Customer Reviews for

There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Fly

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 19, 2013

    *Reviewed by Gallataea - Age 7* This book was about a lady who

    *Reviewed by Gallataea - Age 7*

    This book was about a lady who swallowed bugs and a lot of animals.

    My favorite part was when she swallowed the cat. The cat looked like Monkey!

    I didn’t like when she swallowed the horse. I don’t know how she swallowed all that stuff anyway.

    This book taught me not to swallow a fly.

    I give this book a 5 it was a fun rhyming story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended for younger children

    The story of the old lady who swallowed a fly is a classic, there are many different versions but this is the best. The repetition is great for early readers and younger children. The student/children can learn but repeating the "chorus". This book is also great for prediction. You can ask the class what should come next after each animal this old lady swallows. There are also great puppets and other manipulatives to use when reading to children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    there was an old lady who swallowed a fly

    this book is one of my favorite books.it is a great classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Just really fun!

    My son and I really got into this when we read it! This particular retelling of the rhyme had ad libs from the characters that added a lot of fun to the story. When you have to continually reread the same book for your child, it makes it great when you can become part of it. Get into it and make it fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    LOVE This BOOK!!!

    This is an excellent book. My son received it for his 2nd birthday and we have been reading it for the past year. I have even bought copies for friends. Love this version with the artwork and added statements by the animals. It really increases the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    The artwork is beautiful.

    I enjoyed the beautiful artwork that went along with the poem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2007

    Like riding a bicycle

    My son and I took this book out of the library this week and we both love it. I haven't read this in about 33 years but like riding a bicycle, I didn't forget that catchy song.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2006

    There Was An Old Lady Who Swallowed a Fly Review

    CALDECOTT: I enjoyed reading, There Was An Old Lady Who Swallowed A Fly, book. It was very entertaining and amusing. I liked the fact when I turned each page it would show whatever animal she had swallowed, plus the previous animals swallowed. I think kids would enjoy this book and think it was funny. The author rhymed the parts well and even had comments from other animals that rhymed. Simms Taback grew up in the Bronx, in a neighbourhood of mainly Eastern European Jews, who built their own co-operative housing project. 'It was like a Utopia for me, with a community centre, science and sports clubs, a library and art classes. My mother was especially supportive of my artistic talent and I attended the High School of Music and Art, and graduated from Cooper Union.' Since then, he has had a varied career in the applied arts, working as a graphic designer, advertising agency art director, and partner in a design/illustration office. As a freelance illustrator, he has worked for national advertising clients, contributed to numerous magazines and has designed and published his own line of greetings cards. He has taught illustration and design at the School of Visual Arts, and at Syracuse University, and has served as the president of both the Illustrators' Guild and the Graphic Artists' Guild. He presently lives and works with his wife, Gail, in the Catskill Mountains in upstate New York. He has three children and five grandchildren, who are impressed that he designed and illustrated the very first McDonalds Happy Meal box. He has illustrated about thirty-five books for children, twice being selected for a New York Times Best Illustrated Book award. His adaptation of There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Fly received the Parents' Choice Gold Award, the Parenting Magic Reading Award and was chosen for a Caldecott Honor in 1998. In 2000 he was awarded the distinguished Caldecott Medal for Joseph Had a Little Overcoat. There Was An Old Lady Who Swallowed A Fly, book is about a lady that in the beginning of the story swallows a fly. She then swallows a spider to catch the fly. After she swallows the spider she swallows something else to catch it. She continues this process until she is unable to swallow anything else. No ever figures out what she swallowed the fly in the first place. ¿There was an old lady who swallowed a cat¿. This is the part of the story where the old lady swallowed the cat to catch the bird that she had swallowed to catch something else. ¿There was an old lady who swallowed a horse. She died, of course!¿. This part of the story shows the author rhyming and the fact that the lady can no longer swallow anything else. Taback, Simms. There Was An Old Lady Who Swallowed A Fly. New York: Viking Penguin, 1997. Grade Level: 1st

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2004

    Who doesn't love this one?

    This is an oldie, but a goodie, that will probably be around forever. The little ditty about lady who swallowed a fly, then swallowed a spider to catch it. Oops! Now, what will she do about the spider inside her? Hmm, perhaps she¿ll die¿ Unless, she swallows a bird! The uniqueness of this book is the way the pages show what is inside the lady as she gets fatter and fatter. Moral of the story? Don¿t swallow a horse, of course!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2000

    'I don't know why?'

    I don't know why anyone wouldn't want to read this wonderfull book to their 4 year olds. I work in a day care, with a group of 4 year olds who just can't seem to get enough of 'The Old Lady' and her appetite. They thoroughly enjoy watching the Old Lady's stomach grow and grow as she swallows the various animals in this story. I have read this story so much that I am now on my second book. My children and I wouldn't have it any other way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2000

    Outstanding reading material for any child

    This copy of 'The Old Lady Who Swallowed A Fly' has a hard cover and thick lasting pages. The print is clear and of large readable size, enabling any reader in any grade enjoy a hilarious story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2000

    A wonderful story!!!

    My sister told us the story and in one day my 5 year old little boy had memorized it. With the spider that wiggled and giggled and tickled inside her,it makes a wonderful song to sing to the kids on the swingset. Absolutely the BEST!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1