Customer Reviews for

There is No Light in Darkness

Average Rating 4.5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    :)

    Wow!!! What an amazing book! Love Cole!!!! Buy it, you will not be disappointed!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    My thoughts┬┐ Omigosh! Wow! As in W-O-W! To say I liked this boo

    My thoughts…

    Omigosh! Wow! As in W-O-W! To say I liked this book would be a huge understatement. It's  ah-freakin-maz-ing!

    Here's the deal. I kept reading status updates by another reviewer on twitter and I knew that I needed to check out what she was raving about. So I marched (actually I ran) over to Goodreads and read the synopsis. It immediately intrigued me and I knew I HAD to read it.

    Since this past Memorial day weekend was my "I get to read anything I want so suck it" weekend I immediately started reading it. If I hadn't started it so late Saturday night I would have finished it in one sitting.

    This story offers a lot of elements. Of course it's a romance, but it's also a mystery as has a healthy dose of suspense. It will keep you guessing until the very end. It's also highly emotional and at times heart wrenching.

    Warning: It ends on a cliffhanger so when you get there you will be shaking your head saying no, no, no!  

    Luckily for you I purposely held off posting my review because book two releases today and you'll be able to devour them both back to back. *grin*

    Cole. OMG I loved Cole! He's quite simply amazing. He loves Blake so much. You could just tell by the way he treats her and does things for her. *swoon* He's definitely earned a spot within my top 5 book boyfriends.

    And Blake. She's pretty amazing too. I really loved her. I felt bad for her and for all she had to endure at such a young age. It ends up haunting her, but she's a lot stronger than she thinks she is and that's what makes her amazing.

    The secondary characters are all interesting. I really liked Aubrey and I hope *fingers crossed* that he and Aimee get a happy ending in the next book. There's just something about him that I liked. Greg & Becky were also great secondary characters too.

    The sexual content in this story is really hot. It's steamier than mainstream romance and will get your heart racing.

    Overall I think Ms Contreras did an amazing job crafting this story. It's one that I will be purchasing in print for my shelves and reading over and over again in the future.

    If you like a romance that offers suspense that will keep you guessing might I suggest There is No Light in Darkness. It's by far one of the best books I've read so far this year.

    Rating: 5 Stars

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Actually happy over a cliffhanger--

    I hate cliffhangers. But in this book it doesnt infurriate me, it makes me crazy smile over hving anothef book to freak over.
    I usually dont like suspence/mistery books. I stick witb my romance or paranormal romance, but im SO happy i took the chance. Tjis book was perfectly paced and also made me love flashbacks- which usually irritate me- oh no- these flashbacks were epicly awesome.
    So if u love sexy charachters and situations, heart pounding moments, and a totally different plot- stop reading my review and get this kickass book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Must read

    I freakn loved this book! The characters were angsty and had their own issues without apologizing for them. Blake is a strong female w/problems but she doesn't whine or complain. Cole is probably the best bFF (book boyfriend) ever! You must read this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    LOVED LOVED LOVED this series!!!!!! I am so in love with everyt

    LOVED LOVED LOVED this series!!!!!! I am so in love with everything about this story! AND COLE omg!!! he is perfect

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Good read

    This was such a good book. I hope the second book comes out soon, I hate cliffhanhers. I read this book on acouple hours. I just couldnt put it down with all its twist and turns

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Amazing book!

    Finished the book within a few hours. Contreras' characters are well developed and the plot thickens as you turn each page. I loved the cliffhanger and can't wait to read book 2!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2014

    Loose yourself in this book

    Here is a book that you can loose yourself for a couple hours. Claire is hands down my new favorite author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Totally addicting!

    Absolutely amazing book! I was so addicted I could not put this book down! Wow! Thank you for this wonderful read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Here is my review of both books. No spoilers involved. This book

