Customer Reviews for

There's a Boy in the Girls' Bathroom

Average Rating 4.5
( 204 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(150)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

One time it is good for a boy to go in the girl's bathroom

I read this book in a literature circle in an education class at my university. I quite enjoyed it even being 21 years old. The characters were dynamic and every chapter read was a surprise in itself. It opened my eyes to what it was like to be in fifth grade again.
I read this book in a literature circle in an education class at my university. I quite enjoyed it even being 21 years old. The characters were dynamic and every chapter read was a surprise in itself. It opened my eyes to what it was like to be in fifth grade again.
The story puts you in the shoes of the main character and you get to relive the fifth grade experience again. You get to see the trails of what it is like to be a child that does not feel like they are accepted and the ways the child will act out and attempt to fit in. I was aware of all the things a child goes through but how big of an impact it had on the child kind of blurred until I read this book. Peer acceptance is a big thing to a student but also how a teacher treats a student plays a large role in their success. This book shows this.
You are reminded of the ways kids interact, what it was like to have crushes, the embarrassment tied to accidentally walking into the bathroom of the opposite sex, and what it is like to be left alone. You remember hall passes, getting gold stars or praise, and recess.
This book teaches good moral lessons to kids and adults alike. It also provides future educators or parent on ideas on how to deal with, and properly communicate with, students or kid who feel isolated.
This is an fun story which captures the imagination and uses an array of good vocabulary for a fifth grade reader (approximate). I would strongly recommend it to be implemented in a classroom for literature circles, buddy and/or independent readings because it is an interesting story which kids can connect to and really get into. Students will get into the book starting with just the cover. Just wait until they flip through the pages.

posted by Kimberly-P on February 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Jas

I just started reading the book it is a good book

posted by Anonymous on April 14, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2008

    okay

    I thought that There's a Boy in the Girls Bathroom was kind of funney, & in it's self wierd in some ways.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2007

    A reviewer

    Have you ever done something you didn¿t mean to do? Then There¿s a Boy in the Girl¿s Bathroom is just the book for you! The story is about a boy named Bradley Chalkers who has to learn to behave and do better in school. I enjoyed reading the book because I thought it was hilarious. Bradley was held back when he was in fourth grade 'making him the biggest, oldest boy in Ms. Ebbel¿s fifth grade class' and it was probably not his last time in fifth grade. He makes friends with Jeff Fishkin, and Carla Davis, the school counselor. Ms. Davis often sees Bradley or Jeff for sessions. This makes me think about my little brother who¿s extremely annoying, like Bradley. You¿re probably thinking I¿m going to tell you more, but nice try. Do you think Bradley will change from mean to nice? Will he do better in school? Find out in There¿s a Boy in the Girl¿s Bathroom!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Amazing

    This book was great!!!!!!!!!!!!!. Igive it a 5+

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    "Give me a dollar or I'll spit on you" WRW3301

    There's a Boy in the Girl's Bathroom is a combination of humor and lesson. Bradley Chalkers, the worst fifth grader in his class, is forced to see the school counselor in order to fix his behavior issues. Although Bradley is very reluctant in going, he begins counseling sessions once a week. Instead of telling Bradley what to do, Miss Davis listens to his stories. Although very stubborn, Bradley Chalkers surprises his teachers and himself. This short story is an attempt to show readers the good in everyone. Although first impressions are important, getting to know the real person is essential. Sachar uses a little fifth grade boy to show that through self-respect and believing in yourself, anything is possible. When reading this book, students will be able to realize that not everything is what it seems at the beginning. A good friend means getting to know a person for who they really are behind closed doors

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    Ahhh, a boy in the girls bathroom

    There¿s a Boy in the Girl¿s Bathroom by Louis Sachar is a great book. The story is about the meanest kid in the fifth grade, Bradley. His councelor, Carla, and Jeff are new to Red Hill School. Carla teaches Bradley to be nice. She also teaches Bradley to do his homework. I like this book because at on point in the story, Jeff goes into the Girl¿s Bathroom. Also, it has a surprising ending. Bradley goes to a birthday party. You¿ll never guess what happens. I can¿t tell you, but there¿s a good ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2008

    its funny

    I like this book beacuse in this book it is talking about this kid that has trouble in school. I have trouble in school too but not as much as him. When he goes to try to find the counselor he walks into the girls bathroom and all of the girls scream. The kid dosent really want to go to the counselor but his mom makes him go beausce she know that he is haveing trouble in school.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2007

    Good book for 9yr olds!

    I really like this book because it talks about every little detail. I loved reading this book!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2005

    I really liked this book.

