BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

These Days

Average Rating 5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Vince Is More Than Country

    I am not what I would consider a huge country music fan in general, but this is much more than a country album. My wife is the country fan, but I borrowed her CD's and listened to them in my car while driving to work. This is a mix of pop, rock, jazz, blues, country and bluegrass. I was pleasantly surprised and this only reinforced what a versatile artist Vince Gill really is. He didn't play it safe with just one genre of music here. Good music is just good music, which is what you get with most of this multiple CD set.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This Is a TEN STAR Set!!!!!!!

    This is an AMAZING set! I bought it the day it came out & it hasn't left my car yet! This set is STILL in the Top 100 of B&N and also still on the Billboard Top 200 even after 4 months! This is unheard of for a boxed set. Have seen four shows on this Tour & the live set is captivating!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Music

    I am not usually a country music fan. Listened to the clips at BN and was hooked. This is a great record regardless of what kind of music you like. I highly recommend this album to anyone who appreciates great music regardless of the genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    These Days

    Vince has created what I believe will become his signature classic album. It includes 43 all new songs on 4 CD’s (each in a different genre – yet keeping close to country as Vince always does). The up-tempo CD includes his signature “rocking” guitar work and guests like Gretchen Wilson and Rodney Crowell. This up-tempo music fits easily into today’s “country” format on country radio. The more hard core country CD should please all those that love to hear Vince sing a more traditional country song with fiddle and guitar (Like he did in his classic CD “The Key”) including guests like Alison Krauss and Lee Ann Womack. The groovy CD is the more ballad oriented love song CD that will please those who enjoy hearing Vince sing his trademark slower ballad songs (With guests like Sheryl Crow and Lee Ann Rimes). The acoustic CD will please all those that love a more stripped down Bluegrass type sound (with guests like Guy Clark and Del McCoury) All in all 43 new songs, that are all pure Vince as the ultimate singer, songwriter and guitarist at the top of his form. The man does it all with class and ease. It also helps he brought along so many friends to flush out the sound he was going for, from Diana Krall to Del McCoury, Phil Everly etc. (a list so long you can take a look at the credits and just say “WOW!”) as far as the superstars Vince asked to contribute to this CD set. This will be the one everyone is talking about at the end of the year on all the “Best Of” lists – for ANY genre of music! Again, this is pure magic. Highly recommended…. Thanks Vince.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Truly Fantastic...

    To the reviewer Gladys....Vince has a lot of "featuring" singers. They are meant as background vocals NOT as Duets. There are four songs that are true duets on this CD set and they are described as such. The music is wonderfull and because you cannot hear background vocals as clearly as you want does NOT take away from how wonderful and great this music by Vince truly is - if you want an all duet CD buy the latest Tony Bennett!....jmho.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Vince's Best Work Ever

    I've always admired Vince's music and I was expecting a lot from this CD...but it far exceeded my expectations. The range of music is unbelievable and the quality of each song is amazing. This is unmatched my any artist out there...to write, produce, and play on 43 original songs and not a dud in the bunch is unprecedented...Way to go Vince!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very Disappointed

    I like Vince Gill and I thought this cd would be great. All you can hear is his voice and not the artists he had sing with him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    These Days

    Vince has created what I believe will become his signature classic album. It includes 43 all new songs on 4 CD’s (each in a different genre – yet keeping close to country as Vince always does). The up-tempo CD includes his signature “rocking” guitar work and guests like Gretchen Wilson and Rodney Crowell. This up-tempo music fits easily into today’s “country” format on country radio. The more hard core country CD should please all those that love to hear Vince sing a more traditional country song with fiddle and guitar (Like he did in his classic CD “The Key”) including guests like Alison Krauss and Lee Ann Womack. The groovy CD is the more ballad oriented love song CD that will please those who enjoy hearing Vince sing his trademark slower ballad songs (With guests like Sheryl Crow and Lee Ann Rimes. The acoustic CD will please all those that love a more stripped down Bluegrass type sound (with guests like Guy Clark and Del McCoury) All in all 43 new songs, that are all pure Vince as the ultimate singer, songwriter and guitarist at the top of his form. The man does it all with class and ease. It also helps he brought along so many friends to flush out the sound he was going for, from Diana Krall to Del McCoury, Phil Everly etc. (a list so long you can take a look at the credits and just say “WOW!”) as far as the superstars Vince asked to contribute to this CD set. This will be the one everyone is talking about at the end of the year on all the “Best Of” lists – for ANY genre of music! Again, this is pure magic. Highly recommended…. Thanks Vince.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Worth the wait

    This album brings everything Vince Gill is about musically and artistically to the fore. From beginning to end, this effort is totally enjoyable. 43 gems. He rocks your socks and then strokes you with a sweet romantic Waltz, all without the pretentious "Hey, I'm writing hits here". Vince is not simply a country artist crossing over. He's the quintessential musical, artistic "everyman". You'll hear jazz, rock, blues, bluegrass and traditional style country at it's best on this album. I highly recommend this wonderful 4 cd work, though I wonder how in the world he follows this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beautiful music!!

    This collection of cd's from Vince is a masterpiece of musicianship! It's nearly impossible to single one or 2 out(believe me I have tried). Each song is just as amazing as the next! If you have not purchased this wonderful collection you are missing a treat! Put it at the top of your holiday wish list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Nothing but the best!

    As always, Vince proves he is the ultimate musician, songwriter and singer. This is an AMAZING collection of music, showcasing his talent in multiple musical genres. From the rollicking up-tempo tunes and gritty honky-tonk country to the tender blues ballads, smooth jazz and high lonesome bluegrass, Vince's talent never falters. I HIGHLY recommend this for any music lover - there's something for everyone. Vince never goes wrong, but this is, I believe, his most incredible release to date.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This guy is UNBELIEVEABLE - check it out/buy it

    a great value for the money. fantastic musical experience

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1