Customer Reviews for

There's a Boy in the Girls' Bathroom

Average Rating 4.5
( 203 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(149)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

One time it is good for a boy to go in the girl's bathroom

I read this book in a literature circle in an education class at my university. I quite enjoyed it even being 21 years old. The characters were dynamic and every chapter read was a surprise in itself. It opened my eyes to what it was like to be in fifth grade again.
I read this book in a literature circle in an education class at my university. I quite enjoyed it even being 21 years old. The characters were dynamic and every chapter read was a surprise in itself. It opened my eyes to what it was like to be in fifth grade again.
The story puts you in the shoes of the main character and you get to relive the fifth grade experience again. You get to see the trails of what it is like to be a child that does not feel like they are accepted and the ways the child will act out and attempt to fit in. I was aware of all the things a child goes through but how big of an impact it had on the child kind of blurred until I read this book. Peer acceptance is a big thing to a student but also how a teacher treats a student plays a large role in their success. This book shows this.
You are reminded of the ways kids interact, what it was like to have crushes, the embarrassment tied to accidentally walking into the bathroom of the opposite sex, and what it is like to be left alone. You remember hall passes, getting gold stars or praise, and recess.
This book teaches good moral lessons to kids and adults alike. It also provides future educators or parent on ideas on how to deal with, and properly communicate with, students or kid who feel isolated.
This is an fun story which captures the imagination and uses an array of good vocabulary for a fifth grade reader (approximate). I would strongly recommend it to be implemented in a classroom for literature circles, buddy and/or independent readings because it is an interesting story which kids can connect to and really get into. Students will get into the book starting with just the cover. Just wait until they flip through the pages.

posted by Kimberly-P on February 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Book mrs3301

This book will make you feel like you are back in the fifth grade. It tells the story of Bradley Chalkers' wild, yet heart warming changing of mind. Things start to change once Bradley meets Carla, the school counselor. Carla encourages him to work on his attitude and t...
This book will make you feel like you are back in the fifth grade. It tells the story of Bradley Chalkers' wild, yet heart warming changing of mind. Things start to change once Bradley meets Carla, the school counselor. Carla encourages him to work on his attitude and the way he treats his other classmates.
I am sure lots of students this age can relate to this book. They may not be as bad as Bradley Chalkers, but they may feel like they do not fit in. I think everyone can learn a lesson from this book; do not judge based on first impressions. Anyone can change for the better, and become an amazing friend.

mrs3301

posted by mrs3301 on September 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 204 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted February 11, 2009

    One time it is good for a boy to go in the girl's bathroom

    I read this book in a literature circle in an education class at my university. I quite enjoyed it even being 21 years old. The characters were dynamic and every chapter read was a surprise in itself. It opened my eyes to what it was like to be in fifth grade again.<BR/> The story puts you in the shoes of the main character and you get to relive the fifth grade experience again. You get to see the trails of what it is like to be a child that does not feel like they are accepted and the ways the child will act out and attempt to fit in. I was aware of all the things a child goes through but how big of an impact it had on the child kind of blurred until I read this book. Peer acceptance is a big thing to a student but also how a teacher treats a student plays a large role in their success. This book shows this. <BR/> You are reminded of the ways kids interact, what it was like to have crushes, the embarrassment tied to accidentally walking into the bathroom of the opposite sex, and what it is like to be left alone. You remember hall passes, getting gold stars or praise, and recess.<BR/> This book teaches good moral lessons to kids and adults alike. It also provides future educators or parent on ideas on how to deal with, and properly communicate with, students or kid who feel isolated.<BR/> This is an fun story which captures the imagination and uses an array of good vocabulary for a fifth grade reader (approximate). I would strongly recommend it to be implemented in a classroom for literature circles, buddy and/or independent readings because it is an interesting story which kids can connect to and really get into. Students will get into the book starting with just the cover. Just wait until they flip through the pages.

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This Book is Great!!!!!!!!!!

    It is a very funny book. I couldn't take my eyes off of the book when I started to read it.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    I love this book!