    I enjoyed this book very much. I thought the characters were well thought out.Bradley was portrayed as a non stable person who needed counsling, but in reality he just needed someone to care. In the book, He talks to non realistic things like nick nacks and things that werent living.Although I enjoyed this book I didnt like the ending I would've liked it to go a little further into detail.I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good laugh and a meaningful story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    ??

    What happened at the end??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Cool

    Ha loser!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Great book

    Omg i love this book because he changes and he luvs his councler it just mixed emotions :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    There is a boy in the girls bathroom is funny

    I like the little stuff animakes they are so funny esspecially barthalomule

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Fith grader

    Im in fith grade and this dose remind me of shool overthe weekkennd

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    The ok book

    I'm reading it now and so far it's pretty good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2007

    Did you here that there is A Boy In The Girls Bathroom?

    The book There's A Boy In The Girls Bathroom is the best book I have ever read. It has drama,and everything an outstanding book needs. There are magnificient details included. I guess this wraps it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2005

    There's a Boy in the Girls' Bathroom

    This book is a great book so far. I would like to finish the book so I know what happens to Bradley and Jeff. Carla is a counselor who is nice to all the kids. I don¿t want to give away what happens at the end but Carla and Bradley fall in love. This book is sometimes funny and sometimes sad. This book made me realize that bullies are not always trying to be mean. Colleen is a girl who likes Jeff but when Colleen invites Jeff to her birthday party .Jeff is the only boy that is going to be there. So Colleen decides to invite Bradley so Jeff dose not feel lonely. After the party Bradley feels great because He came in first place and this was the first party he has been to in a long time. I think that the moral of this story is to always be nice to other people and other people will be nice to you just like the golden rule.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2005

    outrageous

    This book is a very good book. I like this book because Bradley¿s life is maybe a little like my life. When I read this book I think I am really there. Sometimes I feel sad for Bradley because no one wants to be his friends. After when Jeff came, Bradley finally had a friend. When Jeff and Bradley were friends they were really close. They ended up not being friends any more because everyone thought that Jeff beat up Bradley and everyone was happy because Bradley was a bully but, not any more! After that they stop being friends they whould not talk to each other. Jeff at that time had new friends I felt sad for Bradley because he had no friends and he was lonely. After when Jeff and his gang wanted a fight with Bradley I felt a little scared for Bradley then, out of no there Bradley just said ¿HI¿ and Jeff¿s gang wanted to play basketball with him and so he did and they were friends again I was happy for him. At the end they stayed friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2005

    There's a Boy in the Girls' Bathroom

    I think this book is pretty funny because Bradley is very funny. Bradley is a kid that a lot of people don¿t like. Bradley went in to the girl¿s bathroom and so did Jeff Fishkin, a new kid. Jeff Fishkin is Bradley¿s friend in the beginning, but after a few days Jeff is not really his friend. Then one day the teacher suggested that Bradley and Jeff are going to the counselor¿s office. Colleen punched both Bradley and Jeff and gets a black eye. At the end, Colleen invites Bradley and Jeff to a party and Bradley finally realizes what life is all about. The book has a lot of humor because while Bradley gets counseling, Carla is teaching him good things. I think Bradley and Jeff are going to get help from the school counselor, Carla. Even though a lot of people think Bradley is hopeless, but I don¿t think so. The book is greatest book I¿ve ever read. Everybody should read this book. I hope everybody thinks is very good book. So get this book and read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2005

    Awesome

    This book is about a fifth grade boy named Bradley. He is the oldest boy in his class, just like my cousin who is the oldest boy in his class. Bradley got held back in the fourth grade. In the end Bradley becomes a responsible boy. Deep down he really is a nice boy. This book is so funny and enjoyable. My favorite part was when Bradley wrote a HUGE list of things to do with Carla, the school counselor. Carla seems like a really nice person to me. She¿s always going along with Bradley¿s funny sayings. Thank you Louis Sachar for this awesome book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2005

    There's a Boy in the Girls' Bathroom

    This book is about a boy named Bradley who doesn¿t have any friends because he is a mean bully. A new boy, Jeff tries to make friends with him but all Bradley says is ¿Give me a dollar or I¿ll spit on you.¿ The cool kids at class thought Jeff punched Bradley but he didn¿t so Jeff ended up making friends with the cool kids. Then Bradley tried to be nice with a little help of the school counselor, Carla. When Carla leaves, Bradley turns into a bully again. This book made me laugh because some people in the story remind me of people in real life. Bradley reminds me of a few people who bullies just to make more friends. I think that¿s why Bradley bullies a lot because he never had a friend before, let alone a best friend. Bradley can make more friends if he were nice to people instead of being more like a bully. If Bradley will treat others the way he wanted to be treated he would¿ve made a lot of great friends. I think that There¿s a boy in the Girls Bathroom book is a very good and inspirational book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2