Milo Sturgis responds to the call and brings his good friend, psychologist, Alex Delaware with him. The crime scene holds no information about the young woman, but the man is found to be Gavin Quick, a troubled soul whose past landed him on a therapist¿s couch. Alex begins looking into Gavin¿s background to find a man who, once he suffered a major head-injury, had wild mood swings and began obsessing about certain women. As a result of an incident with a woman he admired, Gavin was forced to see Dr. Mary Lou Koppel, a popular psychologist who guards the privacy of her patient¿alive or dead. Alex desperately needs the help of Dr. Koppel, but her resistance to divulge information leaves him cold, then a shocking discovery has him questioning her about the death of another one of her patients. Alex and Milo start digging deeper through Gavin¿s past only to find more questions that need answering, until another woman is found impaled and the investigation takes a surprising turn. `Therapy¿ is the best Alex Delaware book is years. Once begun the book can¿t be put down. Expert pacing and a masterful plot will keep you racing through the pages to find out who did it and why. Jonathan Kellerman has made the psychological thriller genre his own and `Therapy¿, his most powerful and suspenseful novel, shows him at the top of his game. Set aside some time because you¿ll be up all night reading! Nick Gonnella

posted by Anonymous on April 23, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

In need if Therapy

Kellerman continues to have his lead character roam the streets of Beverly Hills and West Los Angeles with geographic accuracy and interest. Delaware is once again drawn into a case of murder by his long time friend Milo Sturgis, this time with a practice of psychother...
Kellerman continues to have his lead character roam the streets of Beverly Hills and West Los Angeles with geographic accuracy and interest. Delaware is once again drawn into a case of murder by his long time friend Milo Sturgis, this time with a practice of psychotherapists as the main suspects. And it's this wonderful Delaware formula of mystery that has kept readers going back to this fine series of novels. This one, however, falls short of some of his best, and the numerous plot turns arn't enough to save it. There are just so many characters covered that few are 'fleshed' out very well and, at times, you find yourself not caring about most of the others. But the biggest disappointment is Dr Delaware himself. He has become an 'all knowing' shrink/cop/intellectual that is now even conducting Police interrogations while the career Detective stands by and listens. What happened to the semi-retired shrink with the wonderful character flaws and emotional vulnerabilities? When will we again see Delaware get in over his head (and even get beat up now and then)? I miss the old Dr Delaware and would like to see him back in the next novel !

posted by Anonymous on June 5, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2004

    One of the best in the series.

    A young man and woman are found dead, both shot at close range in the head, the woman, in addition to being shot, is impaled by a metal spike. Homicide detective Milo Sturgis responds to the call and brings his good friend, psychologist, Alex Delaware with him. The crime scene holds no information about the young woman, but the man is found to be Gavin Quick, a troubled soul whose past landed him on a therapist¿s couch. Alex begins looking into Gavin¿s background to find a man who, once he suffered a major head-injury, had wild mood swings and began obsessing about certain women. As a result of an incident with a woman he admired, Gavin was forced to see Dr. Mary Lou Koppel, a popular psychologist who guards the privacy of her patient¿alive or dead. Alex desperately needs the help of Dr. Koppel, but her resistance to divulge information leaves him cold, then a shocking discovery has him questioning her about the death of another one of her patients. Alex and Milo start digging deeper through Gavin¿s past only to find more questions that need answering, until another woman is found impaled and the investigation takes a surprising turn. `Therapy¿ is the best Alex Delaware book is years. Once begun the book can¿t be put down. Expert pacing and a masterful plot will keep you racing through the pages to find out who did it and why. Jonathan Kellerman has made the psychological thriller genre his own and `Therapy¿, his most powerful and suspenseful novel, shows him at the top of his game. Set aside some time because you¿ll be up all night reading! Nick Gonnella

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2007

    Big dissapointment!

    Sorry, but this was my first experience with Jonathan Kellerman and my last! While I know that the author needs to give details and make you feel and 'live' the experince sort of speak, there is a limit. I think that he took it over board! Too many non-relevant details, breakfast, coffee, couches, etc. I got bored to my teeth into my 2nd chapter and yet I still, hung in there to the 5th!!! that is all I could take! Sorry.. he might be a great therapist but Jon, stick witk your arena!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2005

    Kellerman never tells a bad story!!!