    In my theatre class at my school we are redoing this book into a play. I wanted to read the book tounderstand the character I am playing. I love this book. Shows how you can change yourself with hard work and a great consuler.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Abby

    This book rocks. I highly recomend it. Its funny and very interesting :)

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2008

    okay

    I thought that There's a Boy in the Girls Bathroom was kind of funney, & in it's self wierd in some ways.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    A reviewer

    There¿s A Boy in the Girl¿s Bathroom written by Louis Sachar, is about Bradley and Jeff friendship at school. Bradley has problems at school with girls, his friend Jeff, and the teacher¿s. One time there was Jeff going somewhere and than! Well I am not going to tell you it is really funny. My favorite part was when Jeff and Bradley went to a girl¿s bathroom and they both got screamed at a girl. There was this great and funny part where Bradley was crying and he is a bully because someone who Bradley likes is transferring to another school. There¿s this part where Bradley and Jeff got hit by the same girl. That girl gave them both a black eye. Bradley goes to a birthday party this is his first time going to a birthday party. It is Colleen birthday. You should read this book it is really funny and a little bit sad. You should read what gift did Bradley gave Colleen for her birthday party. This is like the best book I have ever read I hope you like the book good luck.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    100% Awsome

    The book there's a boy in the girls bathroom,is an awsome book.I give it a 100% awsome.An A++.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Great

    My teacher read this to my class and it was our second book

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    AWESOME

    Great , hard not to stop read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Sniff....so good

    When i got to the ending......well i almost cried because of one part....but it was a good book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2007

    A reviewer

    Have you ever done something you didn¿t mean to do? Then There¿s a Boy in the Girl¿s Bathroom is just the book for you! The story is about a boy named Bradley Chalkers who has to learn to behave and do better in school. I enjoyed reading the book because I thought it was hilarious. Bradley was held back when he was in fourth grade 'making him the biggest, oldest boy in Ms. Ebbel¿s fifth grade class' and it was probably not his last time in fifth grade. He makes friends with Jeff Fishkin, and Carla Davis, the school counselor. Ms. Davis often sees Bradley or Jeff for sessions. This makes me think about my little brother who¿s extremely annoying, like Bradley. You¿re probably thinking I¿m going to tell you more, but nice try. Do you think Bradley will change from mean to nice? Will he do better in school? Find out in There¿s a Boy in the Girl¿s Bathroom!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Great!

    I personally love this book! I have a lot of connections throughout the story so I can connect with some of the characters. Probaly even if the connections were not there I could probaly still feel the emotions of the character. I am in third grade and the characters are in fifth so even though I am not the exact age I can stll connect. It doesn't matter how old you are because in my opioin this book is great for all genera's

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    I read this book in 4th grade for literature circles. We had 3 b

    I read this book in 4th grade for literature circles. We had 3 books to choose from: A basketball book, a talking cat book, or There's a Boy in the Girl's Bathroom.
    I picked this book because it was LOUIS SACHAR and it had a funny name. The other 2 people in my group picked the other 2 books. We all had a fight over which one and couldn't decide so the teacher randomly picked one with her eyes closed. This one was picked and my group got mad but I knew I would like this book just 'cause it had a funny, stupid title. Better than basketball or a talking cat at least. We started reading this book and we ALL LOVED IT! At the end I almost cried and my group was sad because of that. (Not going to tell). This was the first book in my life besides anime that I haven't found boring at all. I would re-read this book anytime.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    A

    Loved it!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Ae

    Im reading this boog and am likeing it. God Bless Loius Sachar for his gift in writeing

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Good

    I love this book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    AWESOME BOOK

    AWESOME BOOK

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Amazing

    This book was great!!!!!!!!!!!!!. Igive it a 5+

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    AMAZING for anyone to read

    It is not just a kids book it is about how a kid struggles to be who heis and he used to be a jerk but a consler helpshim .He feels that he finally has a chance but he doesnt know how to accomplish it. This book is amazing it shows u that if u try ur hardest it has got to work

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Awesome

    I love the book so far i could not get my eyes off

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 204 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11