Customer Reviews for

Thereby Hangs a Tail (Chet and Bernie Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 216 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

For the dog and mystery lover in you

This is the second book in this series, and a considerable improvement over the first. I had a couple of laugh out loud moments while reading this book, whereas the first book was cute but not funny and the first mystery wasn't one. This book keeps you guessing as to wh...
This is the second book in this series, and a considerable improvement over the first. I had a couple of laugh out loud moments while reading this book, whereas the first book was cute but not funny and the first mystery wasn't one. This book keeps you guessing as to who, how many, and how bad re the bad guys, and the style of story-as-told-by-dog has gotten much better. As Chet relates the tale to you, you can start to see into his doggie ADHD, and understand how he flunked out of the academy and ended up with Bernie. Bernie is the loser everybody really wants to be a winner, an honest guy, a man with honor, a human who really loves his dog and his kid. The plot is better in this second installation, characters are more developed, and we get more history on the dynamic duo who are Chet and Bernie. Chhhhhe..e..e..e..etttttt?!

posted by Jay-Fer on March 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A disappointment

Why, does Chet have to cuss? Bernie and Chet have developed real potty mouths, which I find unnessary.

posted by Carollou3 on March 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 219 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted March 6, 2010

    For the dog and mystery lover in you

    This is the second book in this series, and a considerable improvement over the first. I had a couple of laugh out loud moments while reading this book, whereas the first book was cute but not funny and the first mystery wasn't one. This book keeps you guessing as to who, how many, and how bad re the bad guys, and the style of story-as-told-by-dog has gotten much better. As Chet relates the tale to you, you can start to see into his doggie ADHD, and understand how he flunked out of the academy and ended up with Bernie. Bernie is the loser everybody really wants to be a winner, an honest guy, a man with honor, a human who really loves his dog and his kid. The plot is better in this second installation, characters are more developed, and we get more history on the dynamic duo who are Chet and Bernie. Chhhhhe..e..e..e..etttttt?!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another hit for Chet and Bernie!

    Chet and Bernie once again take on the bad guys. This time we meet Princess, a tiny "show" dog, and find a murderous plot surrounds her. What do the hippies have to do with anything? How about the sheriff or the husband? As the plot unfolds, we find Suzy (reporter) back in the mix. Will Chet ever get more of the special bisquits?

    I enjoyed this sequel to "Dog On It." Reading the book from Chet's point of view makes me look at my own dog and wonder what he is thinking. Spencer Quinn has another hit on his hands and I can't wait for number 3!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Even better than the first one!!

    Chet and Bernie are back at it in another adventure. In my opinion this book is more exciting and hilarious than Dog On It which I also loved. I highly recommend this book...

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great read!

    I really enjoyed the first book and I believe I enjoyed this one even more. I appreciate the way Quinn makes Chet such a believable character in terms of a dog. As I read the book and Chet's reaction to things and at he same time watched my dogs, a lab and a border collie, Chet's manerisms seemed ever so real to me. Quinn's books make me laugh as well as has mystery enough to keep me reading to see what happens. It seems to me that this book was better than the first one in terms of the story line and flow of events. I bought this book as a Valentine gift for my husband because he enjoyed the first so much. We are fans!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    A disappointment

    Why, does Chet have to cuss? Bernie and Chet have developed real potty mouths, which I find unnessary.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    I am LOVING these Chet & Bernie books!

    I wouldn't dare to write a negative review. I'm afraid Chet might chase me down and grab me by the pant let.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    If you like stories with animals & also mysteries, you will devour this book as well as the entire series!

    I have become a very big fan of the Chet & Bernie mystery series ever since reading the 1st book, DOG ON IT, which was given to me from my aunt as a birthday present. I am now on the fourth book, THE DOG WHO KNEW TOO MUCH, & am enjoying it very much too. I love mystery books and also love books with animals in them, having collected & read all of the books in the Cat Who, Joe Grey, Mrs. Murphy, & Midnight Louie series, & I have a very good time solving the mysteries in the books along with the main characters & at the end piecing together all of the clues & finding out the identity of the guilty party or parties & seeing them sent to prison where they belong. Give the Chet & Bernie mysteries a try if you like mysteries like me. You will not regret it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Great new series

    I read this after reading first book of this new series, truly a unique way of writing the story with dog as main narrator, Could easily visualize the dog telling the story.Great plots and excellant descriptions of happenings. Definitely enjoyed and awaiting further sequels in this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A winning mystery

    Chet's human pet Bernie Little is a private investigator, whom the canine helps solve cases by using his nose and bark. Their current client is Countess Adelina di Borghese from Passaic, New Jersey, who lives on an expensive ranch with plenty of horses also residing there as she has come a long way from being an urban Jersey girl. Bernie has been hired because of threats to her and her pampered dog show-dog Princess. The case is an utter bore to Chet and tedious to Bernie as nothing happens and barking is disallowed.

