Customer Reviews for

There Are No Children Here: The Story of Two Boys Growing up in the Other America

Average Rating 5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Must read!

    This book is captivating, eye-opening, and leaves you wanting to hug these two boys. I found myself cheering and routing this family on while I got to learn about a truly stratified society. I very much recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    This book was assigned for a Graduate class. We had to apply Ge

    This book was assigned for a Graduate class. We had to apply Germain and Gitternman's Ecological Model to the characters in the book. It helped me see how our environment directly affects how we are able to cope, how we act, and how we generalize what we go through to the rest of the world. The book is an extremely easy read and you are drawn to the characters and develop a sense of caring for them. It is also a good narrative of how life is living in poverty, violence, and social prejudice (and racial). It is heartbreaking, full of hope, harrowing, and unforgettable.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    Great book.

    Just a sample of what povety can do to a child...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!

    This book was a very good book. At first I thought that it was going to be a bad book, but as i got to know the people I found that this was an amazing story and that it is true just blows my mind that kids have to deal with neighborhood shootings every day and act like they are no big deal. I strongly recommend it to anyone. It has all the aspects that a good book needs; facts, struggles, a little romance and most importantly a strong family bond that you learn to rely on. This book has put many things into perspective for me. I realized that my problems are nothing compared to Pharoah's and Lafeyette's. I worry about the next day's homework and what I will wear to school tomorrow. While they have to worry about if they will make it home at all. This book will have an impact on my life because I was a very inspirational book in the messages about holding on to your family because when everything goes wrong you know that you can rely on them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This book was absolutely great!!!

    Its a shame how many kids are at a disadvantage from birth. I have much respect for Mr. Kotlowitz for trying to be part of the solution and not adding on to the problems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2008

    On Line Book Review of There Are No Children Here

    I choose There Are No Children Here because it was a nonfiction biography,and because of its high reviews. It was a very enjoyable book.The book really opened my eyes more into the lives of children growing up in poverty as well as in the ghetto. I also learned alot about Chihcago that I never knew.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2006

    It's an excellent book!!

    THERE ARE NO CHILDREN HERE This book is about two kids and their family growing up in the Henry Horner Projects. The boys¿ names are Pharaoh and Lafayette. The boys¿ mother is named Lajoe. Lajoe, as any caring mother would, tried to keep her kids out of trouble and in school, but they faced the fact that were they lived was not safe at all. They suffered from poverty, Lajoe had very little money. Pharaoh and Lafayette want to go to college. Their dream is to leave the projects and move into a nicer safer place. Most of the people in the complex would never open their windows because they feared that bullets might come flying in. Most of the gang members consist of boys as young as thirteen. Kids that age were already shooting, fighting, doing drugs, gangbanging and drinking. It was difficult living in the projects because nothing ever changed. Paul, the kids¿ father never helped them. He didn¿t even have a job, he only made things worse. He sold his kid¿s T.V for drugs. I think that the title, There Are No Children Here means that there are no children there in the projects because of the many things they see that there are not suppose to. That¿s why most of them grow up as bad adults because of the killing, drugs, shooting, and fighting that they saw as kids. Many people don¿t survive because of the dangers in the projects. There is more to it, but you have to read to find out. I hope you read There Are No Children Here to find out more about the other America. I would recommend this book to someone because it¿s a different life style from what other people live.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2005

    Fabulous!

    I thought this was a great book! Very interesting and so hard to put down. Kotlowitz did a great job painting a picture of how Lafayette and Pharoah live in Chicago and the struggles that they have to face. Excellant!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2003

    Very moving book.

    I can't wait to read this book for a second time. Even if this is not the type of book you would normally read, you will be glad when you do. I was truly inspired by Lafayette, Pharoah, and their mother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2003

    Life changing book

    An amazing book that will change the way you see inner city children. It helped me find my career. Heart wrenching and enraging. You only hope the author writes a follow up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2003

    Moving! Excellent!

    After re-reading this book for the second time I was once again moved at how Kotlowitz vividly displayed light within the darkness in the Horner homes. An excellently moving book I reccommend it! 5 stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2003

    Read this book!!

    This book touched my soul deeply and immediately. I needed to read it for an English class I am taking, and found myself unable to put it down. I yearn to learn more...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2003

    Great Book, that exposes the reality of inner-city life

    Alex Kotlowitz did a great job with this book. As I read it I felt that I was going through what Pharoah and Lafeyette went through. This book makes you realize how hard life is for those who grow up in such a place as they did. This book has helped me to develop more compassion for inner-city children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2002

    There Are No Children Here

    Alex Kotlowitz describe this story amazingly well. As I turned each page I felt like I was there with Pharoah and Lafeyette. Truly one of the best books I have ever read. Deserves a place in your home library! Great Book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2002

    Eye Opening and Inspiring!

    I would recommend this book to anyone. It is well written and disturbing yet motivating. I don't believe that anyone could read this book and not be moved to tears, laughter and action!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2002

    ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS I HAVE EVER READ !!!!

    I read this book in 1992. The two brothers from the book, Lafayette and Pharoah just popped into my mine. My heart still goes out to them. Yes, you will remember these boys and wonder what happened to them and how they are doing. I am shopping on B&N for another copy to read it again!! It was one of the most moving books that I have ever read. If you know nothing about growing up in the projects and would like to educated or be aware of some of America's real life problems this book is a must read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2002

    Wonderful Facts In This Book

    I read this book when I was around 13 years old, and I am now 22. I bought it after I saw the TV movie starring Oprah. I don't remember the storyline at all, but what did leave an impression on me was the facts and history of the inner-city projects. This book made me look at life from a totally different perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2002

    Best Book Ever

    This is a number one book everbody must read. None of us know what really goes on in the inner city projects. And if we do we choose to ignore it. But this book makes us see what really goes on and forces us to do something about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2001

    Very Good Book

    I loved this book. It was so real and I it gave me a better understanding of the problems that Americans face everyday. I recommend this book to someone like myself who isn't familiar with the inner-city culture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2001

    One Awesome Book!

    This is the best book i have ever read. This is a book that depicts the life of a poor family that lives in south-side Chicago. The book tells about the hurdles and triumpths that this family goes through. I would recomend this book to anyone because it is fantastic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2