    Here is my review of both books. No spoilers involved. This book was purchased at a different retailer.
    I started and finished this series yesterday, I know. And, I'm still speechless and in awe of how much emotion I felt for these fictional characters. Claire Contreras BLEW MY MIND. I knew this would be a good read because of all of the recommendations I'd received for it from fellow book lovers, but I wasn't prepared for how much it would take over my life! I am consumed with thoughts about the books, I can't pick up another book, I can't sleep, I had to come into my office sit down (bang my head on the desk a little, and it's a glass desk!) and get it all out before moving on with my life (which really guys, it somehow seems impossible right now to continue living as I did before). I'm going to attempt to turn this into something productive and not just a gushy mushy love-fest on how you just need to skip everything I say AND GO BUY THE BOOKS YOURSELF. 
    ATTEMPT #1:
    WOW...
    UMMM...
    UNABLE TO FORM COHERENT SENTENCES AT THE MOMENT...
    K...
    ALMOST READY...
    PROCESSING...
    When I began book one, There is No Light in Darkness, initially I was confused and flipping back and forth between new and old pages. I was rereading passages and trying to A. Figure out who was who and B. Figure out the whole story (because that's what I do). Umm.. Yeah. Claire Contreras is a SUPER SECRET SPY and you can't crack her code. No really. The way she unfolds events is on a mastery level that even I, avid reader and code cracker, was unable to pick. She shocks and overwhelms and then beats you on the head with the emotions pouring out of your chest! Just to do it all over again. The beginning was confusing, trying to figure out who was who, because Blake is a girl and Aubry is a guy and.. the way Claire constructs the introductions of everyone (or lack thereof, in the beginning) was mind boggling. Don't misread my feelings, I loved this and it was a fun start, diverse and kept me on my toes. Who needs to be spoon fed? We're all adults here. I went into the story blind, I feel like I'd read the synopsis before (like when I purchased book 1) but seeing as I don't know when I bought it, it could have been months ago. So, I didn't really know what I was getting into, just that I wanted to get into it. This book owns me right now, no exaggeration. I am pwned (no that's not a typo, it's a joke).
    This series is dark and deep and a messy messy emotional battle. It's not a light and easy read; it's intense and real, so empty some space out of your heart because you will need it. These books will hold you prisoner until the very last page. It's heartbreaking, earth shattering, and a paranoid little disaster of a story with broken pieces that throughout the story find their place among the rubble. I can't put down in words how deep this book ran in me and I can only try to express my love for the darkness that emits from the pages and buried into me. These characters are now part of me, this phenomenal writer has written her words directly onto my mess of a heart.
    Blake and Cole. Blake and Cole. Blake and Cole... Oh Goodness. I have this thing for best friends turned lovers. I mean seriously guys, I married my best friend. And, this is just the type of romance that I ADORE. This book is by far MY NEW FAVORITE love story. The beginning whole book gives me butterflies just thinking about it. Their easy banter, teasing, and sexual chemistry was enough to hook me until the very end. The jealousy that rivets and the make up sex that follows, ahh, so much awesomeness. This is romance done 100% right. The best!
    Blake has this family, the people she loves that she can count on one hand. And, I loved them too. Through everything they're there for her and each other. They all drop everything and come together constantly. Stemming from broken homes and meeting in the life and loving arms of a woman with the biggest heart ever, they build their own unit and prosper greatly. There is no shortage of secondary characters and each one is just as important as the leads.
    Surrounding this series, especially in book 2, is major drama. Like, criminal drama. Crazy stuff. Crazy bloodlines and suspense and just so much intense action and sadness. I cried big fat crazy person tears all alone while my husband would walk by and wonder what in the world was wrong with me. Then he'd walk by and see my laughing hysterically; and know I'd gone off the deep end. Oh man. I was a big huge mess.
    I'm giving this series 5 million stars and I'm placing it on my favorite, reread and will never forget shelves in my head. I was, am, and will always be blown away by this series created by Claire Contreras and I am DEFINITELY going to be stalking/following/reading everything she writes-from now on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Love

    I loved this book. Im glad i waited until both were out to read. I started book two as soon as i finished this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Great characters

    Coles love is what all girls dream about. The story flowed and the characters complemented each other well. Great Series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    TiWi

    Worth more then 5 STARS...A must read.....LOVED this book....the whole book kept me interested & I felt like screaming after page103. This book has steamy love scenes, suspense, and I even laughed @ some parts ***Adore Cole*** Reading the sequel "Darkness Before Dawn" in a few minutes can't wait!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2013

    Blake is a girl who at a young age witnesses the murder of her p

    Blake is a girl who at a young age witnesses the murder of her parents. The story picks up twenty one years later & Blake is still trying to move on with her life. She still struggles with nightmares of that night. Her childhood friends are always by her side & Cole especially is always there to comfort her. Through “past”& “present” chapter telling, we get to put together bits & pieces of the past. I  can’t go much further into detail without ruining the entire plot but this book is the perfect mix of love, murder & mystery…..and it has one hell of an ending…..can’t wait for book two.

    ….I was thankful that he loved me the way I was- scars & all.   -Blake

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Awesome

    Awesome book...I love Cole.. can't wait for the second one!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Hates cliffhangers?

    Agh! You cant end like this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    So incredibly great

    Agh! OMG! I am screaming inside. I can't believe this just ended. So much is left to be told, it will be told, I can not wait!

    This has it all and is so flipping original! There is an amazing love story, but there is loss. This book in some ways reads almost like a thriller. It was hard for me to mentally classify this. Its so incredible. I applaud Claire Contreras for delivering a unique, sexy heart wrencher, that leaves you wanting more and more.

    There are so many surprises in this story, its hard to discuss it because I don't want to give anything away. There are a few things that make an incredible story to me, Pace is so important, lot happens in this story but it is not rushed, nor does it drag on. It moves at a flawless pace. I also look for there to be that love connection that can give you the chills when you think about their love for one another. The love between Cole and Blake is magnetic. The chemistry between the two is unmistakable. Cole's love for Blake is beautiful. I also really enjoy when there are other strong relationships in a book. Blake finds a family in her four best friends and her caretaker Maggie.

    Now this story has an element that I don't always look for but I loved how it played a huge role, suspense. As I read the first pages in this book, my jaw hung open, this was not what I was expecting, this was better. Turning page after page, you are on the edge of your seat anticipating what will happen next. My only moment cursing the heavens, was when this book ended still having me on the very edge of my seat.

    I can not wait to read the next book. Claire Contreras is one heck of an amazing author and I think I will enjoy whatever she writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    A MUST READ

    Move this book to the top of your TBR list! Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Must read!!!!

    Love this book. Well written, hot scenes, suspense many twists...you have to read this....love, love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    A Must Read

    This is a real page turner that I finished too fast because I am a fast reader. I can't wait until book two is released....what a cliffhanger. This novel would make a very good movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3