Customer Reviews for

These Things Hidden

Average Rating 4
( 353 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(133)

4 Star

(129)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great psychological thriller!

This book takes you on a journey through Allison Glenn's secrets and hardships. Along the way there are many twists to the story that leave you guessing and wanting more. Just when you think you have the book figured out; it throws something new at you up until the last...
This book takes you on a journey through Allison Glenn's secrets and hardships. Along the way there are many twists to the story that leave you guessing and wanting more. Just when you think you have the book figured out; it throws something new at you up until the last page! Each chapter delivers a new secret or piece to the puzzle. This novel is great for people who love psychological thrillers that keep them guessing what will happen next the whole way through. It is a quick easy read that you won't want to put down. Anyone who reads this book will be shocked by the ending. Heather Gudenkauf is a fantastic author who picks at her readers brains. After reading this book I can't wait to read many more of her novels!

posted by a_tree-lined_drive on May 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

slow start...

overall i really enjoyed this book. i loved the twist at the end and how the seemingly unrelated characters all came held a piece of the mystery. however, i felt the beggining was a bit hard to get into because the character build seemedto take so long. but after the ch...
overall i really enjoyed this book. i loved the twist at the end and how the seemingly unrelated characters all came held a piece of the mystery. however, i felt the beggining was a bit hard to get into because the character build seemedto take so long. but after the character build was over, for the most part, i couldnt put it down!

posted by Anonymous on March 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    Page Turner!

    Great Book! Page Turner!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    incredible!!

    I could not put this book down and then ith the twist at the end I was shocked. I enjoyed every page. Highly reccommended and well written!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    I absolutely LOVED this story!

    Wow!!! Gudenkauf did it again. I loved The Weight of Silence and These Things Hidden did not disappoint. This book will capture you from beginning to end. It is a real page turner. I did not want to put it down. There are so many twist and turners that you not see the end coming. Fantastic book, a must read!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    Loved it!

    This is now one of my favourite books. Very well written.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    Page Turner - Kept me guessing the whole time!

    From the very first chapters this book was a mystery! I read this book in a few short hours on my commute to and from work, and could not wait to put it down. I was constantly trying to figure out what was going and guessing at the outcome, only to be surprised by the final result!

    I was in tears as I flipped through this book page by and page. The story is near and dear to me and close to my heart in so many ways.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    Fantastic!!

    I loved These Things Hidden!! I could not put this book down! Gudenkauf has woven another fantastic novel that will capture the reader from beginning to end!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    i love love love this book

    i bought this book for a 2 1/2 hr flight and could not put it. i spent the next day in my room reading it and finishing it. the book pulled me in from the very beginning.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    loved it

    loved this read. reading the authors first book

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    Great read!

    Page turner. Couldn't put this one down!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    Fantastic Read!

    This was really fantastic book to read. It was page turner wanting to know what is going to happen next. I love the way all the characters are connected to each other. Just easy read, just loved it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    You MUST read this!

    Allison Glenn was the perfect daughter. She made good grades, played soccer, and had a bright future ahead of her. The future her parents wanted and expected her to have. One night changes all of that. In an instant, Allison finds herself in the back of a police car. Her life left shattered, her future uncertain.

    Now, five years later, Allison is leaving prison and returning home to start over. While in prison, she has attempted to reach out to her sister Brynn over and over.

    Brynn has spent the last five years trying to escape that night. With Allison gone, her parents expected her to step into the role of perfect daughter. When it all became too much, Brynn escaped her parents' house and went to live with their grandmother. Brynn wants nothing more than to put the last five years behind her and forget her sister even exists.


    What follows is a story with unexpected twists and turns, leaving you wondering just how you might go to protect someone else.

    Heather Gudenhauf's tale is compelling from start to finish. It was very hard to put down, and I finished it fast enough to read it a second time before writing the review. I spent the entire time both wondering how Allison could keep such a secret and how Brynn could let her.

    What surprised me most is that while reading, I could empathize more with Allison than be angry at her. That was probably the most confusing emotion of all. I wanted to be completely appalled at her actions. Instead, I found myself heartbroken due to the difficult position in which she found herself. The story will draw you in and keep you guessing until the very end.

    Gudenkauf writes a tale that few would dare. Her voice is unique and captured me from the very beginning. This book obviously stays on my read again list, and I will be looking for her other novel as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Still waters run deep and secrets are revealed to agonizing results in this highly charged novel.

