Customer Reviews for

There's No Place Like Here

Average Rating 4
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

In Ireland, ten year old Jenny-May Butler vanished without a trace. The Garda investigated but found no clues. Her classmate Sandy Shortt wonders what happened to Jenny-May and for that matter, possessions that seem to just vanish in thin air.-------------------------...
In Ireland, ten year old Jenny-May Butler vanished without a trace. The Garda investigated but found no clues. Her classmate Sandy Shortt wonders what happened to Jenny-May and for that matter, possessions that seem to just vanish in thin air.-------------------------- Twenty-four years later Sandy remains obsessed with things going missing as she quit being a Garda to go private in order to concentrate on finding missing people. However, this time while she was to meet a client she goes missing. This is ironic as her job is to find the vanished and she is an intimidating 6¿1¿ so cannot hide in a crowd. Sandy has no idea where she is. However, she notices plenty of junk lying around like keys, shoes, photos etc. that are those things that just seem to vanish for no logical cause. She tries to retrace her jog, but fails to return from here. She thinks of her client Jack Rutledge whose brother is missing and her first meeting at fourteen with school psychiatrist Gregory Burton who she told she just wants to know where missing things go like a sock disappearing from the washer. She begins to understand that this place is where missing things and people go, but not how to get back.-------------- This is a delightful fanciful tale in which ¿Here¿ is a fun concept. The lead character is a strong person who holds the story line together while the support cast is solid. Although there is no explanation as to why ¿Here¿ exists it just is readers will enjoy this whimsical visit to a place like no other as it just in the fertile imagination of Cecilia Ahern.-------------- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I had high hopes...

This book was such a disappointment- especially after having read and loved P.S. I love you and Love,Rosie. I kept waiting for the book to get better but it never did. I found myself skimming most of the book and still able to follow the storyline. Maybe the next boo...
This book was such a disappointment- especially after having read and loved P.S. I love you and Love,Rosie. I kept waiting for the book to get better but it never did. I found myself skimming most of the book and still able to follow the storyline. Maybe the next book will be better.

posted by Anonymous on January 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    In Ireland, ten year old Jenny-May Butler vanished without a trace. The Garda investigated but found no clues. Her classmate Sandy Shortt wonders what happened to Jenny-May and for that matter, possessions that seem to just vanish in thin air.-------------------------- Twenty-four years later Sandy remains obsessed with things going missing as she quit being a Garda to go private in order to concentrate on finding missing people. However, this time while she was to meet a client she goes missing. This is ironic as her job is to find the vanished and she is an intimidating 6¿1¿ so cannot hide in a crowd. Sandy has no idea where she is. However, she notices plenty of junk lying around like keys, shoes, photos etc. that are those things that just seem to vanish for no logical cause. She tries to retrace her jog, but fails to return from here. She thinks of her client Jack Rutledge whose brother is missing and her first meeting at fourteen with school psychiatrist Gregory Burton who she told she just wants to know where missing things go like a sock disappearing from the washer. She begins to understand that this place is where missing things and people go, but not how to get back.-------------- This is a delightful fanciful tale in which ¿Here¿ is a fun concept. The lead character is a strong person who holds the story line together while the support cast is solid. Although there is no explanation as to why ¿Here¿ exists it just is readers will enjoy this whimsical visit to a place like no other as it just in the fertile imagination of Cecilia Ahern.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2008

    I could really relate. . .

    As a 50 plus mom who's spent years looking for lost items, I could really relate to this main character. Thankfully my losses have never been human, but I know all too well about frantically searching for wallets, keys, papers, books, rings, glasses, pets. . . my mind. I loved this book. And to my way of thinking, 'Here' might just be Heaven!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2008

    wow

    It's an easy read and the plot so different from the same ole same ole of other novels. I definitely recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2008

    I had high hopes...

