Customer Reviews for

These Girls

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This is the third book by Sarah Pekkanen that I've read, and it

This is the third book by Sarah Pekkanen that I've read, and it may be my favorite so far. It's about three roommates who work together at a beauty magazine in NY. Like all of her books, it explores relationships, this time between female friends. It was a fast read,...
This is the third book by Sarah Pekkanen that I've read, and it may be my favorite so far. It's about three roommates who work together at a beauty magazine in NY. Like all of her books, it explores relationships, this time between female friends. It was a fast read, but I liked how it wasn't predictable. I thought I knew what was going to happen, but then there would be twists and turns that would take me by surprise. This is an enjoyable book that has a lot to say about how we need our "girlfriends."

posted by JennaSue on April 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

Not awful; not very good.

posted by PlanoGirl on August 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    This is the third book by Sarah Pekkanen that I've read, and it

    This is the third book by Sarah Pekkanen that I've read, and it may be my favorite so far. It's about three roommates who work together at a beauty magazine in NY. Like all of her books, it explores relationships, this time between female friends. It was a fast read, but I liked how it wasn't predictable. I thought I knew what was going to happen, but then there would be twists and turns that would take me by surprise. This is an enjoyable book that has a lot to say about how we need our "girlfriends."

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read Author

    Cate, Renee and Abby are These Girls. They are three girls you can’t help but fall in love with. All three girls have history, baggage…things they are hiding…things they don’t want to talk about. Each girl has her own story, and their three stories overlap each other until they are braided together forming a strong friendship.

    The smart, sexy and talented Cate believes her career is like a house of cards, if someone figures out her lie her career will fall apart. With a new promotion at Gloss, Cate feels she has something to prove the boy’s club and to herself. As her career seems to hit some bumps in the road, Cate recognizes she is missing what is going on right in front of her.

    Renee wants no needs to get the promotion as the beauty editor of Gloss and she is willing to do whatever it takes. Even if whatever it takes means drastic measures to ‘fit’ into the idea of what a beautiful person must look like. The beauty of Renee is a beauty she doesn’t seem to see in the mirror. She is fun, funny and loving. Anyone would want to be her best friend, but she doesn’t realize her true beauty.

    Abby had been happily working as a nanny and fallen in love with the little girl in her charge, Annabelle. Out of nowhere, Abby rushes into the story as a mystery--you will pull one layer after another to finally unveil her pain.

    The more and more I read the deeper emotionally I connected to all three characters. I don’t always relate to characters or maybe to just one, but I related on some level to all three women! I think what surprised me the most, was while reading These Girls I felt as if I was becoming part of the friendship that was blooming. They became my friends. A definite recommened!

    I just have to add this one line that JUMPED out of the book, “I think the hardest things to talk about are also the most important things to talk about,” (Pekkanen 306) expresses why we need good friends. Now go grab yourself a copy of These Girls!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I was anxiously awaiting the release of this latest work by Sara

    I was anxiously awaiting the release of this latest work by Sarah Pekkanen. I was not disappointed. This story is about the friendship of women. The struggles with career, image and love. I liked that it was told from the perspective of the 3 women, hearing the story of their own feelings and also how they saw each other. Each of them admired by the others for their special qualities but each feeling terribly inadequate. And making us realize that things are not always as they seem.
    Well written, complex characters you will love.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2012

    I¿ve never been very good at doing what people expect me to do,

    I’ve never been very good at doing what people expect me to do, so I decided to pick up THESE GIRLS, because (a) it sounded interesting, and (b) I’d heard Sarah Pekkanen’s name before, but I have trouble remembering where. It didn’t hurt that it also received a nice blurb from Jodi Picoult, and I happen to be a fan of her work. Aside from my memory loss, I do have a rather eclectic taste in books, and I’m pretty much willing to take a chance on just about any book that interests me.

    So I wasn’t all that surprised when I discovered I enjoyed this novel. It’s a light-hearted read with some rather interesting and realistic characters, stimulating storylines, and a couple of twists and turns. It’s not the most thought-provoking book I’ve ever read, but I read for about a hundred or so different reasons, and this one certainly fit the bill at the time I picked it up.

