Customer Reviews for

There's a (Slight) Chance I Might Be Going to Hell: A Novel of Sewer Pipes, Pageant Queens, and Big Trouble

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

WARNING: May cause side stitches and odd looks

First off, I am a huge fan of Laurie Notaro's writing. I am an Idiot Girl through and through! And she's great at what she does. I was a bit leery about her stint as a novelist though.

I read this book on a three hour flight and have to say that it was probably...
First off, I am a huge fan of Laurie Notaro's writing. I am an Idiot Girl through and through! And she's great at what she does. I was a bit leery about her stint as a novelist though.

I read this book on a three hour flight and have to say that it was probably a poor choice. I could not contain my laughter and after about an hour all the passengers around me were not thrilled at my guffaws and snorts as i tried to keep the laughter in. This was one of her BEST publications yet. I can't wait to read more of her wit and sarcasm.

posted by pandorazboxx on December 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awful

I am an on-again, off-again fan of this author's humor books, but her foray into fiction was very disappointing. The first 100 pages could've been cut, and there was clearly an over-emphasis of 'funny' scenes that did little to advance to plot. It was so ridiculous, I c...
I am an on-again, off-again fan of this author's humor books, but her foray into fiction was very disappointing. The first 100 pages could've been cut, and there was clearly an over-emphasis of 'funny' scenes that did little to advance to plot. It was so ridiculous, I couldn't even finish the book.

posted by Anonymous on July 3, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 16, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    WARNING: May cause side stitches and odd looks

    First off, I am a huge fan of Laurie Notaro's writing. I am an Idiot Girl through and through! And she's great at what she does. I was a bit leery about her stint as a novelist though.<BR/><BR/>I read this book on a three hour flight and have to say that it was probably a poor choice. I could not contain my laughter and after about an hour all the passengers around me were not thrilled at my guffaws and snorts as i tried to keep the laughter in. This was one of her BEST publications yet. I can't wait to read more of her wit and sarcasm.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2007

    Awful

    I am an on-again, off-again fan of this author's humor books, but her foray into fiction was very disappointing. The first 100 pages could've been cut, and there was clearly an over-emphasis of 'funny' scenes that did little to advance to plot. It was so ridiculous, I couldn't even finish the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    Laugh out loud funny

    This book is funny and touching. Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Hey

    Whaz up

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    It's not my favorite Laurie book, but don't take that as a negative... totally worth reading and a hoot! I think my absolute favorite was "I love everyone and other atrocious lies". Love you Laurie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2011

    FANTASTIC!!

    This book is hysterical and touching at the same time. I read it at a perfect time in my life. Loved it so much I ended up buying three copies, one for myself, one for my best friend, and one for my mom. LOVE love LOVE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    More annoying than anything else

    The author uses the simile so often, that it is actually a point of distraction. The characters are poorly developed and the situations that Maye finds herself in are more silly than entertaining. Laurie Notaro also seems to have a problem with Repbulicans; her disdain does not at any point move the story along. I will not finish this book (I'm about halfway through it... there are way too many other - good - books out there to read), and will never read anything else by her again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    A Hilarious Quick Read!

    This is my first Laurie Notaro book and I am utterly pleased! I read this book during a weekend snowstorm so it was a quick read. I have never laughed out loud so much while reading and sometimes to the point of tears!! I loved every part of part of Maye's adventures in her new town of Spaulding and all that lead up to the Sewer Queen Pagent. This is such a sweet book that will leave your tummy hurting and your face smiling. It is full of humor, surprises, and lots of amusing scenes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not funny at all

    I am going against the flow of positive reviews to say I hated this book. I have never heard of Laurie Notaro before and I liked the title so I bought the book. It's not funny. I despised the main character within the first 25 pages and thought she just seemed like an idiot. Also, I hated her writing. She is so desperate to be humorous that she tries too hard. It was as if every sentence in the book was supposed to be a joke and I found that exhausting and annoying. I didn't find the situations the main character in to be at all humorous; again, I thought she was just being ridiculous. I couldn't finish this book because I thought it was terribly annoying. I've loaned it to a friend to see if she thinks it is funny. So far, she hasn't even shown interest in reading it. Would NEVER buy another of her books. If you want funny, read David Sedaris. He knows funny.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2008

    Funny, funny, funny!

    This book is for all of us who, at one time or another, have had a hard time fitting in! I laughed until I cried!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2007

    There's a (Slight) Chance I Might Be Going to Hell: A Novel of Sewer Pipes, Pageant Queens, and Big Trouble

    This was a light, hilarious read that is perfect for a weekend at the beach or to tuck in your purse for a little vacation. It's the story of Maye, a freelance writer who moves to a small town in the Pacific Northwest and tries to make friends with her eccentric neighbors to no avail. I loved the story leading up to Maye's jump into the Sewer Queen Pageant, and it's obvious the reviewer below simply just didn't get it, which is unfortunate because I think it's a really good book and I think a lot of people can relate to her lonliness in a new place. I found Notaro's novel to be charming, funny, fast-paced and a satisfying read. I've passed it on a a friend who is enjoying it and will recommend this to my other girlfriends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2007

    There's a (Slight) Chance I Might Be Going to Hell: A Novel of Sewer Pipes, Pageant Queens, and Big Trouble

    Good, solid quick read--instant satisfaction! I read this book over the course of a weekend and the only bad thing I can say is that I didn't want it to end. Have read all of Notaro's other books, this one ranks up there as one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2007

    Funny Fiction

    Notaro's books are always a fun, laugh-out-loud read. I enjoyed this one quite a bit, but did miss the non-fiction realism that I've always been able to identify with. But, this one was crazy and funny enough to keep me entertained, so I give it a thumbs up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2