    This book was such a disappointment- especially after having read and loved P.S. I love you and Love,Rosie. I kept waiting for the book to get better but it never did. I found myself skimming most of the book and still able to follow the storyline. Maybe the next book will be better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2008

    I really liked this whimsical book

    Losing things... the bane of my life. This is a funny, offbeat sort of story that is just so different that I am not sure I could explain it! I got confused at first as to what was going on, but it soon became clearer and I could not put it down. I have always wondered where all the stuff I cannot find goes. I wonder if they now have round trip flights there...? Definately a flight of fancy sort of book! ;-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Enjoyed

    Definitly enjoyed this one. Wasnt sure at first but thoroughly enjoyed. Worth the read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2013

    A fun fantasy read. Light enough for summer. Everyone has lost s

    A fun fantasy read. Light enough for summer. Everyone has lost socks. Even if you live alone. The heroine in this story, Sandy, has to find them. It's a need that drives her and eventually leads her into the profession of finding missing persons. All well and good until the day Sandy winds up missing. With allusions to "The Wizard of Oz," Ahern leads us to another place. I really enjoyed finding it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    a A double negative

    To be found, one must not be afraid to be lost. An interesting concept paired with a writing style that suited it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Beautiful!

    Cecelia Ahern has a beautiful way of leading the reader with her words. I related a lot to the main character; always losing & searching. This was one of those reads I didnt put down til the last page :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    Love this book!

    This book was amazing, in my opinion. Mystery, missing people, psychology... I had a hard time putting it down! The chapters tend to go back in forth between the past and present as well as between Sandy's world and what's going on in the "real" world. I wanted to keep reading and find out what would happen, and was sad when it ended! The end doesn't really explain what exactly happened, it's more up to you to decide/interpret. I'm now on the search for another book to keep me interested like this one did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Ruby slippers?

    Does this book have anythin to do with ruby slippers?? Im very confused y she put them on the cover.............sounds interesting tho, i hvnt read it yet haahahaha but im intereste to see whts going to happen.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Entertaining

    I had preconceived ideas when I started this book based on her previous works. That being said, it was entertaining and thought provoking. However, I had trouble resolving the conclusion in my mind...it leaves a lot of unanswered questions. An Alice in Wonderland meets Wizard of Oz - except nobody's dreaming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    Long, drawn out & booring

    Had high hopes when I read some of the other reviews but was let down almost immediately. Not worth the time or the money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    very unqiue...

    I've read several of Ahern's other novels and liked them all...this book is similar in nature to If You Could See Me Now and Thanks for the Memories in that it has a unique, whimisical nature to it. I can understand why others said it was confusing and left alot of unanswered questions, but I like being left to my own conclusions. Overall, five bucks for this book was an extreme bargain...I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    too weird for me

    too weird for me but i let my friend at work read it and she loved it so i gave her my book, just depends on what you like.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not what I expected

    When you see the cover you think of this great story. Alice in wonderland kind of thing but then after a couple of chapters you get really lost. More lost than the main character Sandy short. Didn't like the end and you get confused and with many questions unanswered. It's a sad since I really love PS I love. Hope she comes with a better book next time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Her Best Book

    Normally I really like books by Cecelia Ahern; this was one I did not enjoy like I thought I would. When reading what the story was about, I found myself excited to read the book and looked forward to the ending. The first night I read 10 chapters and did not want to put the book down. About the middle of the book is where I found myself getting confused and losing interest. The story line became much slower and began to feel as though Cecelia was getting bored while writing the book. Deciding I would finish reading it, I pulled through and found myself going, "What the?" There were a lot of unanswered questions and I felt I was left wishing I had spent my time reading something different. This will not stop me from reading the other books she has written. I loved "P.S. I Love You" as well as "If You Could See Me Now."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    If you want an unsatisfying read...read this book...BEWARE Lots of Unanwered Questions!

    To me this book was highly unsatisfying. There were ends that needed a little bit more tying up. For example...I have tons of unanswered questions that the ending did little to satisfy. The story is about Sandy Shortt who is anything but. Because of a traumatic experience of a classmate turning up missing, Sandy takes it upon herself to find missing people, sometimes pro bono, that other missing persons agencies cannot find...then Sandy Shortt ends up missing herself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not her best

    I thought this book had a lot of potential that was not realized. Ahern, who I like a lot, fell back into a somewhat hackneyed plot rather than take advantage to develop a more thoughtful and better developed main character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hard to get into

    Read other C. Ahern books ( Love,Rosie and If you could see me now ) and loved them. This book was far from good or interesting. Would not recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5