    THESE GIRLS manages to give more than a few insights into the way women think, and since I’m a guy, this is rather useful information. Some might even call it research. I’d call it a good, old fashioned beach read with more than a little heart. And if that’s what you’re looking for, you might want to check this one out.

    Robert Downs
    Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Disappointed

    Not awful; not very good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I have a four and a half year old daughter who wakes up too earl

    I have a four and a half year old daughter who wakes up too early every morning, and yet I found myself reading Sarah Pekkanen’s These Girls late into the night, braving a tired tomorrow because I needed to know what was going to happen next.
    These Girls follows the lives of three very different characters living in New York City: Cate, Renee, and Abby. Each young woman’s story is told with compassion, the characters quickly come to life a few short paragraphs, and the dialogue is some of the best I have read, so sharp and witty and full of personality. Their individual dramas are compelling and complicated. And somehow, with the novel brimming with such great characters and storylines, Pekkanen also manages to braid these lives together with the kind of friendship that will have readers tearfully calling up their childhood BFFs. This novel is beautiful on so many levels and you will think of these character long after you have finished the last page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    Sarah Pekkanen has a way for developing characters that a reader

    Sarah Pekkanen has a way for developing characters that a reader can fall in love with at page one. She has the opportunity to develop three unique characters who begin as room mates and end as friends. Cate, Renee and Abby end up living together through different circumstances and each are struggling with hard life situations.

    Although I may have not personally related to any of the problems these girls are trying to overcome, I felt like I was really able to experience their full emotions. The reader was given details at precisely the right moment. I was completely impressed by the uniqueness each girl had, their voices were of their own. The other thing that struck a cord with me was the character of New York, I loved how New York was described.

    Another Sarah Pekkanen book that I will be passing along to friends and family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Lilac Wolf and Stuff Review The cover is classic chick lit -

    A Lilac Wolf and Stuff Review

    The cover is classic chick lit - flows with Sarah's other novels too. Lone female staring out a window in New York. I'd bet on Abby - I do wish they would have put all three women on the cover.

    The story does go from Cate, to Renee and then to Abby. It follows their messed up love lives, and mistakes they have to overcome. I really connected with Renee, having my own issues with weight. The fact that she's in that industry at all proves her worth. And she's not even fat, but compared to all the models and fashionistas she works with, she feels every pound more than anyone else would. She even realizes that when thinking about going back home.

    Cate feels the need to prove herself because of a big mistake she made back in college. She comes across as cold and guarded to other people - even she realizes this. But what happened to her in college has to do with it.

    Abby - her story makes me want to curl up and cry. You won't find out what is going on in her life until the end. But it keeps you so addicted to the story, along with the other 2 that you won't be able to put it down.

    Sarah's writing is so smooth, and the flow is fairly fast - never boring. I truly was sad when the story ended. I fell in love with each and every character...well I'm talking the 3 main ones. There were a few outside ones I wasn't too crazy about, but they were written that way. :o)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2014

    Loved this book! Seriously will make you want to move in with th

    Loved this book! Seriously will make you want to move in with these girls! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Engaging, warming, and humorous

    Sarah Pekkanen has been added to my favorite author list! (she knows chick lit). I have read five of her books recently, (all winners), and looking forward to reading The Opposite of Me and Skipping a Beat. (I seem to begin with newer ones and work my way back.)

    If you enjoy Jennifer Weiner and Emily Giffin (which I am a big fan of both), you will love Sarah’s books. She gets to the heart of the matter through friends and family, especially in the gal pal relationship. Each of her characters has a past, a story which has not been told, and much baggage--- she sets the stage delivering tidbits to keep you hanging until the end.