    However, the situation on the ground changes when the Countess and her royal canine princess are kidnapped and dog-napped respectively. The search and rescue mission goes badly as Chet is separated from Bernie only to be snatched and sold to a punk running away to Alaska. Escaping this miscreant Chet ends up having the military try to kill him when he accidentally wanders on to an exercise site to take a decent leak. However, Bernie becomes truly motivated when reporter Susie Sanchez disappears while covering the abduction of Princess story. Chet's motive is doggie treat and a hero's welcome, canine style from one of the snobbish victims.

    The key to this canine noir told mostly by Chet in between bodily needs is that first and foremost he comes across as a dog and not a "human" inside a canine's skin. Chet makes the tale of the tail as he relates stories or follows clues partially only to be sidetracked by a need like a good tree or a cat. The kidnapping story line is well written and entertaining as fans will enjoy Chet's escapades Dog On It in a world in which humans make stupid rules of where to pee, mount, bark, bite, and eat as if canines are the ones not doing what comes natural.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    If you love dogs, you have to meet Chet!

    Ok, I am a dog lover, and there is no doubt about it, I love Chet!
    He reminds me of my dog Charley who was indeed my guardian Angel. He was always there to protect me, and if he didn't like you, you would find out very soon. I have finished all of the books and there wasn't one that I didn't love. Mr. Quinn, please keep Chet in your books, and make the books longer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Love that Chet, who loves his Bernie...
    Story kept me guessing for a while, "panting" for the rest of the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    A very cute, well done mystery told in the voice of Chet the Dog

    A very cute, well done mystery told in the voice of Chet the Dog. It really puts a different twist on a story to see it in the eye of a dog. It is a crafty weave that gives us all the detail we need to follow the detectives and yet still know only what the dog does.

    There was more language in it than I would like.

    Leaves a bit of a mystery that still needs to be solved. Must read the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    A fun read

    The Spencer Quinn stories narrated by Chet the dog are fun to read. I started looking at my dog differently and could see him in many of Chet's gestures and comments.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Another Home Run for Chet and Bernie

    This is number 2 in the Chet and Bernie series but just as good as #1.
    We learn more about Chet's past and his early experiences with Bernie. Still do not know, for sure, why one of the neighbors is not a fan of Chet. Once again, Chet has faith in Bernie's ability to solve the case. Chet does worry about their finances, with good reason, but seems to think Bernie will figure that out too.
    There are times when Chet's mind seems to wander as it seems to be with my own dog but, when the chips are down, he comes through and Bernie picks up on the very subtle hints Chet is able to give.
    Waiting eagerly for book number 3.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    Thereby Hangs A Tail by Spencer Quinn

    This is the second book in a new series about a Private Investigator and his dog Chet. Throughout the story Chet's perspective is often running right alongside his owners thoughts. He's asked to investigate a death threat made against the #1 show dog and its owner/handler. Its a cute easy read which does keep your interest. The interplay between the PI and his dog is cute and often humorous.There is enough action and intrigue to hold your attention, as well as the mystery as to who is behind this. If you like animals, dogs in particular, and want a little mystery, this may be the book for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Great Book

    Just as good as the first book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Good mystery; the dog is wonderful!

    This is the second book by Spencer Quinn that I have read. Both have been good. The character of the dog is developed further in this book; the dog's "thoughts" are just how they "think"! (I have a dog). The plot this time was similar to that in the first book but there were enough differences that I did not feel I was re-reading the first one. The dog makes the book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Tails

    Afrer this week is going to be EOG's so I might not be on a whole lot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Carmella

    ((And... I gtg to bed.))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Knuckles

    I dont have wifi at our house cause we just moved and so does tails so it will be on friday if we get our wifi on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 219 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11