    I have been an avid Kellerman fan for the better part of two years, mainly of his Alex Delaware novels. I have never read a bad Kellerman novel and don't expect to ever do so. He delivers top-notch reading from cover to cover. Threrapy is no exception, the story was packed with so many psychological twists and turns, all leading up to a hyped-up ending. I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2004

    In need if Therapy

    Kellerman continues to have his lead character roam the streets of Beverly Hills and West Los Angeles with geographic accuracy and interest. Delaware is once again drawn into a case of murder by his long time friend Milo Sturgis, this time with a practice of psychotherapists as the main suspects. And it's this wonderful Delaware formula of mystery that has kept readers going back to this fine series of novels. This one, however, falls short of some of his best, and the numerous plot turns arn't enough to save it. There are just so many characters covered that few are 'fleshed' out very well and, at times, you find yourself not caring about most of the others. But the biggest disappointment is Dr Delaware himself. He has become an 'all knowing' shrink/cop/intellectual that is now even conducting Police interrogations while the career Detective stands by and listens. What happened to the semi-retired shrink with the wonderful character flaws and emotional vulnerabilities? When will we again see Delaware get in over his head (and even get beat up now and then)? I miss the old Dr Delaware and would like to see him back in the next novel !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Wren

    Watvhed him fearfully. "How do I know that?" She asked. (Sorry had piano practice)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Good one.

    I liked the part about Milo's screensaver.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    Recommend!

    Older book which gives some background on Alex & Robin's relationship (Spike as well!). The book is as always very good and a good example of how Alex & Milo work together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Excellent read.

    Excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2007

    Enjoyable enough.

    Therapy was a pretty cool psychological thriller. Like the rest of Kellerman's stories this one started off with a dreadful murder of a young couple. So Alex & Milo come along to unfold this case which leads to crazy turns outs that doesn't quite matches the first murder. Or at least close by the ending. But it was all still good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2006

    Not the Best - Not the Worst

    This story was a decent mystery and did a great job depicting the many characters. Some parts were a bit boring and drawn out more than necessary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2005

    Flimsy dud

    This was the first Kellerman book I have read, and the last. The plot is flimsy, the character development superficial, the writing banal and lacking in any depth or substance. The result: No tension, no suspense, and no empathy for the characters, including the lead hip LA dudes, Alex, a middle-aged single 'psychologist-sleuth' (oh please!) with adoring sort-of girlfriend, and his sidekick Milo, the requisite gay man.The whole set up rendered me apathetic to the max. These guys and their victims are cartoon characters at best. What Kellerman does achieve is Mapquest accuracy of Beverly Hills and LA, but who cares? It simply comes across as elitist name dropping. There is a preponderance of hashing over the plot elements by Alex and Milo, leaving not a whole lot of room for the reader to speculate along the way. Blah, blah, blah. I grudgingly plowed my way through it, chastising myself for not just giving up, and moving on to my next book. Then I deposited where it belonged, in the trash. No more Kellerman for me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2005

    'Therapy' Disappointing

    Johnathan Kellerman's 'Therapy' was a huge disappointment. I love the Alex Delaware and Milo characters, but this time around, the storyline moved along very slow, I found myself skipping paragraphs to get to the really interesting parts and it just didn't happen. Hopefully Kellerman's next novel will read like his previous best sellers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2005

    Not His Best

    I was so looking forward to this book and I was very disappointed. Alex's love life has gotton just plain weird. It was almost like the book didn't know which to go so it kept meandering around. Hopefully he gets back to more of the psychological side of Alex. Truly a disappointment

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2004

    thumbs down

    I couldn't finish this one, it got boring. There was too much theorizing and not enough substance in the story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2004

    Not up to par

    I snatched this book up, as I do all JK novels, but I was disappointed. I really felt like he was coasting here. I normally adore his books for the detailed police procedurals, but this story was lacking. I didn't particularly care about the people, plot, etc. And it wasn't woven together well at all. I didn't have a problem getting through it, because it moves fast enough, and I kept assuming it would get better, but it never did. Wait for the paperback.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2004

    Average at Best

    Have read most of Kellerman's books and this one is not up to his usual high standard and good reads. No reason to delve into plot. Pass on this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2004

    Ho-Hum

    Just finished this latest Kellerman novel and found it definitely lacking. I have read several of the Alex Delaware novels and found the plot of this one rather dull. There is no character identification here and Milo and Alex really aren't taxed greatly in this whodunnit. I wouldn't invest in this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2004

    Not worth waiting for!

    I have read all the Kellermans' books, both Jon and Faye. Both spouses have had bombs on their resumes as well as home runs. I never bothered finishing this one--and in addition, I skipped to the last few pages to find out how it ended! And I did not care. Hey, Faye, let's have more Pete Decker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2004

    Maybe not his best - but not too bad!

    Like other reviewers, I too have read all of Kellerman's Alex Delaware novels. I'd rate this one somewhere in the middle. Not the worst ('The Web' no doubt has that honor) but not the best either. The story moves at pretty slow pace and offers few surprises along the way (particularly if you're in tune with Kellerman's style). It might be worth 'checking out' .... but don't expect too much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2004

    dreadful

    I have read each and every one of Kellerman's Delaware novels.Some I have not been able to put down.Some have been just fair.Never before have I struggled through one as with 'therapy'.I think it may be time for Kellerman to take a break.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2