    Engaging, warming, and humorous and with realistic topics of student/teacher romantic relationship, nanny/boss, weight/diet pills, past unfaithfulness of parents, step siblings, and some secrets which haunt them and have been hidden away come to the surface, plus others. The fun setting in NYC, glamour magazines, and social media--which carries this fast paced novel to a satisfying ending. Would love to see a sequel and continuation of the character of Renee.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Good but I didn't think it was her best

    A good story but I struggled wanting to read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Great Read

    I was looking for something lighthearted, yet still intetesting. I found exactly what I was looking for in "These Girls." A very realistic view on female friendships and their insecurities without being nuerotic. I cant wait to read more by Sarah Pakkanen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    I didn't want the book to end!

    The story of three women, careers, love and friendship=great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    Sarah Pekkanen's third novel, "These Girls" is as ca

    Sarah Pekkanen's third novel, "These Girls" is as
    captivating and enjoyable as the previous ones! The story is about three
    young ladies living in New York, who share an apartment together. Cate
    and Renee both work for magazine companies and Abby is recovering from a
    traumatic affair with her prior employer. The unique personalities of
    these women are explored as they each progress with their personal and
    professional lives. Their diverse lives ultimately intertwine, and the
    meaning of sisterhood is evidenced by their loyalty and love for one
    another. This is a very heartwarming read. Many readers will be able to
    relate to the characters and/or the situations presented, and book clubs
    are sure to find many topics for discussion. I am already looking
    forward to the next novel by this gifted novelist!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Just finished this novel.....

    ......and really enjoyed it. This is the first of Sarah's novels that I've read. I liked the main characters & how Sarah intertwined their lives. I'm debating on which of Sarah's works to read next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable

    POsted on Romancing the Book's blog
    Reviewed by Sabrina
    Review Copy Provided by Book Spark PR

    I was pretty sure I knew what I was getting into when I requested this book to review. I expected heartache, friendship going above and beyond the call of duty and maybe a small tease of romance. What I got out of it was so much more. Normally when you read books about friendships, you get people that have known each other for years. All through college or high school and that is why they are still friends, even if they have grown apart. What intrigued me about this book was this was NOT the case. The girls didn’t really know each other at the beginning of the novel, and what they went through for each other even at the young stage in their friendship was incredible. I don’t know if I could do it. I’d like to think I could for someone I didn’t really know, but… I dunno. This book takes a hard look at what women give up for their job, the stresses they can feel in their everyday life, and the people that make it better and worthwhile. I don’t want to say anything more that that as everything as it is revealed in the story is important to discover with the characters. Suffice to say that this is worth reading if you like friendship stories. My only complaint was one little thing left undone at the end of the story that I thought should have been worked out, but that is me and I can see why the author left it as ambiguous as she did.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    This is what chick-lit should be

    This is a fun book that tracks a year or so in the life of three very different girls, cataloging their failures and successes via both inner monologues and their own views of each other. Each has problems that the others struggle to understand as they go about their lives in New York City, most of which revolve around the magazine industry.

    While lacking the depth of the author's previous book Skipping a Beat and falling somewhat short of the gold standard for this genre (that being the engaging train wreck that is Bridget Jones' life), this book's realistic details, fully fleshed-out characters, and engaging storyline raise it well above the quality of average chick-lit fluff. No need to be embarrassed if you are spotted reading this one beside the pool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Sarah Pekkanen has quickly become a favorite author in women&rsq

    Sarah Pekkanen has quickly become a favorite author in women’s fiction. Realistic and relatable relationships are her specialty and in her most recent novel she tackles the ever-special bond between girlfriends, beautifully.

    Although work acquaintances Cate and Renee decide to rent a New York apartment together, their friendship has stalled at simply roommates. The addition, however, of Abby, the mysterious and troubled sister of office playboy and Renee’s longtime crush, changes their life forever. As they begin to bond, each of the women discover they are not alone in their own troubles and experiences, suddenly having a place to share, connect and grow.

    Best friends around the world rejoice. Pekkanen perfectly presents a heart-warming story of the problems women face and the friends who save them again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    Sarah Does It Again!

    Another great book from one of my favorite authors. Sarah Pekkanen writes like many of us think. Her stories could be a slice of anyone's life - her books are down to earth and engaging. I especially enjoy that her characters don't need to rely on men to have substance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2