Customer Reviews for

There Was an Old Woman

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A Light Mystery of the Aging!

    THERE WAS AN OLD WOMAN by Hallie Ephron is a realistic reminder, of how it is “heck” growing old and aging. An intriguing suspense mystery surrounding the lengths some will go for greed, as they prey on the aging.

    The story starts out a little slow with the background; however, gains speed the second half when elements start falling into place for a mystery thriller.

    The book opens with Mina (90, independent and feisty), as she is reading obituaries, as another one “bites the dust”, and is added to her list. The neighbor tells Mina to call her daughter, Ginger with an encrypted message. Mina calls Ginger, who informs her sister Evie, it is her turn to care for their elderly, alcoholic mother (Sandra). Evie is in the middle of a project but agrees to look after her mom. After leaving the hospital she returns to her mother’s house to find a mess of a hoarder among other strange things.

    A series of events occur and some man keeps hanging around wanting to fix things. Evie does not have a good feeling about this man. She learns several of the homes in the neighborhood have been burned, sold, or torn down, as a developer is trying to buy all the properties.

    In the meantime, Mina’s nephew wants to move her into an assisted living so he can get his hands on her home. In addition, Mina starts losing papers, leaves stove on, and gets knocked down by a car. Is some trying to setup these elderly, in order to make them think they are losing it?

    Evie becomes convinced that Mina’s forgetfulness is not simply due to her age, and Mina’s nephew, who insists that Mina move into a nursing home, may be hiding something. Evie and Mina team up to get to the bottom on this mystery in the neighborhood, triggering the elderly. The two women share more than a neighborhood, but also a past one wants to preserve and the other hopes to forget.

    Readers will connect with Mina, and as one of the reviewers mentioned, we all love Grandma Mazur (from Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series), and Mina comes in at a close second!

    There are some nice tie in’s—Evie is a fireman's daughter who witnessed a tragic blaze at a young age, she is curating a show for a historical society about the day in 1945 a lost B-25 bomber slammed into the Empire State Building—a crash, as it happens, Mina survived. Told from both Evie's and Mina's perspectives offering a bit of an historical fiction and a light mystery combo.

    Listened to the audiobook with narrator, Nan McNamara who has a pleasing voice. Would recommend to readers who enjoy light mysteries, not die hard-heart pounding suspense crime thrillers, as may not be exciting enough to please this audience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    Fir and Ice at saz resone

    Fir and lce at saz resone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    ArtemisWind

    At found results 1-12

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    Stories here

    &star &starf &star
    P. S. Talk to me and read my bio at starmaker all res

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    good book!

    I wasn't sure if i was going to like this book, but I usually stick with the authors that i really like. Very good book!! You won't be wasting your money if u purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    I enjoyed this book, especially Mina, the elderly woman who peop

    I enjoyed this book, especially Mina, the elderly woman who people thought had dementia. She proved what a strong woman she was. Evie finally stepped up to the plate to go help take care of her mother.
    It was a good story, but I wanted more suspense. It was too predictable. Still, I enjoyed it very much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    Suprised I loved it as much as I did, not my usual genre... Read

    Suprised I loved it as much as I did, not my usual genre...
    Read it cover to cover in one sitting

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings  A slow start,

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

     A slow start, but a great finish to this thriller.  A young woman who has spent her professional life preserving moments from the past for others to enjoy for years to come, when she is ripped out of her normal routine to her hometown to take care of her suddenly ailing mother.  Along with an elderly neighbor who is quite a feisty one they uncover a plot that is ripping through their neighborhood and the real question is who is behind the plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Suspenseful and Compelling

    The last thing Evie Ferrante wanted to do was go back to her childhood home and deal with her alcoholic mother. But when her mother is hospitalized, it falls to Evie to do just that. When she arrives at her mother’s home, she finds that her mother has become a hoarder. The house is in chaos and it appears her mother hasn’t thrown anything away in a long time. While cleaning up, Evie renews a friendship with her mother’s elderly neighbor Mina. Mina has her own problems and secrets. Her nephew Brian is trying to get Mina to move into a senior care community. As Evie gets to know more, she finds that deception and madness abound. There is much more going on in the neighborhood than it first seems. Author Hallie Ephron has created realistic characters that will tug on your heartstrings. The characters are well developed and will probably remind you of people you know. Her eye for detail places the reader in the middle of the scene and among the action. The historical aspects of the story are also intriguing. This is a compelling story that will have you on the edge of your seat anticipating the next move. There are twists and turns that will keep you in suspense until the end. While this story may not be filled with heart-stopping action, it will hold you mesmerized until the suspense grabs you without warning. THERE WAS AN OLD WOMAN shines a new light on how the elderly manage and why. Once you begin reading this fascinating story, you’ll be entangled and unable to let go until you know the outcome. FTC Full Disclosure - I requested this book as part of the author’s virtual book tour. The book was sent to me as part of the promotion in hopes I would review it. However, receiving the complimentary copy did not influence my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    In the Higgs Point waterfront section of the Bronx there is some

    In the Higgs Point waterfront section of the Bronx there is some strange things going on in the neighborhood. As former owners pass away, their waterfront homes are sold and quickly demolished. Something bad is happening to the neighbors and the marshland is being threatened.




    Ninety-one year old Mina Yetner is a feisty independent elderly woman who spends her days watching what is becoming of her neighborhood. With her memory failing, Mina makes lists of family, friends and neighbors who have passed away. Mina's pushy nephew Brian is trying to persuade her to give up her house and move to a senior residential community.




