Customer Reviews for

These Happy Golden Years (Little House Series: Classic Stories #8)

Average Rating 5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 15, 2014

    Lovely book

    My 11 year old daughter needed this - it was the only book missing from our Little House on the Prairie collection. She loved this anniversary edition with the full color pictures, thicker paper pages and was so excited to add this to our collection. Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    A sweet romantic book.

    I Like the Little house series, I think they are clean and good. The Illustrations are very good, and the way Laura Ingalls Wilder wrote this was very nice. I have read the the nine books and i have read them over and over. About the Book: The book is very nice and shows how hard Laura worked. I like the book more in the middle because Almanzo and Laura are more dating. It shows how the weddings weren't this big things. Laura didn't even have a wedding dress. Then after there wedding they went home and Laura started Cooking like it was no big deal. The book is really good and i would recommended it too children of Any Age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2008

    WHAT A BOOK

    While Mary is away at college laura and almanzo fall in love. i luv ths book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2005

    Hello! She's only human!

    This book was awesome! To the reviewer that replied that their love kind of distanced itself after they engaged i need 2 point out something. Once you're engaged to a guy do U really spend tht much time talking away rather than spending your moments together thinking about your future or perhaps romancing. we all know through Wilder's details that she cherished every moment w/ her future hubby. this is an awesome book 4 all ages that need 2 remember what real love was about in the past for UR family & a guy rather then todays version of love where most guys aren't gentlemen & most people ignore their families when they call. You've just got to love Laura's books! I loved them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2005

    The best Laura Ingalls Wilder book

    Although this book is romantic, it is written for all ages, even for people who aren't romantic at all! I thought that was a cool part of the book. It was a sweet, touching book of all times!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2004

    The best of her books

    some of the earlier books are a little to childish for older readers, but this book is the best of her series. Very entertaing and pleasure able. could read over and over. Ending could have been a little more interesting. The strange thing is that after Laura and Almonzo are engaged, they don't talk much? Or is it that she did't record the conversations?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2004

    Great Book

    this was my favorite book of all of them. i loved it. i cant say it enough . I LOVED IT. ok i truly loved. at the end- this might sound babish- but i cried. laura was leaving home and mary was gone oh how much sadness she much have felt i really felt sorry for her. now i cant pick the book and and look at the cover with out crying. im going to write my favorite part of the book. golden years are passing by these happy golden years

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2004

    The Best Little House Book Ever!

    I adore this book! You should definately read this if you have the chance. Laura and Almanzo are falling in love, and he always takes Laura on those sweet little buggy rides. BTW Miss Annoying Nellie comes along, it's short, but it's enough to get you ready to show Nellie who's boss! Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2004

    These Happy Golden Years Book Reveiw

    This is the best book I've ever read! I won't tell what happens, but I'll tell you this: While Mary leaves,Laura falls in love, and she feels sad to leave home sweet home,too. Read this great book to find out how she loves these happy golden years. I will write this poem,and try to figure out what it means once you finish the book: Sleigh bells ring,school begins, Oh, these happy golden years! She misses Mary,leaves home, But these are still happy golden years! Got that? Well, have a good time reading it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2003

    The Best Years of Laura`s Life!

    The author of These Happy Golden years is Laura Ingalls Wilder. I gave this book a rating of 5 stars because it is a great book and my favorite in the series. Laura Ingalls is fifteen and going throught a lot of changes.She now has her teaching certificate and is going to teach school 20 miles from home.Laura must stay with a member of the school board whose family is mean. Teaching school may be scary and hard but Laura needs to make money to keep Mary her sister in a college for the blind.In the summer she takes odd jobs working for sewing shops.There is not much fun in Laura`s life untill she meets Almanzo. No matter how cold it is or if it`s snowing Almanzo Wilder is always at that little school house on Fridays ready to take homesick Laura home.Almanzo is older than Laura and owns a tree claim and a team of beautiful horses.In the summer after teaching or sewing ,Laura and Almanzo do many things together.Almanzo comes every Sunday and they take long rides through the country. They also go to social events and singing school together.They are a perfect match! Could Laura and Almanzo be in love ?Read the book and find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2003

    My all time favorite book!

    I read all the books in the series in second grade and have read them every year since. This is the best one, and it is my all time favorite book. Laura and Almonzo truly loved each other. I love Laura Ingalls Wlder's style of writing. It intrigues me that these books are all true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2002

    This is one of my personal favorites by Laura!

    The book starts out with her and her Pa going to the Brewsters' house to stay and teach at the local school. A little later in the book it tells of Almanzo Wilder acting like a "beau" and taking her from the school to her house and back. After the school season is over Almanzo and Laura start hanging out together and eventually become engaged. I thought it was sweet how he got her all those gifts! Then at the very end of the book they are married and go to their new home to spend their lives in. I give this book 5 stars!*****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2002

    happy cuppel

    This book is about Lura anndd Almonzo when Lura goes to teach and Almonzo comes and piks her up soon they fall in love andd get married. If your a boy you whould not want to read this bok. But if your a girl you whould.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2002

    I love It.

    Awesome, spectacular, A MUST READ!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2001

    Story of Suspence

    A story of romance and adventure! Wonderful descriptions and characters. Awesome scenes and settings to visualise!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2001

    Extraordinary

    The by far best book in the 'Little House' series. It's full of character- and relationship development and it's a very entertaining reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2001

    Excellent!

    A perfect way to continue the story of Laura's life. This book tells the way life really was and makes you think of how lucky we are to live in these modern times. I especially love the way Mrs. Wilder describes the scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2000

    The Greatest Book of All Times

    This was my favorite book and I've read it 5 times. If you looking for a book from the 1800's or in history and are looking for just a tiny bit of romance and humor then look no futhor you've found you book. I guarrentee this will be your favorite book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2000

    Fantastic

    A book you want to keep reading. It tells you what it was really like back in the prairie times. It was written very well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2000

    The Best

    I have read all the Little house on the prarie books written by Laura Ingalls Wilder and the books about her mother and life in Mis. My love for Laura started in 3rd grade when my teacher read the books out loud to the class.We had finished only two of the books by the end of the school year but I went out and bought the rest of the books to read. And These happy golden years isand was by far my favorite. I have read it many times and each time I finish it I want to start reading it all over again. From the moment I started this book imperticular from the others I couldn't put it down. It was the best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2