Customer Reviews for

There's Cake in My Future

Average Rating 4.5
( 109 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Excellent read

    I loved this book!!! It was one of those books I didn't want to put down but kinda wish I had because it would have taken longer to finish and after I was done, I wanted more. The characters were so intertwined, it was like you were right there with them. Can't remember the last time I laughed so much while reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Really great book!!!!!!!!

    I definatly reccomend this book. It is really good for pretty much any age. The only issue is the over use of F$&$
    I cryed along with one of the minor characters at the secpnd to last Nic chapter, she was definatly my favorite character.

    Can't wait to read the sequal!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2014

    A new author for me, loved her writing style and her characters

    A new author for me, loved her writing style and her characters were a hoot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Great book!

    Love all the perspectives from the three main characters. Perfectly highlights and brings together different dating situations and stages in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Entertaining

    A great book for women 25 - 40 and a fun read for the rest of us. After 2 weeks I'm still giggling over the second-to-youngest character (can't say more or I'd give part of the story away). Author keenly portrays real characters with 21st Century lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Great

    I recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Great chick read

    Enjoyed the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Loved it!

    This book was great! I loved how I felt like I truly got to know each of the main characters like they were my friends. I felt really engaged in the story and it was sad when I finished it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Entertaining one day read

    My first time reading this author. Could'nt put the book down. Loved all the characters. Can't wait to read another one of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Great story and a must read! Didn't want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    From a readers standpoint: very good

    From a writers standpoint: Not so much. It had a good plot but very simplistic and not the best piece of literature to ever come out. But a very fun book nonetheless.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    Funny and Heartfelt!

    This was a fun, funny and heartfelt easy read. I fell in love with all of the different characters and their personal stories!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hoping for a sequel

    It's a week before Nicole's wedding. The night of her bridal shower, Nicole informs her best friends, Seema and Melissa, that she rigged her cake in order to give each woman her "happily ever after". For Melissa, Nicole wants her to have the engagement ring. Melissa is currently dating Fred and he still "hasn't put a ring on it". And it's been six years. SIX!!! Seema will get the red hot chili pepper. She's been secretly in love with Scott and is afraid to tell him in fear it will ruin their friendship. And for herself, Nic wants the shovel. She was laid off from her newspaper and desperately wants to find a job. The shovel represents a lifetime of hard work.

    Unfortunately neither woman pulls her intended charm: Nic gets the baby carriage; Seema gets the shovel and Melissa pulls the red hot chili pepper. Not completely buying into the fate of the pulled charms, each woman begins to panic when it appears as though the charms are leading them down a road they are not ready to explore.

    Gruenenfelder did a fantastic job of bringing these friends to life. Told in alternating chapters, the reader can easily slip into the characters' stories and root for each to find happiness.

    There's Cake in My Future is an amusing and engaging read. The ending left an opening for a sequel and I hope Gruenenfelder will bring back these characters. I felt as though I met new friends and I want to know what's next for these three women. This is one not to be missed by fans of chick lit. Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    Gruenenfelder's talent is limitless

    I have been a Gruenenfelder fan from the very beginning. I have to admit, when I learned she was writing a book that didn't have any of my favorite "A Total Waste of Makeup" characters, I was a little apprehensive. But this book was phenomenal, and I found myself relating to the main characters and their situations every step of the way. A Chick Lit must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6