Customer Reviews for

These Things Hidden

Average Rating 4
( 352 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(132)

4 Star

(129)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great psychological thriller!

This book takes you on a journey through Allison Glenn's secrets and hardships. Along the way there are many twists to the story that leave you guessing and wanting more. Just when you think you have the book figured out; it throws something new at you up until the last...
This book takes you on a journey through Allison Glenn's secrets and hardships. Along the way there are many twists to the story that leave you guessing and wanting more. Just when you think you have the book figured out; it throws something new at you up until the last page! Each chapter delivers a new secret or piece to the puzzle. This novel is great for people who love psychological thrillers that keep them guessing what will happen next the whole way through. It is a quick easy read that you won't want to put down. Anyone who reads this book will be shocked by the ending. Heather Gudenkauf is a fantastic author who picks at her readers brains. After reading this book I can't wait to read many more of her novels!

posted by a_tree-lined_drive on May 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

slow start...

overall i really enjoyed this book. i loved the twist at the end and how the seemingly unrelated characters all came held a piece of the mystery. however, i felt the beggining was a bit hard to get into because the character build seemedto take so long. but after the ch...
overall i really enjoyed this book. i loved the twist at the end and how the seemingly unrelated characters all came held a piece of the mystery. however, i felt the beggining was a bit hard to get into because the character build seemedto take so long. but after the character build was over, for the most part, i couldnt put it down!

posted by Anonymous on March 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Great psychological thriller!

    This book takes you on a journey through Allison Glenn's secrets and hardships. Along the way there are many twists to the story that leave you guessing and wanting more. Just when you think you have the book figured out; it throws something new at you up until the last page! Each chapter delivers a new secret or piece to the puzzle. This novel is great for people who love psychological thrillers that keep them guessing what will happen next the whole way through. It is a quick easy read that you won't want to put down. Anyone who reads this book will be shocked by the ending. Heather Gudenkauf is a fantastic author who picks at her readers brains. After reading this book I can't wait to read many more of her novels!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Only one word can describe this book: Wow!

    I started this book on Thursday, today is Saturday. This book is very weird (plot line wise) and is beautifully written. The love and commitment between these two sisters is breath taking. This is a great book to read on a rainy day or in a book club. You honestly do not know what is going on until the last few chapters. It really is a suspense/mystery book! I definitly will be getting more books by Heather Gudenkauf! Enjoy!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    Easy and interesting read!

    Though this book isn't a complex thought provoking read....it is very well written and a very easy read. It has some twists and turns....some you can figure out...some you might not. All in all I enjoyed the book enough to purchase another of the author's books. This is the kind of book I enjoy when I just want to relax and not be so challenged with an intense and though provoking book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    These Things Hidden

    Allison is the golden girl. Absolutely perfect in grades, sports and future goals . . . at least she was until one night changed everything. Now, after five years in prison, she is being released and wants to reconnect with her shy, quiet sister Brynn. Brynn was left to endure the stares and whispers of former friends and family following Allison's being sent to prison.
    Her parents and former friends want nothing to do with Allison, including Brynn who has struggled to forget that night for the past five years. The two sisters share a secret that is terrible. Returning home to Linden Falls will start a chain of events that Allison could have never foreseen and reveals more than the sisters could have ever imagined!
    Charm is studying to be a nurse and taking care of her dying father. Claire is a store owner who tried for years to have a baby before adopting little Joshua. There are secrets upon secrets and no matter how hard they try to keep them hidden, they will be revealed!
    Twisted and surprising! This book doesn't disappoint.

    Reviewed by Ashley Wintters for Suspense Magazine

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    Worth the read!

    The book was slightly predictable, but the story line was great and beautifully illustrated the way life can sometimes be in those small southern towns where everybody and everbody is related. The author describes things so clearly you feel, see, smell, and even taste everything. You become attached to the characters. Recommended.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    good book

    I was surprised how well everything tied together in the end. I enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it to my friends. Not one of the best books I have read but by far not the worst. It's worth a read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    It was pretty twisty...

    I liked the way the characters all came together, but it took awhile. I enjoyed the surprise ending and it was definitely geared toward younger readers the way it was written, although the topic was hard core. Otherwise. I read it in 2 days. Good story.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    this was a good book

    it was a good one but sad in the story n happy parts too. i couldnt put it down finished n two days.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    truth does not always set one free

    After spending five years in prison for the murder of her newborn daughter, twenty one year old Allison Glenn is released to the Gertrude Halfway House for the next six months. Her parents have disowned her and her younger sister Brynn has ignored her efforts to contact her. Allison has fallen mightily from being perfect in high school. Her lawyer meets her at the prison and takes her to Gertrude House where she meets owner Olene who encourages her.

    Bookends owner Claire Kelby and her husband Jonathan adopted their now six years old son Joshua who was found abandoned at a fire station when he was two days old. They heard the unknown teenage mother tried to kill him. Nursing student Charm Tulia likes coming to the bookstore where she buys all sorts of self- help books because she is the one who left Joshua in a safe house in accordance with Iowa law.

    Brynn ignores her sister's plea to talk to her. She stays with her granny taking medicine for depression. She attends school enjoying the animal classes. Brynn was with Allison when she gave birth. There were no doctors or hospitals based on Allison's insistence. Olene arranges for Allison to interview for a job at Bookends Bookstore. Charm remembers entering the bookstore for the first time and recognizing Joshua. She comes regularly to see that he is okay. Claire hires Allison. Soon the full truth that connects these women will surface.

