Customer Reviews for

These Is My Words: The Diary of Sarah Agnes Prine, 1881-1901

Average Rating 4.5
( 199 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(145)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2000

    Highly recommended!

    This is one of my all time favorite books. I have recommended it to everyone. Sarah Prine is a heroine of the first water.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    An awesome story!

    I have listened to the audiobook and read it too and I think this is an absolute wonderful story. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    Highly recommend

    This is a woman's book with all the insight and emotions of a girl growing into a woman. Her descriptive journal of her covered wagon journey through the west and back lets you see her grow from a young girl to a woman and all she goes through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    Good read.

    Great story about an independent and capable pioneer woman. Recommended for modern day military spouses: This book shows that life with a military husband hasn't changed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2008

    A compelling novel

    One of the best books I have ever read. It keeps you hooked from the first page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2008

    A reviewer

    I really enjoyed this book. If it wasn't for my 12 month old I would have never put it down. I feel a strong attachment to her characters and I am going to recommend it to all of my friends and family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2007

    Fantastic!!!

    I just finished this book...for the 10th time. I love it. I read it every chance I get (usually between other books). It is such an easy read, I can finish it in under a day (and that is saying something because I don't have the longest attention span). I wish everyone I knew would read These is my Words, I know they would love it. My recommendation: reread it, it is even better the second time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2007

    utterly amazing and beautiful!

    I absolutely loved this book. It was one of the most touching books I have ever read, and one of the best coming-of-age stories mixed with a passionate love story at the end of the 19th century in the west. It has a very nice balance of action/adventure, drama, and love, and is perfect for all ages. It is one of the best historical fiction novels I have read, and I have read many. I highly recommend this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2007

    If You Love Historical Fiction...

    I highly recommend this book! What I liked most about this book, besides the descriptive setting, was the heroine, Sarah Prine. You witness through Sarah's writing, her progression from a sheltered young adult to a strong, capable woman in the late 1800's. I got an insight into what it was like in the Arizona Territory during this time period (Indians, Mother Nature, wild Tucson, etc). Can't wait to read the next book, 'Sarah's Quilt'!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2007

    Loved the book, love the time period.

    Having grown up with the Laura Ingalls Wilder series and Little House on the Prairie show, I fell in love with reading and learning about life in the 1700 & 1800's...the challenges families and individuals faced to survive and thrive just fascinates me and I continue to wonder how they did it. The same feeling goes for These is My Words. I loved Sarah, and what struck me the most was early on in the book where it says we were use to moving fast and experiencing lots of death. Boy was that an understatment. Yet no matter where they were they had their traditions, their family, their neighbors and their love. They were accepting of neighbors who weren't the same colored skin and who had different religious beliefs as their own. Another thing I picked up on from Sarah was she was smart enough to know the importance of education, the role it played in people's lives even back in those times. I would recommend this to anyone who, like myself, enjoyed the Little House storyline or who just likes to learn how things were long before our own existence in this overly modern, disconnected world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    One of the best historical novels, period.

    I have never felt strongly enough about anything to write a review, but These Is My Words rises above ordinary books into the extraordinary. This is the best historical novel I have ever read, and that's saying something. Get it, read it, and tell everyone you know about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2006

    Read it....Share it

    This book is absolutely fantastic. I make everyone I know read it--and they all love it. I only wish I knew more people. Read it. You won't be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2006

    Fantastic

    If you need your sleep don't read this book. It is impossible to put it down. You'll be reading til wee hours of the morning. I've never read a book where I have felt so many emotions happy, sad, scared, proud, angry. I have passed this book to many friends and family and they have had the same reaction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2006

    A great gift!

    My sister gave me this book and told me it was the best! She was right! I laughed, I cried - I couldn't put it down and wished it had not ended. I have purchased several as gifts for friends and they spread the word! A GREAT BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2005

    THIS IS A PAGE TURNER

    I have reread this book several times because the author has written about a female character who is 'fully developed' and leads an independent, adventurous life and who ultimately marries a man who is a true match for her. This book is one of my favorite reads and I am (unfortunately for me) fairly picky about what I read. I love to read books with women as the protagonist and who are true survivors. I've also read almost every book published about the holocaust for that and other reasons. Please do yourself a favor and read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2005

    My All-Time Fave!

    This book kept me up way too late and got me up too early. It was very hard to put down. I have passed it around many social circles and have yet to find anyone who did not love it. Nancy Turner catches your attention and keeps it through the end. I found myself dreaming of the characters. I can't say enough about this book. I love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2005

    Don't miss this book

    I couldn't put this down. I am a new resident to Tucson and have often wondered about the families that settled this area...how brave and strong willed they must have been. I could relate to Sarah when it came to her determination. I would love to know the quilt pattern so I could make it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2005

    Exciting Story Line

    I stumbled on this book and found it was one of my best reads ever! Nancy Turner has a talent for writing with honesty and clarity enterspaced with just a touch of humor. The trials of a pioneer family struggling in the Arizon territories is both realistic and riveting. Can't wait for her next book. I have shared this one with all my family and friends. I am looking forward to the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2004

    Amazing!

    This book will touch your soul. A friend recommended it to me and I bought it at the last minute. The first 30-40 pages are a hard read if you're squeamish but once the story kicks in, you understand the graphic parts shape who this woman becomes. I see another reviewer mentioned a sequel. I hope it's true. The story leaves off with Sarah at 37, so she has a lot more story to tell and I can't wait to read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2004

    The most HEARTWRENCHING book anyone will ever read!

    Anyone who has not read this book, especially women, do not know what they are missing!! It is my absolute favourite book of all time... I actually cannot put into words how moving and gripping this book is. I sat, ate, drank, slept with the book until the last page and then i cried because it was over. Never has a book made such an impression on me. Brilliant. You begin to live the characters.. feel Sarah's pain and her joy, hurt when she hurts, laugh when she laughs. Readers should not be put off by the book's somewhat depressing start as I was at first.. it's what shapes the book and gives it it's truth and stark reality. Read it now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4