    An ambulance pulls up outside of neighbor Sandra Ferrante's house. Before being transported to the hospital, the alcoholic widow asks Mina to call her daughter Ginger and tell her "don't let him in until I'm gone." When Ginger is notified of her mother's hospitalization, she passes the responsibility on to her sister Evie. Evie is surprised to find her mother's house in complete disarray, a hoarder's delight ... except there is a big flat screen television on the wall and envelopes of money containing hundred dollar bills scattered among the debris. As Evie cleans up her mother's house and befriends her mother's neighbor Mina, she quickly discovers that something mysterious is going on, and she is determined to find out what is happening in the quaint Bronx neighborhood.




    There Was An Old Woman is a chilling psychological thriller that keeps the reader sitting on the edge of their seat. Author Hallie Ephron weaves an intriguing tale of mystery and suspense written in the third person narrative alternating between the perspectives of Mina Yetner and Evie Ferrante. This multi-layered tale of deception engages the reader to follow along as the suspense slowly builds and the mystery unfolds with intriguing backstories, cryptic messages, deception, suspicion, and enough twists and turns that keeps them guessing and turning the pages.




    Mina was my favorite character, I loved her feistiness, sassy sense of humor, and fierce independence. I admired Evie's strength and determination to get to bottom of what was happening in the neighborhood. The author does a really good job of building their character development, they are realistic and believable, you can't help but follow along with these two ladies as the story unfolds.




    With an interesting cast of characters who you will either love or dislike; witty dialogue and interactions; a richly detailed and descriptive setting in the Bronx; and a fast-paced storyline that captivates the reader's attention; There Was An Old Woman is a creepy and sinister psychological tale that will delight diehard mystery suspense thriller fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book has been called "a work of domestic noir" an

    This book has been called "a work of domestic noir" and I can't agree more! The cast of  unforgettable characters will keep you spellbound and reading until you finish the book! Admittedly I had guessed what was going on pretty quickly, but the fun was seeing how the characters would find out and what they would do, and who would survive the ever entangled web of deceit. The ending may surprise you as well! I couldn't put this one down and you won't be able to either!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I'm not a big suspense/thriller reader, but something about Hall

    I'm not a big suspense/thriller reader, but something about Hallie Ephron's novel, There Was An Old Woman caught my eye. Maybe it was the nursery rhyme title or maybe it was the fact that one of the major characters is an independent woman in her 80s.
    Either way, I'm glad I read this unique novel. The book opens with Mina reading the obituaries in the Daily News. She spies the name of one of her neighbors and adds the name and date to her notebook. (The neighbor is number 151.)
    Mina hears an ambulance and discovers another neighbor being taken out on a stretcher. The neighbor tells Mina to call her daughter Ginger and then says, "Please tell Ginger. Don't let him in until I'm gone."
    And with those cryptic words she is loaded into the ambulance. Mina calls Ginger, who calls her sister Evie and tells her it is Evie's turn to care for their  bitter, angry, alcoholic mother. Evie reluctantly agrees and, after seeing her mother in the hospital, heads to her mother's house and is shocked by what she sees.
    The house looks like an episode of Hoarders: garbage everywhere, a broken window, rotting food, dirty dishes and empty cat food tins. But her mother doesn't have a cat. And where did she get the brand new big flat screen TV on the wall?
    There is a neighbor whom Evie doesn't know who has been hanging around her mother, and Evie doesn't trust him. Evie goes to visit Mina, and Mina tells her that several homes in their Higgs Point neighborhood have burned, or been sold and torn down. A developer is trying to buy up all the property on the cheap.
    Evie stops in to the local neighborhood store and sees that it is run by the son of the owner. He tells her that he has formed a non-profit to try and save the neighborhood from the developers, and encourages her to join him.
    Mina's nephew wants to move her into an assisted living home so that he can get his hands on her home. Strange things start happening to Mina- she loses important papers, leaves the stove on, gets knocked down by a car backing up. Is her nephew up to no good or is it too much for her to continue to live on her own?
    Mina and Evie are curious to find out what is going on in the neighborhood and who is behind it. They  make a great team and their characters are so appealing. Evie feels guilt about not keeping in touch with her mother (who doesn't make it easy) and I think many readers will relate to her.
    But for me, Mina is the real star. I love this character! She seems like the neighbor we all know, with her fastidious ways and fierce independence. She misses her beloved sister, whom she lived with for many years, but she continues on with her life.
    The mystery keeps you guessing, and although I thought I knew who did it, I didn't know the all-important why. The writing is crisp, and this is the perfect book for a rainy day read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    I loved this book. It had wonderful characters, and the locale w

    I loved this book. It had wonderful characters, and the locale was fascinating. I didn't see the ending coming! I have recommended this to my friends who love mysteries. I am a fan. Molly Campbell

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    I loved the characters in what is now my favorite book by Hallie

    I loved the characters in what is now my favorite book by Hallie Ephron. Mina, the feisty ninety-one year “old” woman rekindles her acquaintance with Evie, whose alcoholic mother lives next door to Mina. Evie, a bit of an old soul herself, works in historic preservation and senses a little mystery in Mina’s own history. Ephron handles the difficult issues of aging and alcoholism with realism, compassion and even a little of the dark humor you need to cope with both. Set in a neighborhood where the East River meets Long Island Sound, you can almost smell the marsh as the neighborhood filled with shotgun houses falls prey to ruthless development. Ephron blends an airplane crash into the Empire State Building in the 1940’s with the timeless greed for land to create mounting suspense about what is happening to Mina, Evie and their neighborhood. Little doses of suspense begin to accumulate like a steady snowfall. Ephron, who teaches how to write suspense, defines it as “that itchy twitchy feeling you give a reader when they know something is going to happen.”
    I thought I had figured it all out, even pleased by the ending I knew was coming, until Ephron nailed me and one of her characters in the middle of the forehead with an snowball of an ending I did not see coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1