    Allison Glen learned just how hard and far the mighty fall when their pedestals crumble, once Linden Falls Ohio's golden girl in the eyes of her town and her family she's sent to prison for a monstrous crime, even with blood on her hands she's released early and quickly learns what it means to be completely erased not only by the town but by her parents as well. Younger sister Brynn has also suffered the consequences and has started over away from the scene of the crime and the painful memories. Brought to town by their father's hospitalization Brynn sees Allison for the first time since she was taken away in the back of a police car. Charm Tullia is about to realize her dream of becoming a nurse although it's become clear to her that her beloved step-father will not be around to see it. Claire Kelby has been fortunate enough to see her dreams come true, she has her bookstore and finally she's a mother thanks to someone's ultimate sacrifice. These women will fit together the puzzle pieces of our startling, incredibly emotional and realistic story.
    Heather Gudenkauf brings us a sordid tale of lies, secrets, betrayal and death. It's about loss of innocence, of growing up and learning the hard knock lessons of life. The story line could be taken from any headline, but Ms. Gudenkauf goes us one better, she gives us a behind the scenes look at what really happened, she does it in pieces so we're always wondering what we missed and how to piece it together. She brings it to us with at times child like dialogue that points us in the direction of mental illness and at other times she gives us maturity beyond the age. Her characters run the gamut too from childlike to sophisticated, but don't let them fool you they're hiding things and it's up to us to find out what and who. They will also pull at your heartstrings and draw deep emotions from you as well to the point you'll have to reinvent who the villain is several times during the novel. It's not a romance but it's a love story, the love of a sister, the sacrifice for a child, the unconditional parental love and the parental love that comes with a price.
    Still waters run deep and secrets are revealed to agonizing results in this highly charged novel.
    If you're looking for a intensely emotional, complicated piece of literary fiction it's all in this read. It fit's in the mystery, women's literature or literary fiction category and it's a superb tale told by an excellent storyteller.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2010

    A must read!

    Wow!
    Gudenkauf has done it with back- to- back winners!
    I loved the Weight of Silence and These Things Hidden did not disappoint.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    Loved It!

    This book was a real page turner! I stayed up really late reading this. It's amazing! Well worth the buy!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    A Must Read!

    These Things Hidden is a novel about two sisters, an adoptive mother, a teenage girl, and the little boy they love. All are caught in the middle of this suspenseful family drama. Once you start reading you won't want to put this book down! A definite must read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2015

    Gripping tale of how a young boy came to be and the sacrifices m

    Gripping tale of how a young boy came to be and the sacrifices made along the way. This is my second book from Heather Gudenkauf and both were great. I look forward to more from her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    Good Story! Very sad!

    I really enjoyed this book, BUT it is a very sad!
    Although each of the characters stories are very different, I felt like I could relate to each of them in some way

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Great book!!!! This was a great page turner that kept you wanti

    Great book!!!! This was a great page turner that kept you wanting more. I liked that each chapter was each person's viewpoint of what is happening. Lots of twists and turns in the plot. Definitely recormmend this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I thought that this story was phenomenally written. I thoroughly

    I thought that this story was phenomenally written. I thoroughly enjoyed reading every bit of this book! I would dread having to stop to
    go to sleep and wake up wanting to immediately pick it up again.

    I'm not one for extremely long chapters, as the longer they get, the more emotionally drained I get and seem to get bored and lost
    slightly easier, so I really loved the fact that these chapters were short and moved right along with the story! It kept me reading just
    "five more minutes" more often than not!!

    As for the characters of the book, they each had such dynamics that drew you into their life story that it was hard to not want to keep
    reading about each one. Each chapter only offered a little snapshot of the larger picture, but enough to make you want to get through
    to get just another snapshot. I felt like I should have hated Allison from the very beginning but there was something about her
    character that I never could despise her. I think most of my hatred was saved for Rainne! She was such a nasty character, but sadly,
     there are too many like here out there! As for Brynn, I always felt like she was like woe is me, I'm the forgotten 2nd child! I've read
    mixed emotions about Clair, but all I felt was warmth with her and amazement at how great parents her and Jonathan were to Joshua,
    especially Jonathan, for being a male! I felt that Claire had just been dealt so many blows, and was just so content with her life that
    she cherished everything about her life and every moment in it! As for Gus and Charm, what was there not to love about these
    characters! They were just the right touch to the story!

    I especially liked the fact that it appeared to be obvious from the very beginning what the outcome would be, however, that could be
    further from the truth! The writing truly describes secrets and consequences and the fact that no matter whether they are good or bad,
    consequences exist for every decision we make. This book really covers a wide range of motions for the reader. It shows you the
    depths that one sister would go to truly protect the other and really provides some excellent examples of unconditional love from many
    of the characters.

    I really feel like you can't go wrong with read and will not be disappointed!! I have found myself yet another fantastic author to read! I've
    already sought out some of her other books to add to my list and can't wait to get them under my read list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Loved it

    This was a great book told through the eyes of different characters. It all nicely unfolded in a story that kept my interest page after page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7