    The key ensemble cast especially the four prime females is all developed while the connection between the ladies is developed over the course of the wonderful story line. Although there are two key coincidences that feel out of place re the woman involved, readers will enjoy that the truth does not always set one free.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    good book

    just starting this book. sounds interesting. will let you know later..

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    Quick easy read

    This is the first book I have read of Heather Gudenkauf, but she writes much like Jodi Picoult who I love! Great read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    I really liked this book, but the typos made me crazy!

    I really enjoyed The Weight of Silence, so I was excited to read this book by the same author. I was not disappointed. The story was interesting and surprising at times and it was an easy read. I read it in a couple of sittings.

    However, the editing was TERRIBLE. Words were missing (i.e. "Just I thought" instead of "Just as I thought"), tenses were misused. It was EXTREMELY distracting to me. Heather Gudenkauf should absolutely fire her editor.

    Other than that, loved it, would recommend it to friends, and think it should be made into a movie.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2014

    Good storyline.

    This story had many interesting twists. Sad ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Very good read!  I truly didn't expect the ending....and that ra

    Very good read!  I truly didn't expect the ending....and that rarely happens when I read a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    These Things Hidden These Things Hidden by Heather Gualenkauf wa

    These Things Hidden
    These Things Hidden by Heather Gualenkauf was a good book that I very much enjoyed. I love books that just leave you hanging and make you want to read more, and These Things Hidden was just that kind of book. This book was about a young teenager, Allison Glenn, who is sent to prison for a terrible crime, she wishes she would’ve never even thought about doing. She leaves behind her family and her reputation of being a good girl forever in the little town of Liden Falls. Her friends, parents, and own sister, Brynn don’t want anything to do with her. They won’t answer her calls, or even respond to her letters she wrote from the cell. But now that Allison committed this terrible crime, Brynn has to put up with rumors in school every day about her sister, meanwhile just the burden of what really happened that night is killing her. When Allison finally leaves the jail, she gets sent to a recovery with Olene, a little old lady who helps women after the get out of jail. After many years at the recovery, Allison finally realizes why Brynn is ignoring her, why her family is so upset with her, and what she really has done. She starts questioning herself about things she never wanted to bring up again and begins to wonder why she started to do these things, and what caused her to act this way. After the many cold, lonely nights in the recovery, Allison finally realized what made her do this, and what really happened the night she lost everything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Could not put it down

    The ending totally blind sided me. I like how the book shows the point of view from allthe characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    I thought this book was excellent until I had about 15% left. At

    I thought this book was excellent until I had about 15% left. At this point, I thought the author could have had a better ending, however, I still give it 4 stars because the other 85%. It kept me engaged with the twists and turns. Just when I thought I had it figured out, I was proved wrong. I wish the ending was stronger like the rest of the book to really drive it home, but it was still a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    Great book. Loved the way the book was written - getting so man

    Great book. Loved the way the book was written - getting so many first person views. Quick read - highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    These Things Hidden By Heather Gudenkauf Reviewed by Jacquely


    These Things Hidden
    By Heather Gudenkauf
    Reviewed by
    Jacquelyn Miles

    In the small town of Linden Falls, Iowa, teenager Allison Glen is the “Golden Girl”, she does everything right, and pleases everybody she meets. The only time she ever made a mistake, or ever sacrificed anything especially for a boy, brought her perfectly painted world crashing down and destroyed the lives of two sisters, a young girl, and the life of a small boy. Now she’s facing ten years in prison, for the drowning of her newborn baby girl. All Allison wanted was for her life to be perfect again but her parents deny her existence, and have removed her from their lives completely. Her sister faces harsh rumors, and whispers during high school and it’s Brynn, shy and quiet, that carries the weight of what really happened that night, and all she really wants is to forget about the innocent life lost. Every time she closes her eyes all she sees are the lifeless body of that baby girl and the rosy cheeks of the baby boy. She couldn’t stay in Linden Falls any longer, living in the shadow of her sister’s mistakes, so she moved across the Druid River, to live with her grandmother and make a new life.
    Charm Tullia is a young girl caught in the middle; she’s the sister of Christopher, the father of Allison’s twins. Christopher is in college when he meets Allison, and for three weeks they are inseparable. When Allison refuses to care for the newborn, she dumps him off at Christopher’s house, hoping he can raise the baby boy; Charm and her stepfather Gus, step in to care for the baby, before the baby will suffer for his mother’s mistakes.
    Now, Allison is getting released from prison to a halfway house, five years early for good behavior, and she wants to try and rekindle her fragile relationship with her younger sister Brynn. When she gets a job interview at a local bookstore, she comes to know the owners Jonathan and Claire, and their adopted son, Joshua. Joshua is the spitting image of his father, and Allison doesn’t need to ask to know that this is her son. Almost six years later, Allison has come to realize, that she’s still paying for her mistakes.
    This book “skillfully weaves an explosive tale of suspense and the healing powers of love.” (Susan Wiggs) It keeps you on your toes throughout the entire book. One of my favorite things about this book is the story line, and how one simple act can affect so many lives, and the consequences that then follow. One major thing that gets rather confusing, is how the book bounces around from one narrator to the next, but it does provide different view. This is perhaps one of my favorite books, just based solely on the domino effect of events throughout the book. I would recommend this book to anyone that would listen because this isn’t a story you stumble across every day.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Good

    This book was really good!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7